We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great honolulu hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort
Ranked #15 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed December 4, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for the last 3 days of our Hawaii honeymoon trip.

The hotel is very nice, open air through the main registration and storefront area.

Check in was a bit of a stuggle as the person helping us was only on her second shift (ever) which resulted in us being put in a two-double bed room, even though we booked a king bed ocean view room and noted on the reservation that we were on our honeymoon. The bellman who brought our bags was able to correct this from the phone in the room and we were quickly moved to a king room. We think that the maid service was not updated on our transfer and we had to call housekeeping daily to come and clean our room-a bit of an inconvenience but not the end of the world.

The rooms are very nicely appointed and comfortable. Even being in Waikiki-Honolulu, noise was not an issue.

The ocean view is a bit of a disappointment as you only see a small little chuck of the ocean between all of the buildings, patios etc. I wouldn't pay extra for that feature again. It should be noted as partial ocean view IMO.

The pool was great and we spent a lot of our mornings enjoying drinks by the pool before we headed out for our daily escapades (it is OK to drink before noon when on holidays! hehe).

The restaurants are certainly overpriced but that can be said about most Hawaii hotel restaurants.

My husband loved the gym as some of the other hotels on our trip did not even have one.

You get great value for your money at this beachfront hotel in Honolulu.

Room Tip: don't pay for the ocean view-it's not worth it happy hour at the pool restaurant is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nelzdido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (6,070)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,457 - 2,463 of 6,070 reviews

Reviewed December 3, 2013

Went for a honeymoon with my husband and it was a nice place. Upon arrival check in went through without a hitch. The pool and hot tub are nice, restaurants down stairs are okay. Good food but a little pricey. We went to the Shore Bird Restaurant & Beach Bar that's downstairs in the hotel on our first night in HI. We were lucky to have a server named Lisa she was absolutely amazing. She was so nice and told us some places we had to go and visit. When she found out that it was our honeymoon she brought us out a free dessert which was a huge brownie with ice cream it was so good. Every night they have a live Hawaiian band at the poolside bar/restaurant. They are pretty good and we had a room on the third floor facing the pool and would sit on our balcony with a bottle of wine and just relax and listen to the music from the room. The beach is a little walk down the beach you get to a very nice beach in front of some other hotels. I was expecting a little more from the hotel since it was our honeymoon but oh well it worked for us.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kathryn_potocek789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

My husband & I stayed there for our honeymoon. We had a very memorable experience & were extremely happy! When we arrived they upgraded us to a ocean view room & when we got to our room they had a bottle of champagne on ice with a nice card. We loved the open lobby & how everything felt like you were outside. The decor throughout the whole hotel was really spectacular & very upscale with all the dark rich woods!

We splurged & decided to get a couples massage at Serenity spa. Loved it! We spent a lot of time at the pool & used there pool service for drinks & food. Their chicken skewers were amazing by the way!

We really liked how close this hotel was to everything. We walked pretty much everywhere. The only thing I really have to say negative about this hotel is the prices on their breakfast menu. We got a basic breakfast pancakes, bacon, eggs & coffee & the bill was $50. We ended up finding a little breakfast place right arount the corner that had a $4.99 breakfast special that was really good.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Junebug614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Loved our room even though it overlooked the pool, but had to pay $15 to rent a chair to sit on the beach for one hour. No other place to sit outside of bars. Restaurants had decent food, but quite expensive. We did take advantage of the Happy Hour drink specials. Loved the location and car rental was very convenient.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

We stayed at the Reef for 5 days in connection with our honeymoon in Hawaii. It is a very nice hotel located on the beach. It is a 5 mins walk to the main shopping street and 15 mins drive to the big Ala Moana shopping centre. The hotel has also got a large pool for different age groups. The rooms are spacious with big balconies. The Ocean front restaurant serves fabulous local food. A little positive surprise was that the hotel does not charge a resort fee, which we had to pay at the hotels on other islands. We really enjoyed our stay and look forward to coming back next year.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Natalia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 9 days and very much enjoyed the surrounds of the resort and the closeness off Waikiki beach access.

The staff from check in, valet etc were very helpful and very friendly but on a couple of ocassions we had to call House keeping to ensure our room was going to be serviced as it was early afternoon. That being the case the room service was excellent. The room was spacious and well appointed. ( we were on 17 th floor pacific tower ocean view from balcony.)

The pool side cafe and staff were very good with service, meals served and the atmosphere was restful.

We were not so impressed on several ocassions with the Shorebird restaurant ( not run by the hotel I understand ) so called " happy hour sessions" when trying to get a table / seat at 4 o'clock to be told we needed to come earlier!! It appeared to us that the clients may have been non hotel guests so we made the decision to go else where to enjoy drinks .

Would we stay here again yes definitely!

Room Tip: Ocean views the higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wanderingx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

This is right on the beach! Very nice rooms. Their is subway down by beach at the back of motel. The restaurant they have at the motel has a wonderful breakfast buffet! It is located within walking distance of everything on the main strip. And the army museum is next door and it's free to visit.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Scoobydootn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4,219 reviews
Prince Waikiki
#1 of 84 in Honolulu
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Waikiki
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort

Address: 2169 Kalia Rd, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1936
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#6 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#7 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: $282 - $424 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 639
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelsforEveryone so you can book your Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Reef On The Beach Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Reef Beach
Outrigger Honolulu
Honolulu Outrigger
Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing