We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel- stay away from concierge” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort
Ranked #12 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good hotel- stay away from concierge”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

Our family of four stayed four nights in an Oceanview Room in the Pacific Tower. You cannot see Diamond Head from the room but there was a decent view of the ocean between buildings.
Check in was smooth. We had outstanding service from housekeeping and Lilia greeted us by name whenever we saw her in the corridor.
We were not so pleased with concierge. Arriving on Wednesday mid afternoon, we definitely wanted to visit Pearl Harbour as well as experience a Luau. The lady at the desk (Tara) only gave us the option of a luau dinner at the Hilton Hawaiian Village. It wasn't quite as authentic because there was no pig in a pit since it was on the 6th floor of the hotel.
Pearl Harbour was heavily booked and she could only organise a tour with Roberts Hawaii on the Friday. We were told that this tour included lunch. When we were on the tour bus, we learnt that only a small percentage of the group had the deluxe package which included lunch. Lunch consisted of a turkey sandwich, potato salad, cookie, packet of potato chips and soft drink. It was disappointing that we weren't given the option of not having lunch included.
The worst part was after booking these activities, Tara directed us to a man at the Wyndham desk next to her so there was no escape. After a long flight, the children were extremely hungry and eager to swim at the beach. The man would not stop hassling us. He was rude and obnoxious when we politely declined his offers. It is probably best to stay away from the concierge area all together if possible.
Location of the hotel is fabulous. The beach adjacent to the property is rather rocky although it is only a short walk to a nicer part of Waikiki Beach.
There was a stand on the beach just outside the hotel offering surfing lessons. However, if you head further up to Star Boys (near the Westin property), they offer surfing lessons for half the price of the stand near the hotel.
We had breakfast at Shorebird once. The buffet breakfast was ok. We discovered Bills Sydney on Beach Walk Ave and decided to eat there subsequent mornings.
The pool was good. The men at the towel station were always courteous and friendly.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
7 Thank lovegoodadvice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reeffommanager, Front Office Manager at Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Aloha & mahalo (thank you) for taking the time to share your review of our hotel on Trip Advisor. We were happy to see that you enjoyed our location, pool and restaurants! We will let our staff know that you appreciated the services they provided especially the housekeeper Lilia. We will share your comments about the Activities desk staff to their management for follow up. Again, thank you for your kind comments and we look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,591 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,152
    1,820
    424
    118
    77
See reviews for
1,588
2,614
152
178
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,417)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aldergrove, Canada
Level Contributor
72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

The Outrigger Reef on the beach is a great hotel for couples, family and pretty much any traveler. The rooms are well appointed with a mini fridge, toiletries and the renovation that happened appox 6 years ago made the hotel that much better. Really clean and modern rooms. Nice bedding and great staff. The restaurants in the hotel are good, breakfast by the pool is a nice way to start the day and they have a breakfast special on every day for about $7. Otherwise the varity on the small menu is pretty good. Great fruit, oatmeal, pancakes etc.
Starbucks on site as well as Enterprise Car Rental. Small beach out front but we loved it and had a great time with our family and friends. Purchased inflatables for $2.99 at the ABC store as well as beach mats. The hotel supplies beach towels at the pool. Lots of little stores on site and within walking distance of lots of shopping, restaurants and bus stops. I would stay at the Outrigger Reef anytime. This is my 3rd stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: We booked a partial ocean view room and looked out towards the ocean and the pool. Our family booke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Trisha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerReefHotel, Manager at Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Aloha Trisha G.,
Thank you for being a loyal guest of the Outrigger Reef on the Beach. We appreciate that you posted your review and mentioned all the things that you enjoyed about your stay with us. Mahalo and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

I visit Waikiki frequently and have at one time or another stayed at most of the beach front and beach front adjacent hotels. Since their renovation in 2009, The Outrigger Reef has become my hotel of choice. Outrigger is a kama'aina (local) hotel chain and in my opinion, they have the best understanding of what makes Hawai'i a unique destination. The hoel itself reflects a Hawaiian Sense of Place with its rich wood, open lobby and unique collection of voyaging related artifacts and painintings. Located near the entrance is a very special place, the Kani Ka Pila Grill. In ' Ōlelo Hawai'i (the Hawaiian language) kani Ka pila translates to "musical gathering or jam" so you know ahead of time that you are going to be treated to the authentic sounds of the Islands, played by award winning musicians. The Kani Ka Pila Grill functions as a central gathering place serving multiple functions during the day. The beautiful, mostly open space is adjacent to the pool and serves casual style breakfast and lunch fare during the day. Their macadamia, banana pancakes are amazing as are their fresh seared ahi wraps. The centrally located bar serves well made (strong) tropical drinks, draft beer and wine. They pour a killer Mai tai. A great place to hang out and chill during the day but at night the Grill transforms itself into one of the best music venues in Hawai'i. Top Nā Hokū Hanohano (the Hawaiian Grammys) musicians play under a beautiful wooden pavilion and as you sit outside listening to their sounds while sipping a drink or enjoying an excellent dinner, you will definitely know you're in paradise. Friends of the musicians often drop by to offer an impromptu solo or hula. Even if you don't actually visit the Kani Ka Pila Grill, you will hear the special music as you enter and exit the hotel.

The hotel staff is a model of true "Aloha Spirit" right across the board. I always feel truly welcome when I check in. Whenever possible, I receive upgrades without even asking. On my last visit, Frank saw how sad I was about leaving and on my last night, he actually upgraded me to the Presidental Suite! (maybe the best 24 hours I have spent in my adult life). It was magnificent with drop dead views of Diamond Head and Duke Kahanamoku Beach from every window. Actually, all the rooms are nice with warm wood furnishings, balconies, spotless bathrooms and refrigerators (handy for storing leftovers). The beds are top rate. With duvet covers and luxury sheets I never fail to get a good night's sleep.

The hotel pool is not extravagant, but it more than serves it's purpose. it's refreshing and center rally located. The beach directly behind the hotel is fine for sunbathing but not the best for swimming or water activities. There's a reason the hotel is named " The Reef". But not to worry, a few steps to the West, is Duke Kahanamoku Beach. Perfect for swimming, buggy boarding, SPB, and kayaking. There are plenty of concession stands, who will rent equipment or provide instruction.

The Reef expands the Hawaiian experience by offering complimentary cultural arts classes in hula, lei making, ukulele, to name a few and there is an excellent onsite concierge service. On the beach side of the hotel are two additional restaurants. I especially enjoy the "Shorebird" where you grill your own entree. and have unlimited access to an excellent salad bar. At night, the place rocks out with free karioki and an after hours menu. The Plantation House on the other side is more sedate, with formal dinning and excellent takes on Island favorites like Laulau (steamed fish and vegetables) in a taro leaf wrap. Ono!

Finally, the location couldn't be better. The Reef is located at the quieter end of Waikiki within easy walking distance to the shops and restaurants of Beach Walk. Right next door at the Halekulani is the "House Without a Key" another excellent music spot that offers more "old style" Hawaiian music. If you are a fan of traditional Hawaiian music, I can recommend Jeff Apaka (son of the legendary Alfred Apaka) who performs at the HHW Tapa Bar at 5:30 Sunday evenings and for a real treat walk (or take a cab) over to the Marriott Waikiki on Thursday evenings at 6:30 to hear The Keawe Family perform. The is the genuine article, with great instrumentals and songs. There are also friends of the family who drop in kani Ka Pila style to offer solos and dance hula.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank hot4hawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerReefHotel, Front Office Manager at Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Aloha and Mahalo (thank you) for this most awesome review of your stay with us at the Outrigger Reef on the Beach! Your description of the hotel, its venues, the activities and your experiences couldn't have been more eloquently put. We really appreciate the time and thought you put into writing this review as we take great pride in our hotel and strive to be outstanding Mea Ho'okipa (Hosts) at the Outrigger Reef on the Beach. On behalf of Frank and the rest of the hotel staff, we say mahalo nui loa (thank you very much) and we we look forward to your return visit with us! A hui hou (until we meet again).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

The outrigger is a nice place to stay, great pool area lovely restaurants and everything in walking distance.
Only one compliant. We booked a ocean view room thinking thinking we would have full ocean views. We thought this because when we stayed at outrigger on the beach our room was on the side of the building and they named it Part ocean view. We where located on the side of the building at the reef and they call this ocean views. ???
With that out the way.... the rooms where clean with the best beds and pillows.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank macka2281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerReefHotel, Front Office Manager at Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Thank you (Mahalo) for taking the time to share your experience with us. I am glad that you like the location of the Outrigger Reef on the Beach and titled your review as “top position”. . Please accept my sincere apology with the location of your room. We have the following three categories Ocean Front, Ocean view rooms located on the side with some view of the water from inside of the room, and Partial Ocean view located on the side with view strictly from the balcony. Once again, thank you for staying at the Outrigger Reef on the beach.
Aloha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

This property is right on Waikiki Beach. We got a discounted rate through our travel agent and then received a free upgrade to an "ocean view" from the original "city view" in which we had been booked. The property is kept very clean. Starbucks onsite for an affordable breakfast. Easy walk to off- property shops and restaurants (1-10 minutes). The service was excellent, the staff gracious. The one caveat is the information desk (separate from the concierge located elsewhere) is also staffed with folks who's job it is to recruit you for a presentation about the local Wyndham timeshare. But they were polite about it and less aggressive than most.

Room Tip: City view rooms face the Honolulu skyline. The Ocean view in our room was as seen from the balcony b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerReefHotel, Front Office Manager at Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Outrigger Reef on the Beach!

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor. We’re delighted to hear that you enjoyed your clean Ocean View room accommodations and enjoyed the nearby shops and restaurants. In addition, we appreciate your positive feedback on the excellent service your received and our gracious staff as our goals are to enhance our guest’s experiences.

We look forward servicing you again real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russellville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

This is our 5th year in a row staying at Outrigger Reef. The staff is amazing! The rooms are spacious and classy. The atmosphere embodies the Aloha spirit! We received a free upgrade to a ocean view room. I wouldn't want to stay anywhere else in Honolulu. See you soon!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MzKae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerReefHotel, Manager at Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Aloha MzKae,
Mahalo for continuing to choosing the Outrigger Reef on the Beach. We appreciate your loyalty. We also thank you for commenting that our staff is amazing and you were able to feel the Aloha Spirit here. We strive to provide genuine Hawaiian hospitality that will keep our guests like you returning so we really appreciate your comments. We look forward to seeing you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
399 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 552 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014 via mobile

Near all the major attractions on Waikiki....beach, shopping and dining all within easy walking distance from the beautiful hotel...the rooms are well maintained and balcony views are spectacular at night.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank PhoeBnix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerReefHotel, Front Office Manager at Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Aloha! Mahalo (thank you) kindly for your compliments on your stay here at the Outrigger Reef on the Beach. We are happy to see you enjoyed your stay and are considering staying with us again. We look forward to another opportunity to make your Waikiki experience "no ka oi" (unsurpassed)!
A hui hou (until we meet again)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#4 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,734 reviews
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#26 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,440 reviews
Waikiki
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort

Property: Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort
Address: 2169 Kalia Rd., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1936
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#6 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#6 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#7 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#7 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 639
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelsforEveryone, HotelsClick, Agoda, Jetsetter, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Reef On The Beach Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Reef Beach
Outrigger Honolulu
Honolulu Outrigger
Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing