We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (6,685)
Filter reviews
6,685 results
Traveler rating
3,840
2,097
507
153
88
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
3,840
2,097
507
153
88
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the shore bird shorebird restaurant ocean house restaurant pacific tower the kani ka pila grille ocean front partial ocean view waikiki beach the activities desk diamond head time share city view our honeymoon pool side oceanfront room mai tais bell desk
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
52 - 57 of 6,685 reviews
Reviewed April 19, 2019

What a wonderful hotel stay! Aloha is alive and well at this hotel. Check-in was easy and welcoming. Our room was lovely and spacious. Spacious enough that I think two queens versus two full beds could be accommodated easily and would have been welcomed. The hotel is well located for shopping and restaurants and beautifully designed and maintained. The beach is not great, but that’s not in the hotels control, just rocky and reef. Fine for sitting on the beach or floating but not great for standing or getting in/out of the water. The view is gorgeous though and a close walk to better swimming or playing in the surf, especially with little ones.
The absolute highlight of the hotel, in my opinion, is Cherwin. He is an absolute delight, a lovely kind sweet soul. We spent each morning with him in the activities center, Hale o No’eau. We learned so much and had such a great time. My expectations for the level of activity was far exceeded. He is a gem, with a lovely voice (we still sing and dance to “Little Brown Gal”) and the hotel is so lucky to have him. I encourage everyone, especially those with children, to start their day off with Cherwin. Big hugs and Mahalo! Thank you for being a wonderful host to our family, I am grateful for the love you showed.
The lowlight of our stay is kind of petty, but I mention it because I felt it was an opportunity missed by the staff and perhaps it could be avoided in the future. We spent a significant time over the 7 days we were at the hotel, at the pool. We sat at one of the tables reserved for patrons of the bar/restaurant, ordered food and drink (both excellent, we tried so many different things but the nachos and Caesar salad were a huge hit!) throughout our time there. Usually, several hundred dollars a day as there was quite a few of us. On nearly the last night, we came back from dinner, put suits on for a swim. We also brought dessert we couldn’t finish from dinner. We sat at a table and ordered a bunch of drinks. To note, no one else was at the tables, a few people sitting watching the band, and another two in the bar. All the tables around the pool, empty, except for us. After we ordered and were served, we took our dessert out, very much aware of the sign that requested no outside food. But, we thought, no one is here and we’ve been here all week, tipping well and we had newly purchased drinks in front of us. We were abruptly and just shy of rudely told no outside food. Now, I get it, it’s a rule and we generally are rule followers. But, it seemed petty, no one was around. We were virtually your only patrons. We could have just moved to a lounge chair or a lobby couch and would have been able to eat without issue. Seems this should be one of those rules that management tells staff to use discretion. I get you don’t want tables that could earn you money used by people buying food elsewhere. But, we were patrons and the tables were empty, nothing was lost by us having a piece of cheesecake. Not a huge deal, but it was a sour note not needed.

Room tip: Check out the complimentary 9am daily activities!
Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank NativeNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerREEFResort, Front Office Manager at Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2019

Aloha NativeNH,

Thank you for such a wonderful review of our resort and of your experience during your stay. We greatly appreciate your feedback regarding our rooms and how you enjoyed many of our amenities and our hosts. Thank you for mentioning Cherwin by name and we will be sure to congratulate him. Thank you also for the feedback at the pool as we continue to improve our service and products. We hope to see you soon with us again.

Mahalo nui loa!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2019 via mobile

It was our first time here and we couldn’t have been more happier with everything. People, staff and all the memories we had. We would suggest this resort to anyone visiting Hawaii! Thank you so much for the memories

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank Tricia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerREEFResort, Front Office Manager at Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2019

Aloha Tricia,

Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate your recognition as we take our guest's experience with utmost care. We strive to deliver the best experience to all of our guests and comments like yours make it all worth while.

Mahalo Nui Loa!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2019 via mobile

We revisited the same place we stayed 20 years ago for our honeymoon. We enjoyed it again! The beach is small but offers more shade and still close to the water. Hotel is centrally located and walking distance to just about anywhere in Waikiki. Public transportation is readily available and Enterprise Rental Car is in the lobby for your convenience as well. Live music every evening. Highly recommend for people of all ages.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2  Thank wesr291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerREEFResort, Front Office Manager at Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2019

Aloha wesr291,

Thank you for taking the time to rate and review our hotel. Your feedback is invaluable to us. Thank you for coming back after 20 years and we are delighted to read that you enjoyed as much as when you stayed with us for your honeymoon. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Mahalo nui loa!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2019 via mobile

I must say without the help of Ray, the manager here, our stay would only have been only average. When we checked in, we experienced some difficulties. Along with a couple things wrong in the room. We are not young , and have some health issues. He more than recitifed our problems at the hotel, and went beyond what I believe is great service. Ray made our stay a 5 star experience.

One of the splendid services Ray facilitated for my friend and I was our stay at the Voyager Club. There was a mixup at check in, and Ray saw to it that we were admitted. The Voyager Club was the pièste de resistance during our stay. Unbelievable service from Ray, Kanani, and June. Wonderful fresh food and drinks. Not to mention a million dollar view.

This hotel will be our go- to for the future. We plan to return every 2 months for at least a week.
Actually the service in this hotel was outstanding. Great food, the best views. Nice beach location. Unbelievable staff. Comfortable well appointed rooms.

Thank you Ray. Thanks to all.

Elaine J

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled on business
1  Thank Go552467
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerREEFResort, Front Office Manager at Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2019

Aloha Go552467,
We appreciate you taking the time to share this 5 star review with other travelers. Rey is one of our managers who truly has a passion for providing excellent service. Thank you for your shout out to our other wonderful hosts. We will be sure to share your commendation with Rey, Kanani, and June. We are glad that you were able to experience the relaxing ambiance and delicious food offerings at our Voyager 47 Club Lounge. Mahalo for choosing the Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort and we look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2019

We were upgraded to the Ocean Tower and it was amazing!
The room service was fast and the food is really great.
The pool was a little crowded but we enjoyed having the option.
I love this property because it's right on the beach.
Perfect view of Diamond Head!
The room was clean and roomy. The beds were comfortable.
There is nothing we did not like about our stay.
Valet parking was pricey, but it was included because we were locals. If you have a Hawaii DL I would use it for the local rates.
It is not far from the Waikiki Beach Walk and the Royal Hawaiian Center. They are within walking distance. When we return we will be staying here. I love the location and the price is right!

Room tip: Get an Ocean View
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NinjaAisha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerREEFResort, Front Office Manager at Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2019

Aloha NinjaAisha,

Thank you for choosing Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort on your recent trip to Oahu! We absolutely loved reading your happy review of your stay with us and are delighted to know you enjoyed your visit so much! We're glad you enjoyed your upgraded room with a beautiful view of Diamond Head to enjoy from your lanai. Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor and we encourage you to continue to share and tag us on social media @OutriggerResorts and #OutriggerResorts.

We hope to welcome you back soon!

Mahalo Nui Loa!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews