We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (6,682)
Filter reviews
6,682 results
Traveler rating
3,838
2,096
507
153
88
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
3,838
2,096
507
153
88
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the shore bird shorebird restaurant ocean house restaurant pacific tower the kani ka pila grille ocean front partial ocean view waikiki beach the activities desk diamond head time share city view our honeymoon pool side oceanfront room mai tais bell desk
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 6,682 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A little tired, but roomy, and has a "Hawaiian" feel about it which I liked. We upgraded so we had a lovely sea view but the view over the bar area was pretty special as well. The location was excellent, and the staff all very friendly.

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShonaC527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerREEFResort, Front Office Manager at Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Aloha ShonaC527,

Thank you for such an excellent review. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed our rooms and the view. Thank you for mentioning our friendly staff and hope that we can see you again soon.

Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Just came back from a great stay at Outrigger Reef in Waikiki. From May 4 - May 12. Arrived in a cab. Met by welcoming staff who took care of all our bags while we checked in. Check in was smooth and very pleasant. No lobby desk, just chairs to sit level with my check in lady. We were offered juice and told what was in it. Beautiful. Given refresher towels nice touch. Checkin was so simple and took no time at all. Even though it was only around 10.30 am and checkin was at 3 our room was ready. Guest services rang luggage area to let them know what room we were in and to bring our bags up.

We went straight to our room. Really happy 1030 overlooks the city view is trump apartments and embassy suites. Noise wasn’t really an issue. Just by closing door it blocked out anything air worked great. I will admit pool view would have been better probably as you would hear the wonderful music every night. Room was spacious and clean, comfy sofa which is also another bed, large tv, lounge chairs, dining table,microwave, coffee machine, which we easily swapped for a kettle after ringing guest services. Bedroom was 2 queen beds another tv and a desk and chair. Bathroom was spacious too. Amenities were of good quality.

Large pool, you could buy drinks and pool service for food also. There’s also a laundry,gym,shops,Starbucks, and a couple of little markets, and various retail shops.

Just a little tip at Starbucks if you want a cappuccino, I have skim milk at home. So ask for a non fat latte hot and it’s pretty good.

All the staff we met were wonderful, courteous and friendly.

This hotel is right on the beach. This part of the beach is a bit rocky but a lot quieter than the other end. So if rocks bother you, get a pair of cheap reef shoes from Ross dress for less. In seaside ave.

All in all a great holiday.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
2  Thank suey27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerREEFResort, Front Office Manager at Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Aloha suey27,

Thank you for such a great review of your recent trip to our islands and also for staying with us once again. You are now our `ohana (family) and we love that you made this your "home away from home". We appreciate your kind words and great tips we know the readers will be happy to have the info.
Please come back and visit us again. It will be our pleasure to welcome you back.

Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Normally we stay on “the strip” for business but chose the Reef and loved it for many reasons.

The location is so much quieter since you are one block away from the cars and trucks. Their small beach is perfect for a swim, lounge or walk.

The rooms have been renovated and still hold onto that old Hawaii charm.

The staff is the biggest selling point. They have true aloha. Front desk, valet, F&B staff, etc. Luana, Cultural Advisor has done wonders with the lobby and her cultural center.

Additionally, their commitment to the environment is key.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled on business
1  Thank jdwhitemaui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerREEFResort, Front Office Manager at Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Aloha jdwhitemaul,

Thank you for having chosen to stay with us and making it your new home away from home. We love to treat all our guests as our `ohana (family) and reading that this is what we have accomplished through our Hawaiian heritage makes it special. Thank you for mentioning our own Luana and our staff. We are proud of the comments you shared with. We send a special invite for you to come back and visit us again.

Mahalo nui loa!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

From the moment we arrived, we were so impressed with the level of care and attention we received! Our excursions were arranged by Chase & he was spot-on! Our guide for the all day Hawai’i tour was Charlie& he could not have been better- a local who loves his home & was so knowledgeable about all the places we visited. He made sure that our day was perfect & oh so memorable. Kudos to you Charlie- I sincerely hope our paths crops again- Mahalo

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank altoclare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerREEFResort, Front Office Manager at Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Aloha altociare,
Many thanks for sharing this review of your experience at the Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort. We appreciate your gracious comments about our hosts as they take pride in connecting with our guests. We will be sure to share your commendation with Chase and pass your message Charlie. There are so much to discover in Hawaii and we will be delighted to host you again on your future visits. Mahalo Nui Loa!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2019 via mobile

Loved all the amenities: live music by pool each night, good happy hour, great breakfast buffet. Nice shops, you can enjoy the night music on your balcony. Definitely use the Trolley Connection to get around. Great way to sight see.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank johnvidasky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerREEFResort, Front Office Manager at Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2019

Thank you for choosing Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort and for this wonderful 4 stars review. I am glad that you were able to use many on the amenities, specially the trolley. We strive to exceed our guest expectations by providing a unique Hawaiian experience. Your feedback is important to us and we appreciate you taking the time to provide this valuable review on your stay. We look forward to welcome you back. Aloha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews