We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great 4 star resort!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort
Ranked #14 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Brisbane
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great 4 star resort!”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We had a great stay at the Outrigger - it is not the most modern or flash resort but we found our stay lovely and very comfortable for what you would expect for a 4 star hotel. Rooms were spacious and clean, service was friendly and helpful, pool was alright (nice clean but nothing flash and tended to be busy with lounge chairs and no child's area) and breakfast restaurants had beautiful views. My only disappointment is the resorts position on the beach - very coral rocky bottom and not sandy like it is further up the beach. However all in all would recommend this resort and would stay agin.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank acdc09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,796 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,281
    1,870
    436
    128
    81
See reviews for
1,664
2,707
157
184
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,474)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

For my first time in Hawaii couldn't have picked a better place to stay. Friendly staff - great location - walking distance to restaurants, shops, beaches, etc. My only complaint - it would be awesome to be greeted with a lei upon arrival.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mssmurfette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Favorite hotel to stay at when on business in hawaii. Great staff, hotel clean, shore bird has good food for late eve arrivals. Great pool area to un or dennys is just around corner. wind with another bar area by pool. All shopping is within walk8ng distance.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank otto328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerReefHotel, Front Office Manager at Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Aloha otto328,
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience while staying with us here at the Outrigger Reef on the Beach! We really appreciate the feedback we receive and use it to improve our hospitality and recognize our employees. We were especially delighted to hear that we are your favorite hotel while here on business! We hope you are taking advantage of our Pacific Business Connection which is our corporate travel program for frequent business travelers to Hawaii and Guam.

The fact that we have such wonderful dining facilities here on property, from Shorebird Restaurant to Ocean House to Kani Ka Pila Grille as well as Starbucks and even Denny’s around the corner, makes it easy for our business travelers who are always on the go. You can be assured we will share this with our entire hotel staff!
Mahalo again, and we look forward to seeing you very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lower Hutt
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We loved staying at Outrigger Reef on the Beach. The hotel room was beautiful, clean
and comfortable. Our room had a lovely outlook over the pool area, we could also see
out over the sea. We had a partial ocean view. If we sat out on our deck in the evening
before going out we could enjoy the music from different groups who played at the restaurant
each night. We also enjoyed the restaurant. The hotel staff were all very friendly and
helpful. Hotel is in a great location handy to everything, Beautiful beach, we hired some deck
chairs and an umbrella one day and enjoyed a full beach day. We read our books relaxing on
the poolside chairs. It was a wonderful place, hope to return one day!

Room Tip: We liked being at about 7th floor level
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Judy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerReefHotel, Front Office Manager at Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Aloha!
It is our pleasure to have you as our guest at the Outrigger Reef on the Beach each year. We are very happy to hear that you have enjoyed the view from your room and the wonderful Hawaiian music at the Kani Ka Pile Grille. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Outrigger Reef!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed at this hotel many times over the last 20 years. I started coming here with my parents and sister, then with just my sister and now with my husband. It's comfortable, clean, well positioned and friendly. The Ocean House restaurant is also fabulous (book a table for sunset). The staff here are great too.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JodyleeB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Thomas
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Honolulu is expensive by US standards, but Outrigger is great value for location. Dive and fishing shops pick up from hotels. Lots of great bars and resteraunts within walking distance. Really good bus service. Ala Moana centre is great for shopping, just a short hop away. Sunsets in Hawaii are the best.

Room Tip: Great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Eamon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerReefHotel, Front Office Manager at Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience while staying with us here at the Outrigger Reef on the Beach.
We are pleased the location of the hotel worked great for you while you were here. We look forward to hosting you again in the future.
Aloha & Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

I travelled here in April this year. It was amazing! No place like Hawaii. Staff were really friendly and helpful but everyone is in Hawaii. Rooms were cleaned everyday fresh towels. Food in hotel was ace with the grill at the back looking out on the ocean!! We booked a city view room but when arrived we had a partial ocean view. Most amazing view Ive ever seen. Waking up that everyday was a dream. Hotel was in great location walking distance to anywhere, On the beach so could walk right up to Hilton Hawaian or the other end to where everyone surfs. Definately would stay at this hotel again!!

Room Tip: Definately go for a partial or full ocean view, amazing views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank samshep13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
3,973 reviews
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#28 of 84 in Honolulu
4,365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Waikiki
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort

Property: Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort
Address: 2169 Kalia Rd., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1936
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#6 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#7 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 639
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Reef On The Beach Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Reef Beach
Outrigger Honolulu
Honolulu Outrigger
Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing