We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favorite hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort
Ranked #14 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Escondido, CA
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Our favorite hotel”
Reviewed March 27, 2014

We went to visit our family and as always our last night was spent at the Outrigger Reef. I just can't say enough about this hotel. The view we had was all the way to diamond head and straight out to the ocean. The hotel sent up two gift boxes with snacks and drinks and a certificate for dinner at the ocean house, the signature restaurant. We will never stay anywhere else, they treat us like VIP and we are not. Thank you Outrigger and staff for another great stay.

Room Tip: Get a room facing diamond head or you will be looking at the backside of the hotel next door
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaSpazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,784 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,272
    1,868
    436
    127
    81
See reviews for
1,656
2,705
157
183
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,473)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2014

The staff was awesome. They actually cared about the customer and went above and beyond to accomodate our family. The Hotel was open and welcoming the minute you walk in. We had room 728 which was a side ocean view plus overlooked a park. We could see the awesome sunset from our balcony. The hotel is on the beach so you walk out of the hotel and your feet are in the beautiful sand. The price was very reasonable. We were next door to a five star hotel, three hotels from the Royal Hawaiian, anyway you get the idea we had a pretty good location. Thank you to the entire staff at the Outrigger for making this an awesome experience.

The powell family

Room Tip: I went to pricelilne so received a good rate. They upgraded us to two double beds, very comfortable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill_Radio61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerReefHotel, Front Office Manager at Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Mahalo (Thanking you) for sharing your experience at the Outrigger Reef on the Beach. We are very happy that you had a wonderful experience. Your words of appreciation are being shared with the staff. The Ocean view rooms on the park side are some of the most requested rooms due to the great view from the water to the mountain, the sunset from you room or balcony, and the fire work on Friday nights. Mahalo once again for staying at the Outrigger Reef on the Beach
Aloha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2014

I stayed at this beautiful hotel from Mar 19-21 and can not say anything bad about it. I was in the ocean tower and the room was extremely clean and very nice. The staff are extremlely helpful and will go out of their war to assist you with anything you may need. There is a starbuks located in the hotel, numerous shops and a fantastic beachfront restaurant called the shorebird. Having a cocktail at the shorebird after a day of fun was definitely relaxing and a must. All in all this is a great choice for a stay in Honolulu- can't beat the location and service!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tombguard451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reeffommanager, Front Office Manager at Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Aloha,

It was our pleasure to have you as our guest here at the Outrigger Reef on the Beach. We “thank you” for the positive review & we will definitely share your comments with the staff. I am delighted to know that you found the rooms to be extremely clean & that the staff were friendly & went out of their way to assist. I am glad to know that our property met your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to the beautiful shores of Waikiki in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2014

Comfortable rooms, massive sized hotel as expected in Honolulu, with excellent right on the beach access to Waikiki. Restaurants not quite so good in hotel with their own franchise arrangements. Poor poolside cafe which served hot chicken which had not been defrosted,- not nice. Ocean View restaurant the best with great breakfast. Staff v. friendly and interested to try and improve things. Good porter service, and valet for cars. Next door to outstanding and best restaurant in Hawaii!

Room Tip: No help as a sea view here meant a little peep around the corner of the building - there are sea vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 50yearoldcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerReefHotel, Manager at Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Aloha!
Thank you for your recent stay at the Outrigger Reef on the Beach. Your feedback on our Restaurants is important, as we hold all areas on our property to the same high standards. We will be sure to forward your comments in efforts to make improvements. We are glad to hear that you found our location ideal, our rooms comfortable and you were pleased with our porter and valet service. It is especially satisfying to know that you felt our staff was very friendly and interested to make your experience here special. Please return again. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2014

This evening My wife and kids checked into the Outrigger Reef on the beach with reservations made weeks ago. The staff was not friendly at all, tried to charge them the wrong rates, over charged for the incidental hold on the credit card. not helpful....

I am so shocked... I am hoping the manager can explain in person what is going on..please call us in the room. Last name BASI....

As i travel a lot this is not acceptable .

Room Tip: Make sure you check your bill. We were not the only one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jbasivan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerReefHotel, Front Office Manager at Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Aloha and thank you for speaking with me regarding your experience at check-in. We are delighted to hear that your experience at check-in was actually positive and that the Front Desk staff was able to clarify any misunderstanding.

Please enjoy the rest of your stay at the Outrigger Reef on the Beach and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2014

We stayed 6 nights, which was not long enough - we kept finding more things to see and do!! Good hotel in good location, right on the beach front with two restaurants to choose from right on the beach. Wonderful sunset from here as well. Everything is nearby. Good Staff, clean room, good housekeeping, free wi-fi in room was appreciated, large and spacious room, small balcony was good to enjoy. Good shops in the hotel complex. It's not overly ritzy, but a very good basic hotel to stay at. Starbucks on the property is good for breakfast - it's open long hours.

Room Tip: Definitely request a higher floor. A Full Ocean View room is the best. You get what you pay for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2Luvtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerReefHotel, Front Office Manager at Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay, noting our central location to shops & restaurants. I am delighted to read that you found the rooms clean & that the Front Desk & Housekeeping staff were friendly. I will share your positive comments with all of them. I do hope you have a chance to choose the Outrigger Reef on the Beach when you visit our islands again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2014

By far this is the BEST hotel choice in Honolulu.... We stay here every year & would never think of going anywhere else. The check in was a breeze, it was after 3 PM so our room was ready. The on site restaurant "The Shorebird" is the BOMB. A beach front table is available for Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner (may have to wait, but it's worth it!)
The staff will doing anything within their power to make your stay PeRfEcT.
Even the Housekeeping Staff is very nice.
They have a "Hospitality Room" you can use to clean up before you leave Paradise. The Lobby is Awesome with really comfy seats... Aloha & Enjoy

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DebbieJoS_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerReefHotel, Front Office Manager at Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and how much you continue to enjoy the hotel every year. I am glad that you find the Outrigger Reef on the Beach to be the “The Best hotel choice in Honolulu”. Looking forward to welcome you back to the Outrigger Reef on the Beach.
Aloha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
3,964 reviews
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#28 of 84 in Honolulu
4,359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Waikiki
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort

Property: Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort
Address: 2169 Kalia Rd., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1936
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#6 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#7 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 639
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Reef On The Beach Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Reef Beach
Outrigger Honolulu
Honolulu Outrigger
Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing