We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort
Ranked #15 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Located at quieter end of Waikiki Beach..only 10min walk to hub of Waikiki....beach small and rocky with beds and umbrellas for hire.....great view of ocean from Shorebird Restaurant....Shorebird provided great food and service....excellent service from checkin to checkout...5min walk to great beach and bar heading towards the Hilton....beware of timeshare breakfast offer....

Room Tip: Rooms over pool enjoy the poolside music each night
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank NeilandSal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerReefHotel, Manager at Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Aloha Neil and Sal!
Thank you for sharing your comments regarding the Outrigger Reef on the Beach. We’re glad that you found our location to be ideal and that you enjoyed the Shorebird restaurant. We are so happy to read your comment that you felt we provided you excellent service from check in to check out.

We hope that we can host you again soon. Aloha!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (6,000)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,569 - 2,575 of 6,000 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2013

Upon arrival we were informed that there was no booking in our name. You can probably imagine the stress this caused. However, I believe that you can measure the quality of customer service by the way problems are dealt with and overcome. The young lady (Cara) at reception is a credit to the Outrigger group and should be commended for her patience and professional attitude. We were booked into a room with views of the pool area and a partial view of the ocean. The following day Cara informed us that she had tracked down our booking and discovered that the booking agent had failed to confirm. She and the duty manager then made all the arrangements, our holiday was back on track! The rest of the staff were equally helpful and very friendly (as were all of the islanders we encountered). The room was clean and comfortable with a small balcony situated above one of the bar areas. We were able to sit on the balcony in the evening and listen to the live music and even catch a glimpse of traditional dancers. The hotel has direct access to a small beach which although not exclusive, is mainly used by outrigger guests. Sunbeds and umbrellas are available (expensive!) as well as other beach activity equipment from the helpful beach attendant. I would recommend some beach shoes when swimming as the beach is surrounded by a reef which makes paddling/swimming difficult. having said that it is well worth hiring a snorkel and mask. We even had the privilege of swimming with giant sea turtles yards from the beach. All in all it was an amazing holiday at an outstanding hotel. Well done Outrigger!

Room Tip: Try to get a high level room in the ocean tower. The views across the bay to diamond head are well w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank MikeCCFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerReefHotel, Front Office Manager at Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Aloha,
Thank you so much for your kind words about the quality customer service you received from the staff at the Outrigger Reef on the Beach! Although it was unfortunate that there was no booking in your name upon your arrival, we were delighted to read that our Guest Services Representative and our Manager on Duty were able to quickly research the status of the booking and get you into your room to start your vacation!

A large part of our guest’s comments come from those whose rooms overlook the Kani Ka Pila Grille and our pool area just because of our live Hawaiian music that takes place ngihtly from 6 p.m. to 9 p.m. Many of our guests prefer to sit on their balconies, relax and listen to the music from their rooms instead of coming down into the Lobby. And we are happy to provide this entertainment for our guests. Your comments are a testimony to that!

We were also happy to read that you enjoyed snorkeling in the beach right in front of our hotel. And as our name suggests, there is a reef along the shoreline so that was very helpful of you to recommend beach shoes.

You can be sure that we will take a moment to compliment both our Guest Services staff as well as our Managers and Beach Activities Attendants for having enriched your stay with us.

Again, mahalo for your kind remarks and we look forward to your return visit with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We chose the Outrigger Reef for its great beach location. We chose a beachfront room and we were not disappointed. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful and the restaurants served great food. The pool area was ok but could do with some umbrellas. The hotel is well situated in Waikiki with loads of shops and restaurants close by.

Room Tip: Beach front if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Great room, great staff...couldn't complain about anything! After all, it is HAWAII!!! Absolutely breath taking! Serenity Spa has so many different choices...the hardest part is figuring out which one you want! Took a hula class and learned how to make a ti ankle bracelet. Great times!! Beautiful memories!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank OlyMur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

Loved the atmosphere and the availability of sunbeds through out te day comparing to other hotels.
Beach was quiet and pool was amazing, hot pools and jacuzzis also available.
Restaurants were various and Starbucks opens around 4;50am ahead of an early tour.
All staff were great, fitness center 24/7.

Didnt see a flaw. Sitting out in the balcony around sunset & listening to pool band singing was just beautiful.
Enjoyed every second.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank dbehbehani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We travelled with two kids, and booked two partial ocean rooms with the breakfast included. We requested connecting rooms, and got the ninth floor overlooking Diamond Head! The service, ambience, and food was very good. Three restaurants; Ocean House was outstanding, the buffet at the Shore Bird was fast but just okay, the pool service by the Grill was very good! The hotel is in a terrific location close to shopping and restaurants. The beach has a difficult access to the water as its rocky. Cut my foot on coral as I left my reef walkers in the room. Don't forget your reef walkers! I also chose Outrigger Reef based off reviews on TripAdvisor. Good job!

Room Tip: ninth floor use the penthouse express elevator!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Ken K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerReefHotel, Manager at Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Aloha Ken K.!
Thank you for your review of the Outrigger Reef on the Beach. We know that many people rely on Trip Advisor reviews to find out more about perspective properties so we are thankful that you said that your family loved us and that you also gave some details for our perspective guests.

We offer many different views and categories to fit everyone’s needs and there are many dining options both on property and nearby. Were so glad to hear that you were happy with your room accommodations and that you loved our Shorebird, Ocean House and Kani Ka Pila Grille dining facilities.


Sorry to hear about your cut foot and thanks for the tip about reef walkers. It is a little rocky in some areas but clears up a few yards away.

We hope others are appreciative that you took the time to write a review about the Outrigger Reef on the Beach! We’re glad you did! Hope to see you back again soon.

Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Spent 7 nights in this hotel for our Honeymoon in July 2013.

Service/Accomodation/Restaurants/Location second to none. The buffet style breakfast was delicious and the setting overlooking the beach was mind blowing.

Would highly rate this hotel, with no bad points to share.

A must book hotel

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Anon240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerReefHotel, Manager at Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Aloha Anon240!
Congratulations on your marriage! We are delighted you had a memorable honeymoon!

E mau aku ke aloha pumehana (May your love be everlasting!)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4,159 reviews
Prince Waikiki
#1 of 84 in Honolulu
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Waikiki
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort

Address: 2169 Kalia Rd, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1936
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#6 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#7 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: $237 - $443 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 639
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Splitty, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Reef On The Beach Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Reef Beach
Outrigger Honolulu
Honolulu Outrigger
Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing