We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel in a good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort
Ranked #14 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed December 9, 2013

We didn't find this hotel exceptional it was average at best. We we're put on the 4th floor and paid for a partial ocean view which was a waste of money. Hotel is old and dingy and the shops are kitschy. Asked four times for a crib, arrived at 9pm NO CRIB how hard is it to put a crib in a room? I even emailed them the day of arrival.

Twice I was given wrong information at the activities desk, pool service non existent and the towels had holes in them. The location is great and the maids do a great job. Ocean house breakfast is very nice but Shorebirds breakfast isn't nice at all $15 for sub par food.

Pool is very deep and so cold! Not relaxing at all. The beach is rocky and chairs expensive.

Customer service is non existent. Definitely the worst I have experienced in the USA. Lots of people complained about the time share vultures. Really puts a damper on the holiday.

Good things would be the maid service, coffee machine, location and Starbucks on site.

I stayed at Waikiki Marina Resort last year which was cheaper and the service exceptional. If you like the area look at Waikiki Parc or the hotels around Outrigger Waikiki and Moana Surf-ridder. I won't be back or recommending this hotel.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Sydney_Traveller81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,956)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,362 - 2,368 of 5,956 reviews

Reviewed December 9, 2013

Our first stay was in 2008, this stay was even better!!! The hotel is in a perfect location, right on the beach. Check-in was a breeze, we brought my mom & sister along and we received complimentary upgrades for both rooms to ocean view. Really enjoyed sitting around the pool a couple of afternoons - special thanks to Mark for taking such good care of us. Both food and drink from the Kani Ka Pila Grille were very good and prices were reasonable. Also, thanks to Loni our housekeeper - she was amazing! Rooms are spacious, decorated nicely. Location again is great. Yardhouse (check out the happy hour specials for food & drink!!!), Roy's and Denny's are right across the street. PJ Chang's is about a block away. And the beach...the hotel sits right on Waikik, couldn't be better. Hope to visit again soon - maybe we'll get a break on parking next time, only complaint, $35 a day is expensive.

Room Tip: Don't hesitate to ask for an upgrade, if they have the rooms available they are likely to accomm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joni15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

We recently stayed here for my husband's 40th birthday and thoroughly enjoyed our 10 nights at this hotel. Our ocean front room was spacious and comfortable, which was lovely considering there were 4 of us (we have 2 children aged 4 and 1). My husband and I particularly enjoyed sitting on the balcony each evening, listening to the live Hawaiian music, once our little people were asleep. The express elevator to the 10th floor in the Ocean Tower was a great perk.
The staff at the hotel could not be faulted and we particularly appreciated our housekeeper, Joanne L, coming to our room early each morning once she realised our daughter slept during the early afternoon. Thank you!
The whole hotel is very clean and I regularly saw staff vacuuming the halls to collect the sand.
The pool area was lovely although with the beach so close we preferred to swim/play there. The beach is quite rocky but we all had aqua shoes so didn't notice it. It is also an easy walk in either direction to less rocky areas.
We enjoyed breakfast most mornings at the Shorebird and loved eating so close to the beach. We also appreciated Starbucks in the foyer and Denny's just down the road.
The outrigger reef is in a great location, within easy walking of all of Waikiki. We also regularly walked to Ala Moana, with it being an easy 20 min walk.
We absolutely hope to stay at this beautiful, well maintained resort again. Mahalo!

Stayed: November 2013
3  Thank AimeeEE78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for about a week for a short holiday. We got a great deal on the room so found it to be good value, however at full price I think it's quite expensive.
We arrived from Melbourne at around 8.30am and as a room was available we were able to check-in straight away, which was fantastic given how tired we were!
The location of the hotel is great, short walk to many shops, restaurants and, of course, right on the beach. We also found it a pretty easy walk to Ala Moana, about a 20 minute walk.
We ate at both the Shore Bird and the Kani Ka Pila Grille and both had good food and great service, the Starbucks is also very convenient.
The rooms are nice and clean and the beds are very comfortable. The pool is quite small, but this wasn't a problem for us as we weren't there in peak season and there are 3 spas. The staff are friendly and quite helpful. It was good to have a team on site to organise activities, just ignore the timeshare push.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Anthea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2013

Everything about the Outrigger Reef was gorgeous and we felt pampered because the room was so nice. We had requested an ocean view and we did have a gorgeous view of the ocean all the way to Diamond Head and a lovely balcony to relax on. The rooms (large bedroom and very large bath) were kept clean. All personnel were very pleasant. Restaurants were great. Enjoyed a large hot tub while listening to entertainment. We highly recommend this hotel.
The only thing I didn't like was the 'trap' to visit a time-share when I thought we were at a booth to get travel information. And there were two booths there in the hotel doing this. They did offer a 'free' breakfast along with the time-share visit but we were asked to put up $20 upfront to make sure we showed up. We left when we found out what it was all about.

Room Tip: There are two buildings. I would ask for the one nearest the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Carolyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for the last 3 days of our Hawaii honeymoon trip.

The hotel is very nice, open air through the main registration and storefront area.

Check in was a bit of a stuggle as the person helping us was only on her second shift (ever) which resulted in us being put in a two-double bed room, even though we booked a king bed ocean view room and noted on the reservation that we were on our honeymoon. The bellman who brought our bags was able to correct this from the phone in the room and we were quickly moved to a king room. We think that the maid service was not updated on our transfer and we had to call housekeeping daily to come and clean our room-a bit of an inconvenience but not the end of the world.

The rooms are very nicely appointed and comfortable. Even being in Waikiki-Honolulu, noise was not an issue.

The ocean view is a bit of a disappointment as you only see a small little chuck of the ocean between all of the buildings, patios etc. I wouldn't pay extra for that feature again. It should be noted as partial ocean view IMO.

The pool was great and we spent a lot of our mornings enjoying drinks by the pool before we headed out for our daily escapades (it is OK to drink before noon when on holidays! hehe).

The restaurants are certainly overpriced but that can be said about most Hawaii hotel restaurants.

My husband loved the gym as some of the other hotels on our trip did not even have one.

You get great value for your money at this beachfront hotel in Honolulu.

Room Tip: don't pay for the ocean view-it's not worth it happy hour at the pool restaurant is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nelzdido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Went for a honeymoon with my husband and it was a nice place. Upon arrival check in went through without a hitch. The pool and hot tub are nice, restaurants down stairs are okay. Good food but a little pricey. We went to the Shore Bird Restaurant & Beach Bar that's downstairs in the hotel on our first night in HI. We were lucky to have a server named Lisa she was absolutely amazing. She was so nice and told us some places we had to go and visit. When she found out that it was our honeymoon she brought us out a free dessert which was a huge brownie with ice cream it was so good. Every night they have a live Hawaiian band at the poolside bar/restaurant. They are pretty good and we had a room on the third floor facing the pool and would sit on our balcony with a bottle of wine and just relax and listen to the music from the room. The beach is a little walk down the beach you get to a very nice beach in front of some other hotels. I was expecting a little more from the hotel since it was our honeymoon but oh well it worked for us.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kathryn_potocek789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4,128 reviews
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#8 of 84 in Honolulu
2,569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prince Waikiki
#1 of 84 in Honolulu
279 reviews
Waikiki
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort

Address: 2169 Kalia Rd., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1936
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#6 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#7 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: $253 - $451 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 639
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Reef On The Beach Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Reef Beach
Outrigger Honolulu
Honolulu Outrigger
Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing