We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel on the beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort
Ranked #14 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Atlanta
Level Contributor
62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great hotel on the beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

We stayed here for two nights pre-cruise. Check in was a breeze and the staff friendly and eager to see to our comfort. The room we had was clean and the bed was very comfortable. Onsite restaurants were good, nice onsite shops, nice pool/hot tub area with live music in the evenings, and located right on the beaches of Waikiki. Also, Hertz has onsite car rental. Waikiki shopping, restaurants and entertainment were just a block away. We would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: We got a great rate with a city view. However, when we checked in we had been upgraded to a pool vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DLRGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,645 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,191
    1,833
    427
    118
    76
See reviews for
1,606
2,639
153
178
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,437)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Omaha
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

We stayed at the Reef in early April. Check-in takes place seated at the desk which is very nice. The staff at the front desk were cordial and check-in went quickly. The elevators were fast, but you needed to be quick getting onto them before the doors closed. Many people had to risk their limbs to prevent the doors from closing as they started to shut before they could get on. Once you are in the elevator you need to insert your room key and then press the button for your floor or the elevator will not move. The rooms were a good size with the bed, desk and a small couch, along with an empty small fridge. The bed was so comfortable we slept like rocks. We had a partial ocean-view room and were satisfied with the view. The balcony was small, but it fit 2 chairs and a small table. We spent some time each evening before going out to dinner on the balcony listening to the live music coming from the lobby down below.
The pool was a good size, and there were always loungers available any time of day. The pool temp was very cold, but once you got in and started swimming around it became bearable. The service at the pool was slow most days, and you practically had to trip the server to get their attention as they zipped past you on other days. Lunch orders took a long time to be cooked so it is best to order when you start to get hungry, not when you are starving. One strange thing about the pool area is that you cannot hear the music being played in the pool area unless you are under the awning farthest away from the pool in the shade.
This hotel is in a great location. It is beachfront, and is located near Beachwalk which contains many restaurants and shops. It is also near the Royal Hawaiian Shopping Center which has a food court if you need a break on food costs. The only hotel restaurant we ate at during the time we were there was Kani Ka Pila. They have delicious eggs Florentine dish served with potatoes that we would split and it was plenty for the both of us for breakfast. We also often split the grilled vegetable sandwich and fries for lunch. That sandwich was so tasty we had it about 4 different days!
There are no obnoxious resort fees at this hotel like there are in many around it. There is free wifi that always worked well for us, and you can print boarding passes for free in the business office located in the basement. Otherwise there is a fee to use the business office computers. There is a Hertz car rental in the hotel so you can just rent one for days you plan to go out exploring and avoid the car parking fees on days you are staying in Waikiki. The hotel offers hospitality rooms for use after you check out if you have a late flight and they will hold your bags. The hotel was very clean and the cleaning staff were very friendly when you would see them in the hallways.
We really enjoyed our stay at the Reef and miss the tropical breeze that was always flowing through the lobby/pool areas. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Tropicsgirl101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerReefHotel, Front Office Manager at Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
ALOHA!
Quality of service is a goal that we at Outrigger Reef on the Beach continue daily to strive for and we were delighted to receive your positive comments on TripAdvisor! We appreciate your time in writing a review of your stay as we take great pride in our hotel and strive to be outstanding Mea Ho’okipa (Hosts). You can be assured we will share this with all of our departments as there is always room for improvement & we look forward to your return visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

Outrigger was a nice place to stay. The location is convenient and so are the stores in the complex.
Housekeeping were quick and came about the same time every day, though we were in our room on the lania during one time a housekeeper came in and viewed her using a towel to flip dust from benches - which just spread the dust and towel bits everywhere.
The activities centre had plenty of maps and brochures - which I advise you grab what you need and move on quickly. Otherwise you will be stuck in conversation with the activity organises who spend most of the conversation trying to get you to go to time share sessions. They are very insistent and not only work from the activities centre but also on the street not far from the hotel where they ambush you there too. We actually crossed the road to dodge them then crossed back afterwards.
The pool is a little disappointing - it was primarily deep and most people stayed up the shallower end which was a very small area and the wind comes through directly off the street creating a constant cool wind. Poolside service is good though.
The view from the ocean front view rooms are amazing. Swimming at the beach area in front of the hotel is uncomfortable due to the rocks and broken shells, though a quick 5-8 mins towards the main section of Waikiki Beach provides the great swimming conditions.

Room Tip: Book an ocean front view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 13CaseyLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for one week. The front desk staff were always very helpful. The managers also are very friendly and did everything to make our stay as pleasant as possible.The rooms were very clean and spacious. The barbecue style dinner was very fun and healthy.
I will defiantly return to this hotel in I go to Honolulu again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lilosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerReefHotel, Manager at Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are always so delighted when our guests have a great experience. Looking forward to you return. ALOHA!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

It was really a nice stay. The location of the hotel is great, beach-wise and shop-wise as well. The staff of the hotel was friendly. Hotel is nice and clean, we had partial ocean view with the view to the beach and the pool side, with the restaurant and waterfall. If people think its busy or so, than I just recommend to book different island or part of island since Waikiki is supposed to be quite busy and so :). Overall I have nothing bad to say about this hotel, it was really cool. Everything was like its supposed to be.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank megggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerReefHotel, Front Office Manager at Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
It was our pleasure to have you as our guest here at the Outrigger Reef on the Beach and thank you for taking the time to review our property. Our focus is to ensure guest satisfaction and we are pleased that the services we provided were excellent. We would love to have the pleasure of seeing you as a return guest and we look forward to hosting you in the future. Aloha!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here one night on a business trip. Room #310. Greetings at the front desk were cheerful as always and check-in was quick. I have never stayed on a low floor right on the patio level and I expected noise, but there was none. This is one of the most quiet rooms I have stayed in here. The room was spotless as usual. The decor was just right; although the room is not bright and doesn't have a view to speak of, I enjoyed the room. Real coffee pot, plenty of soap and other amenities. Gym on the garage floor is equipped with 2 treadmills, 2 ellipticals and a bike, along with a few benches, a rack of free weights and several machines. Or you can go over to the Hale Koa if you are military. The only thing that marred my usually pleasant stay was the hard sell tactics from the staff of a store named "Orogold" on the lobby level as you walk to the Ocean Tower. They use familiar tactics, offering a sample of a facial moisturizer, but then the hard sell starts if you set foot in the place. Oh brother, I did not like that. Overall, I was pleased with the room and the service. Only one blemish, that awful store.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Nancy33208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

Upon check-in for a one night stay in Waikiki I realized my travel agent had made the reservation for the wrong night and I did not catch the error. I had reserved four rooms for myself and family and this was a very big issue. The reservation was made through a wholesaler and the property could not change the dates. Karee and Gina were super helpful and gave me great guidance on how to correct the problem and made phone calls on my behalf. Within 10 minutes the issue was resolved and I had the four rooms for my family. I can't say enough about the customer service...and the rooms were totally great. The property has a great location and excellent amenities. Be sure to visit the museum next door as well.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Arrrrmondo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#4 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,788 reviews
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#27 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,459 reviews
Waikiki
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort

Property: Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort
Address: 2169 Kalia Rd., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1936
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#6 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#7 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 639
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Reef On The Beach Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Reef Beach
Outrigger Honolulu
Honolulu Outrigger
Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing