We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great scenery”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort
Ranked #14 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Brighton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great scenery”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Right on the beach in the heart of tourist country, this hotel has it all. Larger rooms with kitchenettes helps keep the costs down. Nightly entertainment by the pool, and the beachfront restaurant is a good experience. Be warned though, you cook your own meat on a large outdoor bbq. Nice beach. Overall expensive but fun.

Room Tip: Always go beachfront...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Byrdmeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,843 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,300
    1,888
    443
    130
    82
See reviews for
1,688
2,726
157
185
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,481)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Frederick, Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

I stayed here for 6 nights. It is a beautiful hotel and the rooms are pure luxury. I wasn't impressed with the outside bar as far as service goes but they had a great deal for breakfast (only $7) which is cheap for Honolulu. The only other complaint was that in one of the restaurants in the hotel that has a bar you couldn't eat there. You had to sit at a table. I was traveling alone, therefore, I like to sit at a bar and have something to eat. It is in a safe neighborhood compared to some of the other hotels. If I want to make another trip one day to Honolulu, I would definitely go back there.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovestodance118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013

We had a destination wedding in Oahu (planned from Canada) and all our guests and we were very happy with this hotel! Location is excellent, close to Royal Hawaiian Center and shopping, good restaurants nearby (ramen was great), and nearby ABC stores. Most of all it is right on the beach which was really convenient (although more rocky than the Waikiki beach and less waves). The hotel was clean, well maintained, staff were friendly. The air conditioning was a little loud. Hotel was going to give us a bottle of champagne on our wedding day but they forgot, had to ask afterwards. 3 restaurants in the hotel but a little pricey. Overall great experience with hotel with our wedding party :)

Room Tip: Corner suites are bigger and has 2 balconies!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sham_wen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
259 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

We came to Honolulu on our honeymoon. This is a great location with really attractive common parts- the hotel is on the door step of many good restaurants and shops.Rooms are also good although I guess views can vary - WiFi was rubbish in the room. When we arrived in the evening it was very frustrating that our room wasn't ready - never got a good reason for this.
Staff were helpful particularly when we were looking to book some trips.
Hotel is on the beach ( which is smaller than other hotels) but only 100 yards from a much wider part of Waikiki beach.
One thing beware the in house time share seller. You got $100+ to look at the Wyndham offering but be prepared for really pushy selling and a really patronising boss.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2013

The reef is a fabulous place to stay, great people, location and service. Just a couple of minor points, the activity desk lists premium tours you have to ask if there are other options, don't take the first option. Wifi speed wasn't great and the hostess at the Kani Ka Pila Grille was very rude or she just doesn't like Australians as 2 other couples had the same experience.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gayleen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for five days after our Norwegian cruise. We got to the hotel early(about 7:30am) . We were met by a smile and a welcome as soon as we got out of the taxi. They stored our luggage for us since we were on the way to the Polynesian Cultural Center. We were told at the desk we could get a room now or if we did not mind waiting, we could get a room with a better view. We happy to wait. The lobby is open , clean and very inviting. When we returned that evening, we stopped and picked up our room keys. The next morning, we were so pleased with the room. It was spacious and super clean.when we went out on the balcony, we had a great view of Diamond Head and the ocean. It was a partial ocean view room.(room 611) . Everyone was very friendly and helpful. It was great they had a business center to print out boarding passes for our flight home. We could not have asked for a better hotel. There will be no doubt where we will stay on our next trip to Hawaii.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank enjoytravel0410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Stayed for 7 nights, Excellent all round service, food, location. Only complaint is the pool is so deep and doesn't have a shallow side for small children. My 4yr old had a blast meeting other kids and actually learned a lot about going into the deep pool and swimming up. The jacuzzi is ridiculously hot some small kids would say "hot hot" and be taken out.

Beach is outside hotel, waikiki beach is about a 10 min beach walk, very nice. Nice shopping, great eateries.

Big thumbs up!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank IslandAdventurer83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4,019 reviews
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#27 of 84 in Honolulu
4,398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort

Property: Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort
Address: 2169 Kalia Rd., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1936
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#6 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#7 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 639
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HotelsforEveryone so you can book your Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Reef On The Beach Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Reef Beach
Outrigger Honolulu
Honolulu Outrigger
Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing