We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“A little taste of luxury” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort
Ranked #10 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Ballina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A little taste of luxury”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

The room was clean, contemporary, and well serviced with a comfortable king bed. A welcome change to most hotels was the vanity being separate from the shower and toilet. Administrative staff were very professional. The partial ocean room view was great in that, although we didn't spend a lot of time in our room, it was lovely to have an evening glass of wine looking at the ocean and overlooking the pool. The pool is the deepest we have ever swum in, so if you can't swim don't go in so you don't end up like the gentleman who required CPR while we were there. Directly downstairs is the poolside bar and restaurant with a different group of singers each night, very pleasant. Because of its smaller size it was consequently quieter than the Shore Bird restaurant situated right on the beach under the hotel. Both restaurants were excellent and conveniently positioned. The hotel has an excellent location on Waikiki Beach, right in the middle of "the action". The beach with an unfortunate rocky bottom, shops and lots of restaurants are all within a very short walk from the elevator. The experience was worth the little extra we had to pay.

Room Tip: The partial ocean room overlooking the pool is a great compromise with price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Bruce B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,977
    1,717
    400
    114
    70
See reviews for
1,483
2,465
142
171
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,340)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Stayed at this hotel in Waikiki - brilliant location. Room clean and quiet, bed very comfy, lovely view, small fridge even supplied. Hotel very clean, staff very friendly and helpful, Large pool in comparison to other hotel pools, lovely clean pool area with loads of sun loungers, plenty of shade available - loved the never ending supply of minted lemon iced water, was allowed to take poolside towels out when we visiting other beaches. Food excellent, do book an oceanside table at the Ocean House restaurant - spent a lovely evening there. Cannot fault this hotel !!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Myrtle2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerReefHotel, Manager at Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Aloha Myrtle2013!
Thank you for choosing Outrigger Reef and your compliments! We are looking forward to your return to Hawaii & the Reef!
Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Since we had our honeymoon in Waikiki in 1987. This was a return trip for our 25th. wedding anniversary in September 2012. This hotel met all our expectations.
Comfortable king size bed, clean and quiet room. Housekeeping very good.
The only glitch was the shorebird bar that could be noisy sometimes late at night. We told management and they had the bar lower the volume. That helped.
Staff and service was fantastic. We had our wedding renewal vows on the beach. Beautiful service.
The hotel offered lessons in hula dance with Luana, you can learn so much from her about Hawaii's history and traditions, it was wonderful to talk to her, we could see how important it was to her,telling us about the history of these beautiful islands .
They also offer painting workshops, how to make leis and other events.

Beautiful room with front ocean view. Gorgeous views. Cannot say enough what a pleasant place to stay. This hotel was absolutely perfect.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank davidson123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerReefHotel, Front Office Manager at Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Aloha,

It is always delightful to read positive comments especially when guest take the time to share their precious moments from their recent visit to our hotel. We do pride ourselves in ensuring our guests the best services that we can provide as we strive for excellence. I am glad to know that you found the beds comfortable & the rooms clean & that you enjoyed the cultural activities. I will be sure to pass on to Luana our Hawaiian Cultural Coordinator your feedback.

We do hope that you choose our hotel as your destination of choice if you plan to visit our islands again. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

This is my third time staying at Outrigger reef on the beach. This time we went in a big group for a wedding and everyone in the group was happy at the hotel. Perfect location, comfy beds, and great service. Will be back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank DS0112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Pay for shuttle to from and to airport...
Pay for beach chair and umbrella...
Pay for parking per night at your own hotel...
Stayed more than 3 nights and paid for all four nights some hotels offer one night free when you book 3 or more...
I cannot recommend this hotel and definitely won't be back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Snow W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerReefHotel, Front Office Manager at Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Aloha,
It is always difficult to respond to negative comments as we do strive for excellence. I will definitely share your feedback with the staff.
Our website does offer many programs & specials that will accommodate our guests’ needs, including 4th night free. Unlike most Waikiki hotels, the Reef does not charge a “Resort Fee”, on the contrary, we offer complimentary Wi Fi and free local and long distance calls to the Mainland and Canada. We also offer a wide range of cultural activities for our guests to enjoy. I am not familiar with any resort on Oahu that provides free shuttle services from the airport to Waikiki nor complimentary beach amenities, as all beaches in Hawaii are public. We always recommend that you view the property or destination of choice ahead of time so the facilities appeal & meet your needs. Mahalo for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We opted for a partial ocean view since we've experienced it before and that was fine. Got upgraded to a larger room with a sofa bed which made it even better. The decor was attractive and relaxing. Appreciated having a small fridge as well. Desk staff and housekeeping were all pleasant and helpful.

Next to the welcome area is a small poolside bar and eating area. On our first day we wanted to celebrate with a mai tai but it was $9. We discovered that further back in the hotel facing the beach was the Shorebirds which offers a Happy Hour price of $3.50 from noon until 5. Our first dinner we ate at the poolside because they have free Hawaiian singers each evening. We were seated in the back area and could not view them so the following evening we asked to reserve a table in the front .

However, their policy is that you cannot reserve a table unless you have 5 or more people. If we came early, though, we could sit anywhere that was open. We did that and enjoyed the music beginning at 6 p.m. but felt that anyone should be able to reserve a place. There are not an abundance of tables so perhaps this policy works best for them.

We ate our final lunch at the Shorebirds because you can reserve a table and we wanted one by the low wall with the beach view. We thoroughly enjoyed it! There is another restaurant as well but we did not have a chance to try it.

Overall, a good stay in an excellent location. Lewers Street a block away has a number of restaurants and shops. It is also close to the International Market Place. We spent one morning at the Army Museum next door. That, too, is worth seeing--and it's free!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank hongkongsue_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerReefHotel, Manager at Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thank you for returning to the Outrigger Reef on the Beach and for commenting that this stay was even better than your first visit. We are fortunate that our poolside bar (Kani Ka Pila Grille) is very popular in the evening due to our Hawaiian entertainment, thank you for returning the next day.
We’re glad that you appreciate our excellent location close to Waikiki Beach Walk on Lewers Street that offer many restaurant and shopping options, in addition to our wonderful selection of shops and dining at the Outrigger Reef on the Beach. And yes, the Army Museum next door is a great and it’s free!



We hope to see you back again soon. Aloha!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Hi, we stayed at the Outrigger Reef in May this year for 9 nights in an oceanfront room and would thoroughly recommend it. Definitely worth the extra for an oceanfront, gorgeous views to wake up to every day and lovely to end the day on the balcony with a drink! The shorebird bar is a great spot to have a drink or two looking over the beach.

Great location, only a few minutes walk into the centre of Waikiki, but you also have Lewers Walk straight outside your door.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank beachloverforever2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#2 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 stars 3,369 reviews
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#21 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 stars 3,716 reviews
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#3 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 stars 2,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort

Property: Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort
Address: 2169 Kalia Rd., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1936
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#5 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#6 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#6 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#7 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 639
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Reef On The Beach Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Reef Beach
Outrigger Honolulu
Honolulu Outrigger
Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing