We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort
Ranked #14 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wow!”
Reviewed June 25, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Reef for our family vacation last week. Wow, what an incredible place! The staff members were so helpful and very friendly. They helped make our stay even better.

The location of the hotel can not be beat! The back opens right to Waikiki beach. It is also close to great restaurants and wonderful shops! We did eat at the hotel for several of our meals. Our favorite was the pool side grill. They have great $5 drinks at happy hour. They also offer $7 breakfast specials. That was a great treat considering how expensive most meals are.

Our room was very clean and comfortable! There was plenty of room for our family of four. Our room was located on the 9th floor of the Ocean tower. It had a great view. We suggest asking the front desk for a room on the upper floors because of the view.

We can't wait to go back!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Txlori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerReefHotel, Front Office Manager at Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 28, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Outrigger Reef on the Beach!

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor. We’re delighted to hear that you and your family were “Wow(ed)” with your ocean view room accommodations and the location of the hotel on the beachfront in Waikiki near a lot of the popular shops and restaurants. In addition, we appreciate your positive feedback on the Kani Ka Pila Grille and we’re glad you were able to enjoy their Happy Hour drinks and excellent breakfast. Thank you for your compliments on our friendly staff as our staff’s goals are to enhance our guest’s experiences here at the Reef.

We look forward welcoming you and your family back real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,840 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,299
    1,886
    443
    130
    82
See reviews for
1,688
2,723
157
185
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,481)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2014

We unfortunatly only had 3 nights at this lovely hotel but we will certainly be returning and for a longer stay next time.
We had an ocean front room which was lovely, we could see Diamond Head and look straight out onto the beach and ocean below, you have to pay a little extra for an Ocean Front room but it was worth every dollar.
On arrival we mentioned to the front desk that this was our honeymoon, we had just got married over in Las Vegas and one hour later we had a bottle of champagne delivered to our room with a little congratulations card (very nice touch, it's the little things that count).
The room was not the best we have stayed in decor wise (in this price range anyway) but it was clean, tidy and the beds were extremely comfortable and had all the amenities that were required.
All the staff that we encountered were very friendly and always had an Hola for you.
We loved our time at this hotel and when returning we will definatly be staying at The Outrigger Reef again, a lovely end to our honeymoon we just wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NikkiPaul71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerReefHotel, Manager at Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Aloha NikkiPaul71,
Thank you for your review of your recent stay at the Outrigger Reef on the Beach and for your 5-star rating. Congratulations on your recent marriage and we are so thrilled that we were able to make your honeymoon special with your ocean front room, champagne amenity, clean and comfortable room with everything you needed and our friendly staff. We are delighted to hear that you felt the extra cost of an oceanfront room was worth the experience of being right on Waikiki beach and looking straight out to the ocean. Yes, that experience should bring back special memories when you think of your honeymoon in Hawaii. We are glad to hear that you will be returning and staying for a longer time. We look forward to hosting you again! Mahalo and Aloha.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2014

We stayed here for 10 nights in a Diamond Head suite which was amazing. We had 2 balconies and 2 bathrooms (very handy). We were on the 11th floor and each afternoon would sit on the balcony and listen to the live music from Dukes.
The accommodation was very spacious and of course had the small refrigerator in which we kept our soft drinks and beers, together with yoghurt and fruit for breakfast. The housekeeping was well done and the beds very comfortable.
The Outrigger on the Beach is so convenient for catching the trolley to Ala Moana or the Blue Line or Green Line. Macys is just across the road!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jmr1906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerReefHotel, Manager at Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Aloha and thank you for taking the time to post your nice review. From your comments, it looks like you stayed at our sister property, Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. Dukes is located on that property and Macy’s is across the street. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at our Outrigger property and hope you continue to choose Outrigger as your preferred hotel accommodations. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Great location on the street but still on the beach.Staff very good apart from when we went to get some details of possible trips from the concierge we were offered a free lunch but with a catch of looking at timeshares.We didn't take up the offer but they were rather forceful which we felt was unnecessary.Would stay again and would recommend .

Room Tip: A sea view room is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grant R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reeffommanager, Front Office Manager at Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Aloha GrantR & Mahalo for your review. I am glad to read that your found the hotels location ideal & that our staff were great. We will share your comments about the timeshare staff to their management for follow up. Again, thank you for your kind comments and we look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeside, MT
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2014

In February we were set to fly to San Francisco on a Tuesday where we would be embarking on a cruise to Hawaii in the afternoon. Our flight out of Kalispell, MT was cancelled for mechanical reasons and there was no way we would reach the port in time. On past cruises we had always flown in at least a day early for just such an eventuality but it would have been logistically difficult this time. With only two days notice we were able to book a room at Outrigger Reef on the Beach at a very reasonable rate. We then spent three days in Honolulu until we hooked up with our cruise ship.

There was very little downside to this hotel. We had a corner room that was considered a partial ocean view. There were two balconies, one overlooking the pool and the ocean and the other overlooking the hustle and bustle of Waikiki. We loved our room, with two queen beds and a bathroom with the toilet in a separate room. Check-in was painless and the staff was very nice. We very much enjoyed their "cook-your-own-steak" restaurant, which I will review separately. There was at least one more restaurant, where we had breakfast on check-out day and this was very nice as well. The only downside, as at least one other reviewer mentioned, was they hustled us on at least two occasions for a sales pitch for a timeshare or some such, each time under the guise of a "free gift." Come on people, you have a wonderful hotel...show some class.

Room Tip: We had a corner room with a partial ocean view (see photos). I would go for that if you can get it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reeffommanager, Front Office Manager at Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Aloha Richard F & Mahalo for your review on Trip Advisor. It is so good to read that you found our hotel to be affordable & that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay. I am delighted to read that you had two balconies from your room that you liked the views of the city. Im also glad to know that your had an opportunity to cook your own food at the Shorebird restaurant. We will share your comments about the timeshare staff to their management for follow up. Again, thank you for your kind comments and we look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Better by a mile than Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. There is ALOHA here. The bell desk are especially helpful and friendly. Housekeeper was super cheerful, I don't know how she manages it day in and day out. I would absolutely return here if travelling with friends or family. Great value especially at early bird rates.[Couple trip deserves Moana Surfrider/Royal Hawaiian/ Halekulani]

How they could improve? Little things like better bathroom amenities, provision of UHT milk pots and greater selection of tea packets.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KiwiCh1ck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerReefHotel, Front Office Manager at Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Aloha and mahalo (thank you) for your compliments and for taking the time to review your stay at the Outrigger Reef on the Beach. We really appreciate the feedback we receive and use it to improve our hospitality and recognize our employees. You can be assured we will share this with our entire hotel staff. We will share your room amenity preferences with our Housekeeping Department for further consideration. A hui hou (until we meet again).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, CA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Outrigger Reef rocks! We had so much fun for a week. Travelled with my hubby, daughters (7 and 4) and my sister and son (15). The hotel had everything we could hope for and more. The rooms are nicely renovated (hubs and I stayed here about 6 years ago and it was quite dated then). The staff, restaurant choices, room, views, pool, service was wonderful. I'm just so sad not to be there anymore. Hotel has great access to other restaurants, shopping, food court, beaches (of COURSE), ABC store. The Starbucks and mini market at hotel are quite convenient. The Waikiki Christmas Ornament store is just adorable... No complaints at all, in fact just kudos to all. If I had to say one negative thing, it would be for the pigeons that are everywhere at the grill downstairs (daughter hated them). The only other thing is that it would be great if the pool were more shallow for the smaller kids but, heck, the beach is RIGHT there so who needs the darn pool?!!!

Room Tip: We had a partial ocean view and full view of pool in room 1535. It was awesome. But really, no room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maredixon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerReefHotel, Front Office Manager at Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Outrigger Reef on the Beach!

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor. We’re delighted to hear that you and your family enjoyed your room accommodations, the location of the hotel on the beachfront in Waikiki, and all the hotel amenities. In addition, we appreciate your positive feedback on our friendly staff, as our staff’s goals are to enhance our guest’s experiences here at the Reef.

We look forward welcoming you and your family back real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4,016 reviews
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#27 of 84 in Honolulu
4,397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort

Property: Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort
Address: 2169 Kalia Rd., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1936
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#6 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#7 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 639
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Reef On The Beach Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Reef Beach
Outrigger Honolulu
Honolulu Outrigger
Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing