We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best stay on our honeymoon!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort
Ranked #14 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best stay on our honeymoon!”
Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I travelled to Hawaii for the first time for our honeymoon in October 2013. The resort was amazing friendly staff, location, and beautiful rooms with views of the ocean to die for. Only down side for us really was the very short walk to the popular tourist beach where there was not so much coral for swimming. Have recommended this hotel to so many friends now and would definitely be the spot we stay when heading back to Hawaii. Thankyou to all the staff who made the start of our honeymoon truly special.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Shaun T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reeffommanager, Front Office Manager at Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this nice review for us. I am glad to hear that you had an “amazing stay” at the Outrigger Reef on the Beach, and you are very pleased with the service from the staff. Once again, Congratulations on your Honeymoon & we hope you have an opportunity to spend your first year anniversary with us. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,843 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,300
    1,888
    443
    130
    82
See reviews for
1,688
2,726
157
185
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,481)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

This resort had all the elements my husband and I were looking for on our trip to Hawaii. The location was great, in a quieter section of Waikiki still very close to all shops and restaurants. Situated on the beach made for easy access to the beach and the view from our ocean view room 707 was beautiful.
Room was spacious, check in was the best I have had in a while, Susie I think her name is, was very efficient and gave us a good run down of the resort and its surroundings.
The only negative was that we could hear noises from neighbouring rooms which was annoying at times. We also had an issue with our door not locking, but this was rectified as soon as we notified staff.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Whereswussa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerReefHotel, Front Office Manager at Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Aloha & Mahalo for choosing to stay at the Outrigger Reef on the Beach!

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor. We’re happy to hear that you enjoyed our great location situated around all the popular restaurants and shops. And we appreciate your positive comments on our spacious rooms and on our staff’s thorough, but efficient check-in.

We look forward to you staying with us again! Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2014

The only downside to our stay at the outrigger reef on the beach, was the fact that we only got one night here! The staff here are fantastic. We arrived at 9am fresh off the plane from an inter-island flight and reception were able to check us in to our room straight away. The room was great! Clean, big and very comfortable! We had lunch at the hotel ocean side restaurant (Shore Bird Restaurant & Beach Bar) and then dinner at the pool bar/restaurant (Kani Ka Pila Grille). Service and food at both were great! Highly recommend! Location is good, about a 5 minute walk to the main strip of shops and right on the beach. We left at 4am the next morning. Bellboys were fantastic and had a taxi already waiting for us!

We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TJC89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerReefHotel, Front Office Manager at Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Aloha & mahalo for taking the time to share your experience while staying here at the Outrigger Reef on the Beach. Although we wish you could have stayed longer, we were delighted you made the most of your short time by enjoying both of our restaurants, the Shorebird and Kani Ka Pila Grill as well as the nearby shops and our world famous Waikiki beach! We will share your kind remarks with our entire hotel staff and hope that the next time you visit us, it will be for much longer! A hui hou (until we meet again).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2014

We stayed on the 9th floor partial ocean view room which had a beautiful view of Diamond Head some of the beach plus a view of the pool. No doubt, this is a bustling hotel. At times the room was very noisy as we felt this building might not have been well insulated. Sounded like chairs being pulled in/out additionally you could hear the pounding of feet (loudly) on the floor above us. Beds were "full size" which for 2 adults traveling with 2 teenagers felt a bit "snug". Bathroom is nicely updated. House keepers and the Bell Captains were super friendly and accommodating. Beach was very crowded with a rocky ocean floor. We did find the beach a few doors down more comfortable. Location: you can walk or take the bus/ free trolley pretty much anywhere in the city. EI. to the mall or main strip of Waikiki. Teenagers were thrilled to have a Starbucks in our lobby. Evening time the live music pool side was a very nice touch as the sounds flowed throughout our room and the hotel which gave the location a nice tropical vacation feel. I wouldn't be against staying here again, but perhaps would look else where first.

Room Tip: Higher levels ocean view/partial ocean room. I would NOT go for a city view room here. Pool is small...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vacationlover1449
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reeffommanager, Front Office Manager at Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Our success is measured by how you, our treasured guests, evaluate our services and facilities. This feedback is the best way we know to keep us on our toes and provide a special place in Hawaii for everyone. I will definitely share your experiences with the entire staff. I am sorry to hear that you experienced noises from your room. I am delighted to read that your family did enjoy the hotels location, Starbucks & the music from our Kani Ka Pila Grille. We do hope you will have an opportunity to return in the future and look forward to welcoming you back to the Outrigger Reef on the Beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2014

We stayed here for a meeting/vacation with our 2 teenagers. We loved the location and were comfortable letting our kids be on their own. We had 2 business dinners (without kids) and the hotel was very good about helping us get our kids set for the evening. All of the restaurants we good and the valet was speedy. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheri T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerReefHotel, Manager at Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Aloha Sheri T.,
Thank you for your 5-star rating of your recent stay at the Outrigger Reef on the Beach. We are delighted to know that we were able to satisfy your needs for both business and pleasure as well as satisfy the needs of two different generations. That is great feedback, as we strive to make it a special experience for all of our guests. We are thrilled that you will definitely stay here again…we would love to be your host again. Mahalo & Aloha.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalama, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2014 via mobile

Positives: rooms are nice, updated and clean. Elevators are fast! Great location right on the beach, close to many restaurants, ABC stores, Starbucks, car rental and upscale shopping. NEGATIVES: refrigerator did not work. We ate at 2 of the 3 hotel restaurants - 2.5 stars. The breakfast buffet didn't even have coffee cups??? Beaches are fairly crowded, but we expected that. Lots of smokers in the park areas by the beach, and apparently homeless looking for handouts in the area. The price seems a little steep for what you get. I would not stay here again, but over-all we had a great time. Love Hawaii.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Rick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerReefHotel, Front Office Manager at Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Aloha & Mahalo for choosing to stay at the Outrigger Reef on the Beach!

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor. Please accept our sincere apologies for your refrigerator not working in your room. We're very concerned and have addressed this concern with both our Engineering and Housekeeping Departments to insure all of the appliances are in proper working condition when our guests check-in.

We appreciate your positive comments on our clean updated rooms and our great location on the beach.

We’re happy that you did have a great time in Hawaii and hope you give us another chance when you return! Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

After staying at the Reef once before in February 2011, my family (2 little kids, husband & parents) visited again for three nights in April 2014. We reserved a city view room hoping we might be upgraded to something with a partial ocean view, like our previous visit. Unfortunate,we were given rooms 211 and 212, which are in the ocean tower but face offices, so there is no view of anything. The downside is people walk by and can look into your room all day. The upside is a fairly large lanai outside the room, and easy access to the pool and lobby without using the elevator. The rooms were fine but we were very bothered by cigarette smoke that infiltrated our rooms early in the morning and late at night. It smelled like a Vegas casino. Totally unacceptable and disgusting. We complained and management sent housekeeping to fully clean our rooms and change all linens, but the smoke returned that night. It seemed to be coming from the air ducts. Other than the smoke issue, which seemed to be coming from another guest room, our seat was good. Breakfast at Ocean a House was great -- awesome view and relaxing atmosphere right on the beach. Pool bar and restaurant were also good. The location is perfect. The pool is nice but the water is a little cold and it's surprisingly very deep for a hotel pool (goes to 9 feet). A little nerve wracking for me, as a mom with two little kids. I also noticed that some of the other hotels in the area (i.e., the Sheraton) have much more kid friendly pools, with shallow areas and slides. Something to keep in mind if you have little ones...

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank ALS-SD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerReefHotel, Front Office Manager at Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Aloha and mahalo for your review of your stay with us at the Outrigger Reef on the Beach. It is quite unfortunate that our City View rooms did not meet your expectations. Although we would love to be able to give all of our guests a complimentary upgrade, during high occupancy periods we are just not able to. Also please accept our sincere aploogies for the inconvenience to you and your family as a result of the smoke permeating from another guest's room. It is unfortunate that their disregard for our No Smoking law had to mar your stay with us recently. Judging from the rest of the comments in your review, you appeared to enjoy your stay and we were pleased to read that. We do hope you will have an opportunity to return in the future and look forward to welcoming you back to the Outrigger Reef on the Beach 'ohana (family). Aloha Pumehana (Warmest aloha)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4,019 reviews
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#27 of 84 in Honolulu
4,398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort

Property: Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort
Address: 2169 Kalia Rd., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1936
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#6 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#7 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 639
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HotelsforEveryone so you can book your Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Reef On The Beach Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Reef Beach
Outrigger Honolulu
Honolulu Outrigger
Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing