We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Second Outrigger stay....still wonderful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort
Ranked #10 of 83 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
61 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Second Outrigger stay....still wonderful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Loved this hotel. 8 night stay; wonderful staff, very cheerful and attentive. Room was comfortable , clean, and lovely. Room service is fast and good (especially the bbq pork sliders!)
Great dining options and beach access. Was everything I had hoped for much needed R& R! Hope to come back. Much Aloha here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Em P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,896
    1,680
    385
    113
    69
See reviews for
1,419
2,414
137
168
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,306)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Check-in was very easy and friendly which set the pace for our 10 day family stay at this hotel.
The location is great. Rooms more than adequate and well maintained and clean. We had a partial ocean view room. Try to get a room from about 12th floor upwards. We would certainly return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Choose rooms from about 12th floor upwards for better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RayS123_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerReefHotel, Manager at Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Aloha RayS,
Thank you for your review; we are looking forward to welcoming you back to the Reef!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

This was our 4th visit to this hotel. This time it was our honeymoon! The grounds are always constient! Clean, Great Service, Accomdating, Food is good & its convent to everything!
Because it was our honeymoon they did have a complentry champaign waiting in our room & wished us congradualations several times during our honeymoon!
There are lots of other restaurants near by. Denny's,IHOP, & Mc. Donald's. Depending on your budget!
My only negative review would be the beach. Its noy roomy enough to lay out because of the chairs so get there early and find a spot to lay out.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RuthMarieT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerReefHotel, Manager at Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Aloha RuthMarieT,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and especially for choosing Outrigger Reef! We all appreciate you coming back to the Reef & will continue to try our best to make your stays comfortable and memorable.
THANK YOU!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waiheke Island, New Zealand
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is very clean, the staff extremely friendly and helpful. We were here for a 10 day stay. The pool area fantastic, we loved the restaurants at the front of the hotel food and atmosphere great. Loved the cocktails. We had an ocean view room looking over the pool area and a small sea view was a bit noisy due to I think air conditioning or the fountain down stairs. Would pick an ocean front view next time. Rooms were large for a hotel. Serviced everyday. I would suggest taking teaspoons and perhaps a knife. There is only a plastic stirrer in the room, and paper cups. We like to make a cup of tea and have cereal in our room found it a bit difficult. Overall a great holiday. Weather fantastic. Do the round the island trip with Discover Hawaii Tours just great seeing all the fantastic beaches. Pearl harbour a must do but book early.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Yob10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Valley, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I recently stayed several nights at the Outrigger Reef and was very pleased overall. The hotel grounds, bar,restaurant, outdoor areas and my room were all great. The hotel in general and and my room in particular were very well cared for and very clean. I stayed in an economical "garden view room" and was very pleased to find a very well appointed clean quite room with a lanai and a great view of the swimming pool area. The price was extremely reasonable. In Waikiki you usually have to chose between worn more service hotels that are reasonably priced or very expensive hotels. The Outrigger Reef was a pleasant exception: It had a great location was well cared for and very reasonable. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank wanderingways1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yowie Bay, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

First time in Hawaii, and would definitely recommend this hotel, really convenient and basically right in the middle of Waikiki Beach, rooms clean and well maintained, staff accommodating and even upgraded our original room to include a sofa pullout. Overall experience of all services provided was very good.

Room Tip: If traveling with two children, ask for a larger room as they can be a bit tight after two weeks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Brett1971_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We stayed here for just under 2 weeks and thoroughly enjoyed it, with the exception of the Shorebird restaurant.

The hotel is well maintained, the room was very comfortable, staff very friendly, but we tried the Shorebird twice and found the breakfast to be sub standard for a hotel of this quality and the dinner to be an over priced self cook affair. But there are some great alternatives just a short walk away, so we weren't too bothered.

Internet access is free and a reasonable speed.

All in all we enjoyed our stay here and would most likely return to the same spot.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
9 Thank AlanM59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerReefHotel, Front Office Manager at Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Aloha AlanM,
Our success is measured by how you evaluate our services and facilities. I appreciate your concerns regarding the Shorebird restaurant and will certainly follow-up with the Managers there to ensure they strive to maintain the service level our guests expect and deserve. Judging from the rest of your comments, you appeared to enjoy your stay and we were pleased to see that. We do hope you will have an opportunity to return in the future and look forward to welcoming you back to the Outrigger Reef on the Beach! Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
The Modern Honolulu
#2 of 83 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 stars 3,248 reviews
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#22 of 83 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 stars 3,550 reviews
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#3 of 83 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 stars 2,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort

Property: Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort
Address: 2169 Kalia Rd., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#5 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#6 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#6 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#7 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 639
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Reef On The Beach Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Reef Beach
Outrigger Honolulu
Honolulu Outrigger
Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing