We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice, good for business, too.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort
Ranked #14 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed May 11, 2014

I stayed at the Outrigger Reef on business for two nights while visiting one of our companies in Oahu. The property is clearly a vacation resort, but it worked well for business, too. The location is very good and easy to find. Greeting by the bell staff and valet was efficient, and check-in was swift and easy.

The room itself had a resort feel (as expected). Balcony was large and overlooked the interior court, large pool and had a view off to the side of the beach itself. Appointments in the room were fine and in good shape. Cable package was a little light, but had a decent smattering of local, news and entertainment channels. The alarm clock was blessedly simple to use. Lighting was older style but serviceable. Bathroom was nice, with a large outer vanity area (with coffee maker and a refrigerator for use underneath) and a separate toilet and shower room, which was also clean and modern. Toilet had two flush options for conservation, which I liked. Internet was satisfactory. I did notice that they walls seemed a bit thin as I heard an infant an adjacent room crying at one point, and an alarm in another. Nothing major and neither were very loud (meaning they wouldn't disturb my sleep).

Shopping at the hotel is very good, with a variety of sundry, jewelry, clothing and crafts in multiple stores. I actually purchased a few Aloha shirts from one of the stores. I wanted to make sure they would be appropriate for business casual attire (as is the local custom) and the advice provided turned out to be perfect: they were a hit with our local team. Both shirts were made in Hawaii and were actually reasonably priced. A very good experience.

We had breakfast both days in the buffet restaurant (Shore Bird, I believe), and it was very good, with a mix of general standards and Hawaiian localities (pork, ham, Portuguese sausage). While not inexpensive, it was delicious.

A very good experience for a business traveler, even if I was envious the entire time of the vacation guests around me!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BobinBaltimore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerReefHotel, Front Office Manager at Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Outrigger Reef on the Beach!

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor and provide a business traveller point of view. We’re delighted to hear that you enjoyed your room with all the amenities and large balcony overlooking the interior court and pool. In addition, we appreciate your positive feedback on our on-site restaurants and shops.

We hope that you're able to stay longer for a much deserved vacation instead of just business! Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,956)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,135 - 2,141 of 5,956 reviews

Reviewed May 10, 2014

We stayed here for a couple of nights prior to starting the Pride of America cruise, and a couple of nights after.

The location is brilliant. A fifteen minute walk to the Ala Moana mall and on the edge of Waikiki, right by the start of beach walk and the shops.

Our first room had a partial ocean view but two double beds. It had a huge dressing area and a small bathroom which was handy as I could get ready while my husband used the bathroom. The second room had a bigger bed, a regular bathroom but overlooked the street 'city view'. It was quite noisy in the early morning with delivery trucks/rubbish vans.

Both rooms were immaculate and stylish.

The restaurants were both good with great views of Waikiki beach. There is a Starbucks in the lobby.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Natalie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerReefHotel, Manager at Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2014

Aloha Natalie G.,
We are glad that we had the opportunity to host you before and after your cruise. Thank you for letting us know that you enjoyed our restaurants and Starbucks and that you found our location ideal and our rooms immaculate and stylish. We apologize for the noise that you experienced in one of your rooms due to delivery and trash pickups. We appreciate your 5-star rating and hope that we will be able to be your host again in the near future. Mahalo and Aloha!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2014

This hotel is terrific! From the minute we arrived (hubby & I) to when we checked out our experience was awesome. We only wish we could have stayed longer. We stayed 3 nights, May 1 - 3. All the staff at this hotel are great. We left some clothes in the closet when we checked out and didn't remember until the next day. Thankfully we were still in Oahu and called them and housekeeping had all the items. So we went back and picked them up. We were very pleased. The rooms are so nice and very clean.
The location is fabulous with the boardwalk right there and everything is within walking distance. Great shops and restaurants so close.
I would definitely recommend this hotel and would return.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Stanwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerReefHotel, Front Office Manager at Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2014

Aloha and mahalo (thank you) for your wonderful review of your stay at the Outrigger Reef on the Beach. We wish you could have stayed longer too! We were delighted to see that your experience was awesome, the staff was great and the location was fabulous. We were even more pleased to read that we found & returned your clothing items to you! We always try to demonstrate the Aloha Spirit in everything we do, and we are happy to see you appreciated it so much. Again, mahalo for your kind remarks. Looking forward to your return visit with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2014

Visit Waikiki and you must stay on the beach.
Approximately 6 years ago this old hotel right on Waikiki beach was given a refurb, along with the local surrounding streets.
Rooms are on the larger side and pleasantly furnished.
Pool and facilities are also on the larger side, catering to plenty of guests without being overcrowded.
There are three restaurants to choose from, two right on the beach.
Staff are pleasant and helpful.
The hotel has a cool Hawaiian vibe, and conveniently there is a Starbucks, convenience store and other shops in the arcade underneath.
Having lived in Kahala in the 70's and travelled back to Hawaii from Australia every year for the past 15 years, we have tried a lot of hotels in Waikiki!
We have stayed here every year for the past six years, as we
cannot come up with a better location or value for money.
If you are looking for a 4/4.5 star hotel in a great location, this is the place to be.

Room Tip: Moderate rooms have no view. Ocean view or ocean front rooms are great & have a nice veranda
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nicko123_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerReefHotel, Front Office Manager at Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2014

Thank you for always staying at the Outrigger Reef on the Beach and for taking the time to share your experience staying with the hotel for the past 6 years. I really like the way you stated “The hotel has a cool Hawaiian vibe” and “we cannot come up with a better location”. Mahalo (Thank you) once again for this wonderful comments and we look forward to welcome you back.
Aloha.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2014

felt welcome and had a great view from our window of the ocean. Great food for breakfast at this hotel. Mai tai specials every day. Was given an upgrade to our room for free. Staff very friendly and helpful.. Great vacation !

Room Tip: corner rooms are roomier. West side rooms you see the beautiful sunsets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bgracie8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerReefHotel, Manager at Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2014

Aloha bgracie8,
We are glad that you had a great vacation at the Outrigger Reef on the Beach. Starting your day with a wonderful view and great breakfast and topping off your day with a Mai Tai seems to have made your stay with us extra memorable. We are delighted to be a part of your memorable vacation. Thank you for your comment that we were friendly and helpful and made you feel welcomed. We hope you will be able to return again soon. Mahalo and Aloha!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights in May and were so happy with the location it was a short walk to shopping in waikiki and beach was great and not too crowded great location for the price.

Both resturants were great and the veiw topped it off, The Shorebird resturant has a great buffet breakfast and 4pm speical were you can grill your own steak and has an all you can eat salad bar! We also had breakfast in the ocean house which was nice and relaxing and had very nice meals

The pool was great for relaxing and had a great bar next to it where you could watch sports and mai thais at happy hour and lots of entertainment.

We stayed in a patrial ocean veiw room which was very spacious and had was nice a quite even though we over looked the pool. If you choose to go to the outlet shops speak to the bell desk and go with the shuttle or going to the Aloha Mona shops the pink shuttle drops you off right around the corner.

We will be coming back for a stay again and cant wait to return, Mahalo to Outrigger Reef Hotel and staff for a wonderful stay

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Niina E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerReefHotel, Front Office Manager at Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Outrigger Reef on the Beach!

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor. We’re delighted to hear that you enjoyed your spacious partial ocean view room accommodations and the location of the property around all the popular stores and restaurants. In addition, we appreciate your positive feedback on our on-site restaurants and on our staff as our goals are to enhance our guest’s experiences here at the Reef.

We look forward welcoming you back real soon for another wonderful stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2014

We stayed here over the Easter break, valet and porters were very fast and efficient
as we arrived before check in they said it would be an hour or so wait, they took our luggage into storage. The lobby is so open and refreshing with nice decor.

We had a partial ocean view room on the 11th floor, nice and spacious and very clean, the bathoorm was also a good size, however I am not a fan of the shower over the bath set up. The bed and pillows are very comfortable. The location of this hotel is excellent much more quiet than the other hotels we saw whilst walking. Loads of places to eat near by we ate at both the ocean house for breakfast (excellent!) and the restaurant by the pool (so so food)

Parking is very expensive but from what i've heard it's the norm in waikiki, valet was very quick and friendly often asking if we needed directions which was nice.

My only real "con" with this hotel was our room location, which did have a lovely beach view of the beach up to the Hilton Hawaiian village on one side but the other side faced the main road and the the noise from the traffic was quite loud especially with the trolley cars going by every 10mins and garbage trucks collecting trash at 6am! We would have asked to move rooms if we had not just unpack our luggage for the week. We used ear plugs and turned the air-conditioning fan up to try to drown it out.

I would stay here again but would ask for a different room location.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not on the street side of the building, I would sacrifice the "ocean view"...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kofbrisvegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reeffommanager, Front Office Manager at Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2014

Aloha & Mahalo for choosing to give the Outrigger Reef on the Beach a try! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor. We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed our relaxed, friendly atmosphere and spacious, clean hotel rooms. Our goal is always to enhance our guest's stay and we appreciate you many kind words on your review, which I will share with the staff. We can't wait for your return ...Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4,128 reviews
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#8 of 84 in Honolulu
2,569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prince Waikiki
#1 of 84 in Honolulu
279 reviews
Waikiki
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort

Address: 2169 Kalia Rd., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1936
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#6 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#7 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: $244 - $451 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 639
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Reef On The Beach Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Reef Beach
Outrigger Honolulu
Honolulu Outrigger
Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing