We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort
Nearby Hotels
Ala Moana Hotel(Honolulu)(Great Value!)
$199
Ala Moana Hotel
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$326
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$309
$300
Westin.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$450
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
$219
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$194
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$224
$190
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$279
$209
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$260
$219
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa(Honolulu)
$199
Hyatt.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (6,233)
Filter reviews
6,233 results
Traveler rating
3,549
1,986
474
139
85
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,549
1,986
474
139
85
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe shore birdshorebird restaurantocean house restaurantpacific towerthe kani ka pila grilleocean frontpartial ocean viewwaikiki beachthe activities deskdiamond headtime shareour honeymooncity viewpool sidehawaiian musicoceanfront roommai tais
Filter
Updating list...
2,391 - 2,396 of 6,233 reviews
Reviewed April 28, 2014

There are so many hotels to choose from on Waikiki and this hotel was very highly ranked. Our first night we had a room with two queens but they moved us to another room with a king bed for our next two nights. Check in was easy and the location is great, close to shops and restaurants and the beach is right there. The best swimming spot is up further but only a short walk in either direction. The pool is lovely and deep so you can dive in, however it is in between two hotels so the area can get a little windy. The concierge was ever so helpful and booked our snorkelling cruise for us and managed to get us a great discount (we just had to attend a time share presentation the next day but when we showed up they had screwed up our times so in the end we didnt have to go to the presentation, score!). I would recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ltreseder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerReefHotel, Front Office Manager at Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience staying at the Outrigger Reef on the Beach. I am glad that we were able to accommodate you with a king bed the following day and the concierge was able to assist you with all your bookings. Thank you (Mahalo) once again for this wonderful review.
Aloha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Beautiful rooms in a wonderful hotel! The housekeeping is great, making sure that our room was always clean when we came back during the evening. They let us check in at 11:30 am and didn't charge us any extra fees! The lobby is a great area to relax and enjoy the nightly music played from the Kani ka Pila grille and the coupon book with vouchers for buy one get one half off at many restaurants were really useful.

The hotel is just a 2 minute walk from the beach and all the rooms offer free wifi which is nice. I highly recommend the Reef on the Beach!

Room Tip: Ask for a city view room to avoid having some other hotel guest's balcony being your view.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Angie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reeffommanager, Front Office Manager at Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2014

Aloha! The staff and Management of the Outrigger Reef on the Beach would like to take this time to thank you for your kind remarks about our hotel and your stay with us. We try our best to accomodate all early check ins as much as possible and were happy to see that we were able to provide you with a room upon arrival. I am delighted to read that your found the rooms to be clean & that you enjoyed the music at Kani Ka Pila Grille. We look forward to your return visit and until then, a hui hou (until we meet again).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

First off I have no idea how much this place actually costs because we did Priceline and got it for $150/night. I'm sure it's a lot more than that. When we checked in we got upgraded for free to a bigger room just because we asked. Had an enormous room with a king bed. Very convenient location for our room and the hotel in general. The Shorebird bar was good for the buffet breakfast and cheap drinks. The beach is narrow in front of the hotel but it's relaxing and it's easy to walk to the other parts of the beach. Only stayed 2 nights, but overall a great stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a free upgrade
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Heckmantis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerReefHotel, Front Office Manager at Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2014

Aloha and Mahalo (thank you) for your kind remarks about your stay with us at the Outrigger Reef on the Beach. We were happy to see we were able to upgrade you to a larger room, and that you enjoyed the location of the hotel, the beach in front and the Shorebird bar. We certainly hope you can stay with us a little longer next time. Looking forward to welcoming you back to our shores! A hui hou (until we meet again).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

We (me, husband, 15 yr old daughter, 12 yr old son) just spent 10 days over Easter vacation here. It was wonderful! We were on fifth floor ocean front. Our room was huge, great balcony. We enjoyed watching the sunset every night, it was beautiful.
Beach was rocky so we went over a block or two where it was smooth. We rented paddle surfboards that were delivered and picked up from hotel. it was a lot cheaper than renting on beach.
Location cannot be beat. You can walk to everything. We did rent a car for two days to check out North Shore and Pearl Harbor.
We had breakfast at Shore Bird a couple of days. I was pleasantly surprised at how much we enjoyed it. I'm generally not a fan of buffets, but the food was delicious with lots to choose from.
We loved the pool, and the great service there.
We had a fantastic time, and would defintely stay at Outrigger again. From the valet to bell to front desk and housekeeping staff, all were top notch.

2  Thank JeanieGo
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
reeffommanager, Front Office Manager at Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of the Outrigger Reef on the Beach. We are glad that you found our location ideal and that you enjoyed your room, restaurants and shops. Yes, in addition to the beach, there are so many activities and sights in close proximity as well as other places around the island. The staff prides itself on providing superior customer service and I will share your positive review with the staff. We look forward to servicing you again very soon. Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

great place right on the beach. Had a ocean view room with view of pool and ocean. Only could see a tip of diamond head ,on 7th I think we ended one higher. Room was good size with balcony. Only thing missing could of used a micowave. We renewed our wedding vows. It was a beautiful service right on the beach. Its included with your stay just ask at front desk. Valet parking high at $35 a day. But they did get the car each time in minutes and gave us directions each time. The restaurant by pool good for breakfast and drinks. Entertainment every night 6-9.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lovec55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews