We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The beach is still beautiful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort
Ranked #14 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We booked this hotel on friends' advice, and were delighted when we arrived, a 25 min journey from the airport. BIG rooms with good views, excellent value for the price. The one meal we had in the hotel was OK. it was also a little annoying to be bailed up by people who we thought were hotel staff, but turned out to be from a group trying to flog time share type products. These people have there own desk next to the activities people, and it can get a little confusing. The location next to the beach and the rooms make up for these other minor faults.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
9  Thank dkreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,956)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,564 - 2,570 of 5,956 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2013

We have just returned home from having out wedding at the Outrigger Reef and I still can't wipe the smile off my face. Our wedding coordinator Cara went above and beyond our expectations to deliver a magnificent day for my husband and I. The venue was out of this world and the food was to die for. The flowers were just beautiful and all the staff who attended our wedding were so lovely and always more than happy to help us where needed. Everybody at this hotel made our stay so special so thank you! I would have no hesitation in recommending the Outrigger Reef to both stay at and to host your upcoming nuptials!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank SophieThornton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerReefHotel, Manager at Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Aloha Sophie!
Thank you for letting us know that you had the wedding of your dreams here at the Outrigger Reef on the Beach. We also appreciate that you mentioned Cara, as we know that she does go above and beyond to make each wedding special so it was nice that you recognized her for this.
Thank you for sharing your special day with us. We hope to see you back again, maybe for your wedding anniversary. We also have a complementary Hawaiian vow renewal that is very special and memorable. It’s so touching for us to have our honeymooners come back year after year to renew their vows. Congratulations on your marriage and best wishes for a happy life together!

A hui hou!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We booked a last minute trip for 4 days/4 nights and I immediately went to trip advisor for a hotel. I wanted to be on the beach and near plenty of shopping and restaurants! I always consult trip advisor and I selected the hotel based on great reviews. We were NOT disappointed. This hotel was perfect. We had a ocean view room (ocean front was sold out) and it was fabulous. We were facing the sunset side in pacific tower and it was excellent. The grounds, staff, food, service were all great. Not one complaint. The beach is smaller, but that is an issue in Waikiki not the hotel. Perfect concrete trail along beach for morning walks and a park next door. Shopping and restaurants of all prices are on Beach Walk, Lewers and Kalakakaua Ave. I would stay here again in a heartbeat!! We were on 15th of 17 floors and loved the height.

Room Tip: Ocean view is worth the price, but if you want a discount for city view, it is still an excellent vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerReefHotel, Front Office Manager at Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Aloha Susan D,
Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful experience at the Outrigger Reef on the Beach. In booking a last minute trip, we are delighted that you chose to stay with us! We really appreciate the feedback and use it to improve our hospitality and recognize our employees. All of us here at the Outrigger Reef think of our guests as old friends who should not stay away too long, so we hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back for another visit very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We stayed at beginning and end of trip to Hawaii, outstanding service, on both occasions our rooms were fabulous, it is recommended to book oceanfront rooms for the view but the ocean view rooms from 15th floor upwards are very good as well. Hotel facilities and location are very good. Would definitely stay again, have read some reviews and you need to book a room with ocean view otherwise the outlook is very bleak...a wall of other building. Definitely avoid Wyndham company at information desk. On both occasions we arrived early for check in and our rooms were ready but this was unexpected and just made the day run smoothly... This is not always the case with hotels but a bonus

Room Tip: Rooms above 15th floor with ocean view ...Pacific Tower or ocean front but above level 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Stayed at this hotel whilst on honeymoon in Hawaii. The hotel is extremely clean and very modern. It is all open plan and the hotel has no doors. It is right on the beach so can go to the beach or stay by the pool. Our room had a partial ocean view which meant that it looked onto a small part of the ocean and also looked into the hotel next door. It didn't bother me too much as I was out most of the day. Hotel staff were very helpful and friendly. Organised a trip through the hotel also which was excellent .......pearl harbour. If you go to Hawaii you must go to peal harbour.!!!!!! Would stay at the hotel again .

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room ......pay be pricey though!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank LadyLV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

This is my second stay at outrigger reef on the beach. I'd have to say that I'm still very pleased with the service and quality of the hotel, even though it's not a 5 star hotel. My family and I checked into two connecting ocean-view rooms, but they were not exactly ocean view rooms! Our rooms were angled, facing the pool and we could see a tiny bit of the ocean. We called the front desk and it turned out that our rooms were partial ocean view rooms. We were slightly disappointed with the view - I'd say even a city view room would've been nicer than to face the pool. The service was still amazing - all the staffs were really nice and helpful. The rooms are nice and spacious, although the showers are a little small. Overall, I'd recommend this hotel if you are looking for a comfortable stay in Honolulu!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank cocoaflo8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Great & friendly service, right on the water. The most amazing views of the ocean and downtown Waikiki. Close to anything & everything you need. It has 3 different restaurants, just in that hotel (and if your anything like me, it has a Starbucks in the lobby). I highly recommend this hotel for your stay on Oahu.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Mark J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4,126 reviews
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#8 of 84 in Honolulu
2,569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prince Waikiki
#1 of 84 in Honolulu
279 reviews
Waikiki
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort

Address: 2169 Kalia Rd., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1936
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#6 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#7 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: $253 - $451 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 639
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Reef On The Beach Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Reef Beach
Outrigger Honolulu
Honolulu Outrigger
Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing