We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for transit not for holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Pacific Marina Inn Airport
Ranked #81 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good for transit not for holiday”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

I read the reviews here before booking. We had to stay over one night between travelling from Big Island to Australia. I reluctantly booked this and lowered my expectation level to zero.

On arrival the staff were very friendly and they had free wifi. The room was simple but clean. The bathroom was clean. I can compare this to a clean Motel 6 room. This was perfect for a one night stay over but don't book this as a holiday destination as it really is just a transit hotel.

We ate before we arrived as I read from previous reviews that there is only one Chinese restaurant nearby. The Motel has a bar but no food.

They offer a free shuttle service which was good.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SonicP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    77
    161
    79
    101
See reviews for
75
173
75
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eugene
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We called for the shuttle service and the driver was there in minutes-so fast. The clerk at the desk had our reservation ready for us and we were so excited. We walked into the room and looked at each other in disbelief. The best that we can say is that it was close to the airport. The staff were friendly but there's no free wifi, no free boarding pass printing options and the only restaurant is the one on site. There's nothing else close by. We'll opt to drive a distance next time and skip this property.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank TravelerEugene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Honolulu hotels

Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

It was our first trip to Hawaii. Our plane was hours late, we were tired, and I was worried that our room might be rented if we did not show. I called to explain. The person who answered the phone told me, "You call when you get in, and I'll come get you." The rental car company was still open when the plane finally arrived, so we did not have to call for a ride, but it was reassuring to know there was a bed waiting and that the hotel would take care of us with a backup plan.

We pulled in to the parking lot after midnight. We are usually intrepid travelers, but we were relieved that we did not have to drive a long way or deal with navigation in an unfamiliar city while we were so tired. It was dark, and we drove through an airport industrial area to get there, but our first impression was that we were parking in a garden. There were tropical flowers everywhere! A wall of flowers screened our room from the pool area. We had chosen the hotel because it was relatively inexpensive and close to the airport, so our expectations were not high. However it was quiet, and the room was charming and clean. The only reason I did not rate the room as excellent is that we would have preferred 1 full-size bed to the 2 twin beds, but we knew it would be like that when we booked it. The next morning we realized that, even though the hotel is wedged between several other buildings, it backs up to a park's open space.

If you want to stay in a big, high-rise resort next to the beach, in the middle of expensive restaurants and shops, and be among crowds of tourists, go stay in Waikiki and plan on an hour's ride through traffic to or from the airport. If you want a clean, quiet, safe, comfortable, welcoming, charming place that the locals might go to if they did not have a relative with a spare bedroom in the area, this is your place. It was an excellent beginning for our vacation. We started our three-week adventure rested and happy.

Room Tip: We liked having the flowering hedge just outside our door on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DonnaFromOklahoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Our room was terrible. I wouldn't even take a shower for fear the bathroom wasn't cleaned properly. The service of the staff was very friendly, but not enough to ever choose to stay here again. It's too bad there aren't more hotels close to the airport. We stayed here out if convenience and would rather drive the extra 30min for a decent place to stay... even if our flight leaves at 5am, it would be worth the extra time.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Jessie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Looking back on it, I resent having paid $98, plus Honolulu's healthy hotel tax, for this no-big-deal place at the end of 2012. Yes, there is service to the to the airport, but a lot of places in the other 49 states provide that for a lot lower room rate. I even took The Bus to there, and would NEVER have found the motel from the "correct" bus stop without the aid of a local couple, since the walking route is so winding, and partially-hidden.The motel itself is set back off a big intersection and would be hard to find even by car.
No, I didn't encounter hookers and the karaoke bar was OK as such places go, but was not inspired at all.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Quaker0ats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Most people stay here to save money for a night in order to catch their flight the next day, thanks to the airport shuttle service - that's why we stayed here. Guess what? IT'S NOT WORTH IT!! Pay the little bit extra, stay in Waikiki, and just get up a little earlier the next day to make your flight. The motel is located in an industrial area that feels extremely unsafe, particularly at night. There were a lot of dodgy characters floating around, and we hardly slept because of the noise that people made running around the motel grounds all night. The rooms are uncomfortable, musty and claustrophobic. The motel's claim to fame is that an episode of 'Hawaii 5.0' was filmed there. I haven't seen the episode but I'll bet that it was the location for some scene involving a seedy drug bust. Honestly, the only thing missing from this place was a chalk outline and yellow police tape. The only redeeming feature of this place was Luis, the front desk clerk who entertained us with stories about the film crews who had worked there, and gave us great information on the area to try and make our stay as convenient as possible. Apart from him, everything else about the place was awful. The fact that it is close to the airport is not enough of a reason to stay here.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo1255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Majuro
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

This hotel is basic, but clean and safe. The staff were welcoming and accommodating. It has dependable 24 hour shuttle service to and from the airport which was important to me since I had to be at the airport by 3:30 AM. The room was small, but offered free wifi and a comfortable place to lay my head for the night. They offer several types of discounts. Be sure to ask. I received the senior discount for being over 55. After the discount, the room was about $60 cheaper than the other two airport hotels nearby. If you are after convenience rather than luxury, this is the place for you.

Room Tip: Suggest you ask for a courtyard room. It is a little quieter and the garden is lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IMajuro_Island_Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Airport Honolulu Hotel
#60 of 84 in Honolulu
1,030 reviews
Marina Tower Waikiki
#84 of 84 in Honolulu
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Honolulu
Aston at the Executive Centre Hotel
Ramada Plaza Waikiki
#42 of 84 in Honolulu
1,342 reviews
White Sands Hotel
#71 of 84 in Honolulu
664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific Marina Inn Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Marina Inn Airport

Property: Pacific Marina Inn Airport
Address: 2628 Waiwai Loop, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96819-1938
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Pacific Marina Inn Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is one Oahu hotel you can count on for convenience and value. This is the Pacific Marina Inn, five minutes from Honolulu International Airport, 15 minutes from downtown Honolulu, and 20 minutes from Waikiki, making it perfect for the business traveler or commuter. With complimentary 24-hour airport shuttle service, this hotel is a great option for those looking to spend an evening in Oahu between flights or for an affordable option that offers a location off of the beaten path. The hotel room accommodations include air conditioning, private bath, flat screen TV, and high-speed Wi-Fi connectivity. Guests may enjoy the hotel's swimming pool, a drink at the Canoe Hut Lounge, or complimentary musical entertainment and dancing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pacific Marina Inn Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Marina Hotel Honolulu
Pacific Marina Honolulu
Pacific Marina Inn Honolulu
Pacific Marina Inn Airport Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing