We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“In need of refurbishment..”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort
Ranked #14 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“In need of refurbishment..”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2006

We have just spent 2 nights/3 days at this hotel. For the money we spent, I felt the hotel room standard was shabby. The bathroom was small and the shower was over a shub which was very scratched and the basin was in poor condition.
We were aware that there some construction of the beach walk area but our travel agent didi not know that the entire Ocean Tower was undergoing a major refit so it was not possibel to stay in a beachfront room. Our room was on the city side and opposite the construction site. The noise started at about 6am and went all day- a good reason to get up early and get out!

It was handy having a Starbucks and Juice Bar on site as we tended to eat there for breakfast. We tried the Shorebird for dinner one night where you grill your own meat on large bbq's. It was very hot and the salad bar was average.

I totally recommend having a drink at the Halekulani Hotel next door at the House Without a Key Bar. The setting is fabulous and they have reasonably priced food.

We had a great surfing lesson at Beach Boy Hale right outside the hotel on the beach- this is not to be missed.
We did not use the pool as it looked a bit like pea soup as there were so many people using it. Instead we opted for the sea, if you swim out about 100 metres the water becomes crystal clear. Be aware the ocean floor is not beautiful sand, it is rocky and full of coral. We did see 2 turtles which was cool.

I would not stay here again unless the whole hotel has been upgraded and refitted.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank EmmaNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,647 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,193
    1,833
    427
    118
    76
See reviews for
1,606
2,641
153
178
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,439)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2006

Our family (2 adults, one 10 yr old) spent spring break of 2006 (March 11-16) at this hotel.
Room was clean and functional and the room service - maid, linens, etc. - was above average. The view of the city would have been more acceptable had it not been for the constant jack-hammering from across the street, which began as early as 7:AM and continued throughout the day, ending at around 4:PM each week day. They claimed the construction was almost complete. However, from our view, it looked as though it may continue for many months.

Aside from this irritation, the food, although not haute cuisine, was good - if a bit pricey. The pool and beachfront were well maintained and very accessible... most pleasant. The highlight for early evenings was a quick bite and nip at the Shorebird Restaurant, which provides patrons with a wonderful open-air view of the beach and even better views of the spectacular waikiki the sunsets. After that, it's a quick hop to the main drag and all the night life and "touristie" things you could possibly want.

We were well-treated by staff and management and believe we got our money's worth in almost every aspect of the visit. We booked through Pleasant Holidays and were pleased with their delivery of services. We did not book a "high-dollar" trip. Although classified as a "moderate" priced booking, we were very happy with the over-all experience at the Outrigger.

Bob & Holly
Oklahoma City

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Americanrm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Coquitlam, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2006

My husband and I went there for our 1 year anniversary. We booked a partial ocean view. As the hotel was full, we were not able to upgrade upon check in. We stayed on the 15th floor, overlooking the pool and the view of the ocean was not that bad. First thing we noticed was the outdated decor, pink and blue. The bathroom fixtures were old and scratched but clean. The room was spacious as we had a King Bed with a couch and sitting area. The mini-fridge worked well and kept our stuff very cold. Also, the housekeeping staff were very friendly and did a good job.

The hotel offers lots of free activities during the week which we participated in the Lei Making classes and Hula Lessons. We also renewed our wedding vows on the beach. I recommend participating. You must book this with the concierge desk as it's limited to 15 couples. It's usually 1st thing in the morning and lasts about 1 hour and is only offered once or twice a week. It's a great memory and they give you a certificate as a keepsake.

We weren't crazy about the food. Chief's Hut offers a $4.99 breakfast which is good value. The last night we ate at the Shore Bird where you grill your own food. While the service was good, I wasn't that impressed with the salad buffet and the grill area is very warm so it's uncomfortable cooking. (The salad buffet is much better at Duke's located in the other Outrigger Hotel). I let my husband do all the work.

We were also disapointed with the construction noise, not very relaxing when you are lying by the pool. We would just head to the beach, which wasn't very busy and keep our sliding door closed. Also, beware of the time share staff who are a little over friendly. If this doesn't interest you, avoid eye contact.

Overall, we were happy with the services of the hotel but dissapointed with the outdated decor.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Andrea H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, AZ
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2006

We were there from May 21-4, 2006, and I read a lot of reviews before we ended up going on our trip to Oahu. For the cheapest oceanfront hotel on Waikiki Beach, this one didn't feel cheap to me. Yes the rooms are small, but we pretty much only slept and changed in them, so maybe 10% of our time was spent in the room. However, we really enjoyed our balcony. My hubby actually spent the majority of his waking time that we were in the room on the balcony. He would take a book and and just sit and read. Our balcony had a decent view of the ocean, and nice view of the pool. If you looked straight across you would see an empty building. They were renovating that entire building. You could not beat the location of this resort. It was within easy walking distance to the Sheraton which seems to be where all the tours tend to pick up, and it had a nice section of beach right in front of it. The restaurants in this hotel were really good, so much so that we cancelled our reservation at Orchid's at the Halekulani and ate at the Ocean House for a second time, and there were breakfast specials every morning at Chief's hut. Never got a chance to try Shorebird's for anything but a quick lunch on the day we arrived but it was good even then. I would recommend this hotel for anyone with a short stay in Oahu, especially if you are on your way to another island. The small room really doesn't allow for much more than a short stay.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Shortypots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Richland, WA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2006

We decided to upgrade to a beachfront hotel, the Outrigger Reef on the Beach. It was an excellent location, but enough of the construction. When we checked in, (our flight arrived at 1), we were told that we could not get into our room until 3. Okay. We tried to see if we could get an upgrade as we were on our honeymoon, but they said it would be an extra 269 per night for a partial ocean view. Uh no thanks. We got into our room, which overlooked the street and the construction and learned ver quickly what small was. Alot of noise from the construction and the traffic. What the front desk did not tell us was that half of the rooms were under construction and that is why they were at capacity. Do not choose to rent beach chairs during the week, because all you get to listen to is a jackhammer right behind you, wait until the weekend. Chief's Hut is a great place for breakfast, they have 4.99 specilals. The Shorebird breakfast buffet was okay. We never ate at the Ocean House, it was pretty pricey and decided we would spend our money at a nicer restaurant. We did have a fridge and a safe in our room, so that was nice. Just a short walk to Hilton Hawaiin Village and Benihana's or Kobe. Very good food. Ask the activities desk for a bus schedule. Very cheap, 2 dollars and you can ride it any where. Make sure you take the bus to Ala Moana Center to do some shopping and make sure you eat at Bubba Gumps. The best!!. All in all our stay was pleasant as we only spent a little bit of time in our room, but you may want to wait until the construction ends.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Crystal D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2006

My family had the best vacation ever. The staff was great. The rooms were clean.We had so much to do at the hotel it was perfect. I loved the entertainment. The ocean was right there, the kids were always busy. We will be back real soon. It was the best.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2006

My girlfriend and I reserved a weeks stay here on PleasantHolidays. I think it had a 4 star or something rating. It is at best between a 2 and 3. We booked our travel and requested a king bed. We ended up getting put in this tiny room with (0.75 bath, not tub) with a queen bed. The room was about 10' X 10' (yeah, tiny) And it had decor for the 80's. The comforter was scratchy, the cheap kind you would expect at a Motel 6. While it was on the beach, and there were convenient shops inside the hotel, the two restaurants were pitiful. The drinks pricy, and the food, just terrible. Also, they are building some hotel right across the street and it is 24-7 construction. If the rating for the hotel had been a 2-3 star, I wouldn't be writing this. And my gal and I are not even that difficult to please. If you are looking for a 3-star and up hotel, look elsewhere than the Outrigger Reef. Luckily, after complaining the statff did move is to a better room, with a king bed. But it still was 3 star.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#4 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,788 reviews
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#27 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,459 reviews
Waikiki
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort

Property: Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort
Address: 2169 Kalia Rd., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1936
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#6 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#7 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 639
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Reef On The Beach Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Reef Beach
Outrigger Honolulu
Honolulu Outrigger
Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing