We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in a very touristy Waikiki”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort
Ranked #14 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
323 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in a very touristy Waikiki”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014 via mobile

We stayed a couple nights at the Outrigger. It's expensive, but right on the beach. Very friendly service. Large room, but had 2 double beds even though we requested a king. I got the feeling that they didn't have many king rooms. Ours had an ocean view -- not direct, but angled. Also, nice view of Diamond Head. With 3 restaurants, you basically never have to leave the property. Also, many shops on site.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerReefHotel, Front Office Manager at Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Aloha! Thank you for taking the time to compliment our hotel in your review you recently submitted with Trip Advisor. It is indeed gratifying to know that the efforts of our staff do not go unrecognized. We are always pleased when our guests take the time to share their experiences, both positive and negative. Like any other resort we have our challenges, and our guests feedback provides us with valuable insights regarding the quality of our service and facilities.
We apologize for not being able to provide you with a King bed as you requested. We do everything we can to accommodate all requests, even when the request is not guaranteed. We hope that the incredible view of Diamond Head made up for the shortfall.
Rest assured we will pass your kind words on to all concerned. All of our staff think of our guests as old friends who should not stay away too long, so we hope we'll have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Outrigger Reef on the Beach for another visit very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,647 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,193
    1,833
    427
    118
    76
See reviews for
1,606
2,641
153
178
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,439)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014

I have run in the Honolulu marathon four times and had a great time. The race is amazing!
I had pick the outrigger reef , because of the location . The hotel is right around the corner
from the marathon expo and a short walk to the starting line of the marathon. My first time
there the staff made me feel very at ease. The room were great and cleanning staff always
did a terrific job. Had breakfast at the Shore Bird restaurant every morning , The staff was
alway kind and helpful, and the food & coffee were great. The pool area was clean , and a
fun atmosphere .The beach area is well maintained with access to chairs, beach umbrellas
It is a family friendy part of the beach. Everything in walkiki is in walking distance . It is a great
place to stay and I hope to go back soon

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank John05242013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerReefHotel, Front Office Manager at Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Aloha,

It was our pleasure to have you as our guest here at the Outrigger Reef on the Beach. We “thank you” for the positive review & we will definitely share your comments with the staff. I am delighted to know that you found the rooms to be clean & comfortable & the facilities met your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to the beautiful shores of Waikiki in the future.

Mahalo nui loa,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014

Very convenient. Locale. With the best portion of the entire beach.
The beach front staff were amazing.
Very clean. And lots of action at dukes restaurant every night.
A secure place to stay for women traveling together.
The top floor restaurant. Has an excellent. Happy hour and salad bar.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank audre o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014

A friend and I stayed 4 nights here. The hotel was located right on the beach with beach access to other hotels. It had a large pool and 3 hot tubs. It was an open concept with lots of stores and restaurants. If you book tours they would pick you up right at the hotel. The hotel was very accommodating in checking us in early and out late due to flight arrivals and departures. It was a short walk to waikiki beach walk and major shopping. Room was clean and staff friendly. Great stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NVP19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerReefHotel, Front Office Manager at Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Aloha & Mahalo for taking the time to share your past experience at the Outrigger Reef on the Beach.
It is always good to read that the hotel met your expectations & that you found the location & atmosphere to your liking. I am delighted to know that you were able to use the facilities like the pool, hot tubs, & restaurants. I will share your comments with the staff, especially to the Front Desk who were able to provide an early check in for you. We do hope you choose our hotel again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faribault, Minnesota
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014

This hotel was very nice and clean. Our room was clean, the shower had great water pressure. The bed was comfortable Nice size facitlity, not too big. We went to the Hilton Hawaiian Village for a Luau, nice hotel but too big. They had too many towers, hard to find your way to things. I loved that the Outrigger was on the beach. We renewed our vows with their complementary vow renewal service and it was beautiful. The staff was very informative and friendly from the time we got there to even after we checked out!! Would love to stay there again.

Room Tip: We were on the 16th floor in the Pacific tower. We paid for a city view, however it was the city vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MeghanAndyE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerReefHotel, Front Office Manager at Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Aloha & Mahalo for choosing to stay at the Outrigger Reef on the Beach!

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor and for your positive feedback on our clean rooms and comfortable bed, which our housekeepers take great pride in. Also, congratulations on renewing your vows and we’re happy to hear that you were able to participate in this complimentary service!

We look forward to seeing you again! Mahalo Nui Loa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

My husband and I stayed here in December of 2012. The resort is beautiful. Very clean. Convenient shops located at the resort. We also had breakfast on the beach at Shorebird every morning! Although we were married 5 years at the time, it was like a second honeymoon! We had easy access to the bus route to go to all of the major sightseeing events in Hawaii - Pearl Harbor, USS Arizona, and USS Missouri. We would definitely stay here again if we were lucky enough to ever get back to Hawaii and would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a place to stay while in Oahu.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goldy18_1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerReefHotel, Manager at Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Aloha goldy18_1999,

We are glad to hear that we had a part in making your stay at the Outrigger Reef on the Beach feel like a second honeymoon. We strive to provide each of our guests with a special and memorable stay so we appreciate that you took the time to share that we achieved this.

Thank you especially for your high recommendation to those looking for a place to stay in Oahu. We realize the importance of recommendations from someone who actually stayed at our property. Mahalo and we hope you can return again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level Contributor
147 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

My son and I stayed 3 nights in an oceanfront room and then a further night in a standard city room a few nights later. Despite a huge difference in price they were the same room just in different parts of the hotel. In fact from the lanai of the cheaper room we could watch the fireworks at the Hilton. Both rooms were very spacious, quiet and comfortable. Bathrooms worked well, lanais were a good size and pleasant and private. The hotel contains some useful shops and 3 restaurants offering different types of meals. We ate in all 3 and were happy with all 3. We weren't harassed by any timeshare people at all. We found some staff to be very helpful and others were a little nonchalant. Although there was nothing disappointing about our stay I think I would try somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank turtonfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerReefHotel, Front Office Manager at Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Aloha & Thank You for choosing to stay at the Outrigger Reef on the Beach!

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the various spacious room accommodations along with our excellent variety of restaurants and shops on property. We appreciate all of your feedback and hope that you will choose to stay with us again real soon!

Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#4 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,790 reviews
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#27 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,459 reviews
Waikiki
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort

Property: Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort
Address: 2169 Kalia Rd., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1936
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#6 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#7 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 639
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Reef On The Beach Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Reef Beach
Outrigger Honolulu
Honolulu Outrigger
Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing