We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't Waste Your Money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort
Ranked #14 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
A TripAdvisor Member
“Don't Waste Your Money”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2005

First visit to Hawaii - we paid for a superior vacation and thought the Outrigger Reef on the Beach sounded great. But, our rooms were like going back to the 1970's - very small, old furniture, peeling wallpaper, stained carpet, no natural light etc etc. Shower extremely dark (no natural or articifical lighting) and tiny (similar to a brown virtical mouldy coffin), view from small rusty balcony - stairway to neighbouring hotel. Located well for the beach especially if you like stoney beaches. We did complain about our rooms to the respection desk, but nothing they could do!Shorebird restaurant is a rip off.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,647 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,193
    1,833
    427
    118
    76
See reviews for
1,606
2,641
153
178
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,439)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2005

After weeks of sorting through internet pictures to find the best hotel on the beach for the most economical price, we were essentially dismayed with the condition of the room. The biggest problem being the state of the bathroom. The shower intermittently went from ice cold to scalding hot. A terrible danger, especially to those with children, it's something which they really need to address. I spent more time fiddling with the temperature and jumping in and out than taking an actual shower. There was also no bathroom ventilation, either because the fan was broken or perhaps didn't even exist. Which would in turn explain the mold on the ceiling and on the grout between the bathroom tiles. It wouldn't have been so bad for a night or two, but a week is pushing it. The room was small, which is livable, but the termites crawling around the wall sockets was repulsive. On the other side of the coin, the view and the location of hotel is spectacular. There are 3 restaurants located within and numerous stores. The concierge as well as front desk staff were all friendly and helpful. If you have no hang-ups about room quality, this hotel would be a great choice.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
25 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
107 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2005

We had another great vacation (fourth visit) at the Outrigger to celebrate our 25th Wedding Anniversary. Our room was a Garden Terrace clean and well maintained. Food in all the restaurants very good with excellent service. Lewer Street is just about to be redeveloped so there may be some noise and dust in coming months. Hope that we will visit again in a couple of years after the redevelopment to see how the area has been improved.

Stayed April 2005
Helpful?
8 Thank Northdowns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2005

My daughter and I have now had the opportunity to stay in four different rooms at this hotel between October 2003 and April 2005. We have stayed in a high-level partial-ocean view room which had a nice view, two beds, fridge, lanai, but no tub; a 5th floor Pacific Tower corner (Rm 547) non-smoking, which had the other ammenities listed as well as a microwave, some plateware, a small table for four, and a fold-out couch, plus a lanai with no view; a Pacific Tower non-smoking room with no lanai, no tub, no microwave, paper-thin walls, and noisey appliances (RM 1167); and finally a room in the Diamond Head Tower building (Rm 477) on the smoking floor, but with more space, two beds, a shower, lanai, fridge, small table with two chairs, all of which suited a longer stay and if we leaned we could see the ocean from the lanai. We got the Diamond Head Tower room by complaining about #1167 the morning after our first night's stay there. We had five nights to go on our vacation so it was worth it to speak up, and we didn't have to pay for an upgrade. Thank you Matt at the front desk!

I recommend the Diamond Head building, which is only four floors and the farthest from the front desk, because it is quieter and close to the pool -- really great if you have a child. We used the starcase in lieu of the elevator all the time. The Third floor is non-smoking, and the fourth floor is smoking, but we were not bothered by the fumes for the most part. If you keep the lanai doors open, you will smell bacon frying in the morning and hear and smell the evening activities at The Shorebird Restaurant, but I swear it all shuts down promptly at 10:30 p.m., even on the weekends.

Four rooms later I can say that all the bathrooms at the Outrigger Reef on the Beach are consistently too small and in poor repair. Bed quality was consistently fine, and pillow quality varied from room to room.

The location is great for families with kids if you plan to stay in Waikiki. My daughter made several good friends at the pool, and the daily activities, such as lei-making and hula demonstrations, are all ages. For other activities it was easy walking to shopping, other hotel restaurants, and to the bus for outlying excursions. The onsite restaurants are reasonable. Spa prices are competitive for all treatments. Take the Outrigger Catamaran for a great two-hour thrill ride -- we've done the more civilized susnset cruise and the afternoon sail where we got soaked and really got to sail the ocean and interact with the crew.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2005

Our family (2 adults, 1 teen and 1 fourth grader) stayed for 7 nights April, 2004. We were amazed at the attentiveness of the staff and the personality of the hotel. When we arrived, our room was not ready. The staff allowed us to change into beach wear in an out of the way room, and then kept our bags for us while we went out to explore. Upon our return, we found that they upgraded our partial ocean to a full ocean front room. The hotel itself is on the beach far enought away from the hotel lounge scene to have a sense of tropical relaxation but close enough that everything is but a 5 minute walk away. The hotel has several restaurants. The Shorebird has a wonderful buffet breakfast which includes its famous bread pudding! There is also a incredible eatery by the pool where little lizzards could be spotted on the landscaped greenery.
Our hotel room was kept spotless, and all requests for additional towels, etc. were always honored. The room was always kept clean, the decor tasteful and we were never bothered by noise. The staff was always ready to help (arranging transportation, tours, etc.). We loved all the little extras including music and craft demonstrations. Thank you Outrigger for a great stay.

  • Stayed April 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank worldstepping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2005

We booked a partial-ocean view at this hotel because of the previous reviews and we knew the location (as we usually stay at the Ohana Village on Lewer - which doesn't exist anymore). We were really looking forward to it and were extremely disappointed. Our room was a partial ocean view if you looked over the lanai (which could barely fit us), so we asked to be upgraded to an ocean view room which did have a great view, but we were travelling with a 3 year old (stroller & stuff) and the room they ended up putting us in was only accessible by stairs from the 9th or 9 1/2 floor (via the "express" elevator, which was anything but fast!). Also, we got to the hotel at 11:00 am and was told that our room wasn't ready yet, imagine that?! Our room ended up being ready at exactly 3:00 (which just happens to be check-in time). I was hoping that they would let us in a little early considering we paid for an extra day ($300) (so that we had the room for the day we were leaving, as we weren't flying out until 8:00). In any event, I found the hotel front staff unhelpful, the bathroom was so small I could barley turn around in it, the shower temparture was not constant so we had to be careful when showering our 3 year old (although upon booking (in September 2004) I did book a room with a tub... or so I thought?!), our air conditioner could wake the dead and the room needed a serious make-over. In two weeks we had three housekeepers and two were really good. The location of this hotel is right on the beach which is great, but considering the amount of construction going on, it's not a nice walk through the streets to the main drag - totally run down. I definately will not stay at this hotel again. I really expected something a lot better.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Pootis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2005

We checked in an was accidentally given a room on the smoking floor. The front desk upgraded us for free to a city view which was great. The rooms are a little outdated and the tiles in the shower needs to be change! However, the location and the people made the stay worthwhile. We paid $125 per night (Friday-Sunday) on travelocity which was more reasonable than other hotels that I found. The hotel is right on the beach so it was perfect. You can enjoy your mai tai at the Outrigger restaurant/bar and enjoy the beach at the same time. There's also a McDonald's right across the street and Jamba Juice inside the hotel! It's also located in the middle of the Waikiki strip so it's a good spot. Worth it!

  • Stayed April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank iyvettei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#4 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,790 reviews
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#27 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,459 reviews
Waikiki
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort

Property: Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort
Address: 2169 Kalia Rd., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1936
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#6 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#7 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 639
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Reef On The Beach Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Reef Beach
Outrigger Honolulu
Honolulu Outrigger
Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing