We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First in paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort
Ranked #14 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Ca
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“First in paradise”
Reviewed April 27, 2014

great place right on the beach. Had a ocean view room with view of pool and ocean. Only could see a tip of diamond head ,on 7th I think we ended one higher. Room was good size with balcony. Only thing missing could of used a micowave. We renewed our wedding vows. It was a beautiful service right on the beach. Its included with your stay just ask at front desk. Valet parking high at $35 a day. But they did get the car each time in minutes and gave us directions each time. The restaurant by pool good for breakfast and drinks. Entertainment every night 6-9.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovec55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,741 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,248
    1,858
    434
    122
    79
See reviews for
1,640
2,687
155
182
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,460)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, FL
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2014

We stayed here April 20 - 25 and had a fantastic visit! The staff at checkin, valet, the restaurants, pool and hotel stores were all polite and welcoming. Our housekeeper, Nieves, was also just adorable and greeted us any time she saw us in the hallways.

The location is very convenient for walking around local shopping and restaurants, and you can easily take a trolley to many stops in the area. You will definitely have to rent a car to get to any attractions or other areas of the island.

We chose a city view suite rather than one of the ocean view rooms. For the rate we paid ($264/night AAA rate, plus tax) it was a fantastic choice. We had a small kitchenette and dining area, a small sitting/living area, a separate large bedroom, and two balconies. Our view was of the pool at the Trump plaza, which was just fine with us! Ocean view and ocean front rooms were much smaller and much more expensive. Our room was 1633, which was down at the end of a hallway with only one other suite. Other than some occasional door slams from the neighbors the room was quiet and just perfect.

The rooms were clean and very comfortable; the king size bed was very comfortable and we had no problems sleeping on it!

There are three hot tubs and a large pool. Next to the pool is a bar/restaurant where you can dine in, take out, or even have poolside service. Happy hour prices are even good - $5 for Mai Tais, $3.50 for select drafts and $6 for wine! The one strange thing we noticed was that different servers charged different amounts for the same exact drink at the same exact time! During happy hour we were charged $6, $5, and $3.50 for the same exact draft depending on who rung us up. We found the same thing at breakfast; some servers charged $8 for a mimosa, while others charged $10. There didn't seem to be any rhyme or reason!

Speaking of breakfast, the fried rice, ham and egg special is not to be missed! It's a steal at $7 and was the start of each day of our trip for us!

The only minor annoyances at the resort:
- The Wyndham timeshare associates which do not easily take "no" for an answer
- The Oro Gold store associates who offer you a free sample, then drag you in the store and also don't take "no" for an answer
- Inconsiderate guests that let their little ones run free in the pool and hot tub - not the fault of the hotel, but something to be aware of. (We'd have LOVED an "adults only" hot tub!)

Overall we had a fantastic stay and wouldn't hesitate to recommend the Outrigger Reef on the Beach to anyone visiting Honolulu!

Room Tip: Skip the ocean view and opt for the larger, more comfortable city view room at a lower rate!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerReefHotel, Front Office Manager at Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Aloha & Mahalo for choosing to stay at the Outrigger Reef on the Beach!

Thank you for taking the time to share your fantastic review of your experience on Trip Advisor. We’re delighted to hear that you enjoyed the convenience of our location and all the popular restaurants and shops. We appreciate your positive comments on all of our staff and especially the Housekeeper Nieves, which I will post for everyone to see and applaud.

We look forward to servicing you again! Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2014

Stayed here mid march 2014 First of all carnt believe the hotel has its own desk for time share scammers & you get bombarded by these people all the time you enter the hotel as you have to walk past them until you just start ignoring them & the only way we got a discount off the $1200 on tours we ordered was go to there time share crap got about $100 off I was not impressed in Australia we wouldn't put up with that sort of crap from a hotel. Exchange rate from the hotel was awful. Buffet breakfast was 1 of the worst buffet I have ever seen food was ok but buffet means more then 3-4 items to choose from. It was nice & clean but from all the hotels I've been to around the world for me just didn't have the wow factor it's one of the most expensive hotels I've been too for only 7 days it was more than a full 5 star hotel in Vegas & this hotel lacks a lot for a 4 star hotel it's hard to pinpoint 1 thing as it was nice just not great i was very disappointed i expected a lot more

Room Tip: Choose wisely as it's very expensive to stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Farlz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerReefHotel, Manager at Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Aloha Farlz1,
Thank you for your recent stay and for taking the time to share your review. We sincerely apologize for your experience with the time share and for your dissatisfaction with the exchange rate and breakfast buffet. We appreciate your comment that overall, you felt your experience was nice and we recognize that you expected more. We apologize for falling short of your expectations. We continually strive to make improvements and your feedback is very important. We hope you will allow us to be your host again in the future. Mahalo & Aloha!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2014

I stayed here for 5 nights of my 8 night vacation to Honolulu. This was my favorite hotel. This trip was actually a last minute decision for me but I was still able to get a decent rate directly through the hotel's website.

Large hotel lobby, easy, pleasant check in. The lobby was always full of activity night and day. There are several shops, a Starbucks and a couple restaurants/bars on the first floor. The room I had was spacious and very clean but the view wasn't great. Guess I should've paid for the upgrade LOL. Nice size bathroom and sufficient closet and storage areas. The bathrooms products they provide are awesome! I wish I knew the brand.

This hotel is in an excellent location, right on Waikiki beach, at the end of the Waikiki Beach Walk. Despite being in the middle of all the action, I was not disturbed by any street noise at night. I had a rental car but most of the boutiques and restaurants I went to were within short walking distance.

I enjoyed great times at the pool, the lobby bar, and both restaurants right off the beach. All employees I encountered were very nice and helpful.

The only thing I wasn't pleased with was the lack of help by the pool and on the beach with beach chairs, drinks, etc. Overall though I was happy with my stay and when I visit Honolulu again I would definitely consider staying here. There are just so many options for accommodations, there are other hotels I'd also like to try.

Room Tip: Make sure you visit the Peter Lik gallery at Waikiki Beach Walk
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lucksgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
176 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

The outrigger is in the perfect location to everything, beach at the doorstep, shops and restaurants the other side, everything in walking distance. The hotel staff are very helpful and nothing is too hard. Perfect hotel to laze away or get amongst the action. The walls are a bit thin and you can hear the neighbours coming and going. Definitely need reef shoes for the beach as the sand has broken shells through it and the ocean has rocks and no sand. Definitely recommend paying extra for a partial or full ocean room. We were here for our wedding, didn't get married at the hotel but had the best time and already planning when we can get back!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank louielou79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerReefHotel, Manager at Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Aloha Louielou79,
Thank you for taking the time to share your review of your recent stay at the Outrigger Reef on the Beach. We are glad that you appreciated our ideal location and that you found our staff to be very accommodating to your needs. The area directly in front of our hotel can be a little rocky but the beauty of it is that it is a reef area and you can often see sea turtles. A more sandy area is only a few feet away. We apologize for the noise you experienced from your neighbors. Congratulations on your recent marriage and we are delighted that you chose to spend your honeymoon with us. We are excited to hear that you are planning your next visit. We will be happy to be your host again. Mahalo and Aloha.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I travelled to Hawaii for the first time for our honeymoon in October 2013. The resort was amazing friendly staff, location, and beautiful rooms with views of the ocean to die for. Only down side for us really was the very short walk to the popular tourist beach where there was not so much coral for swimming. Have recommended this hotel to so many friends now and would definitely be the spot we stay when heading back to Hawaii. Thankyou to all the staff who made the start of our honeymoon truly special.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Shaun T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reeffommanager, Front Office Manager at Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this nice review for us. I am glad to hear that you had an “amazing stay” at the Outrigger Reef on the Beach, and you are very pleased with the service from the staff. Once again, Congratulations on your Honeymoon & we hope you have an opportunity to spend your first year anniversary with us. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

This resort had all the elements my husband and I were looking for on our trip to Hawaii. The location was great, in a quieter section of Waikiki still very close to all shops and restaurants. Situated on the beach made for easy access to the beach and the view from our ocean view room 707 was beautiful.
Room was spacious, check in was the best I have had in a while, Susie I think her name is, was very efficient and gave us a good run down of the resort and its surroundings.
The only negative was that we could hear noises from neighbouring rooms which was annoying at times. We also had an issue with our door not locking, but this was rectified as soon as we notified staff.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Whereswussa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerReefHotel, Front Office Manager at Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Aloha & Mahalo for choosing to stay at the Outrigger Reef on the Beach!

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor. We’re happy to hear that you enjoyed our great location situated around all the popular restaurants and shops. And we appreciate your positive comments on our spacious rooms and on our staff’s thorough, but efficient check-in.

We look forward to you staying with us again! Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#26 of 84 in Honolulu
4,294 reviews
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#5 of 84 in Honolulu
3,911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#8 of 84 in Honolulu
2,496 reviews
Waikiki
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort

Property: Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort
Address: 2169 Kalia Rd., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1936
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#6 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#7 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 639
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Reef On The Beach Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Reef Beach
Outrigger Honolulu
Honolulu Outrigger
Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing