We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean hotel, convenient location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort
Ranked #15 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed 5 nights here in March 2013.
we picked this hotel mostly due to the location and tripadvisor reviews, and we were not disappointed. We were 2 adults and 2 kids ages 8 and 10.

nearby places that we visited (within 5-10 minute walk):

Henry's place for fresh fruit, sandwiches and ice cream. Apparently, this place is very popular among Japanese tourists.

Ginza Tonkatsu bairen. The best Japanese tonkatsu we've had.

Ramen Nakamura. Very satisfying ramen for about $10 each bowl, which is cheap for the area.

Roy's restaurant. Very average food at inflated price. We've eaten at several Roy's, and this place, along with the San Diego location, is the worst. Maybe Roy's as a chain is declining.

Marukame udon. Ok, more like a 15-20 min walk, but it's the cheapest meal you can have, at $5 per bowl. Rather plain noodles, nothing exciting. This place is popular I think mostly due to the cheap price.

House without a Key. We ate here for dinner. Average food, inflated price. Not worth it. View is the same as what you can get at our Outrigger hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (6,113)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,892 - 2,898 of 6,113 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2013

We recently stayed here for a 2 night "get back to reality stay" after being on the windward side for 8 days. The hotel is very nicely maintained and kept rigorously clean. We had exceptional help from Fernando at the check in desk. We had an ocean front room on the 2nd floor which during the first night was quite loud due to the folks partying at the restaurant below. Fernando promptly moved us into a corner suite with views to Diamond Head at no extra charge. That small move ensures that I will be back at this hotel again and again. Note - take advantage of the "barefoot" sales if you see them because they are a great deal. Some other things to note are that the beach is indeed a bit rocky as other reviewers have noted but not as much directly in front of the beach - more so to the right of the large stone jetty.

Room Tip: Try to get a higher floor room if you can - the revelers at the restaurant below can get loud at nig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank KMNDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerReefHotel, General Manager at Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Mahalo for the kind words and for allowing us to host you. We have passed on your compliment to Fernando.


Warmest Aloha and A Hui Hou!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We LOVED this hotel! The staff was helpful, accommodating and friendly, the views in the end rooms were great, and the ambiance was delightful. This is a tasteful take on Waikiki-- fun but not too in-your-face. The location is awesome-- ON the beach. (The surf was so close to our room that we had to close the door on the balcony because it was so loud...a nice problem to have!) I heartily recommend this lovely hotel.

Room Tip: Be aware that the rooms at the beach end have a view. The rooms farther back have views of either t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank SacAnnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Everything was great.check-in quick. Staff were very helpful and polite. Our room was wonderful..big king bed with a part ocean view.The beach was great - right out the front of the hotel..we ate at "Duke's" which is a must..Uncle Bo's..Jimmy Buffet. You are in the heart of Waikiki,action,eating and lots and lots of things to do..Will return to this hotel time and time again.The pool is on the small size but who need it when the beach is right there..

Room Tip: We had a big king bed with a partial ocean view on the 5t floor which was great..oversize room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 118Shirley51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed for a week over the busy April school break and had a fantastic time here! Its one of the few hotels actually on Waikiki beach (most are not actually on the beach) and its on the quieter end. NOT to be confused with quiet, but not as crazy as the majority of the beach. I can see why they have alot of repeat customers - they are very friendly there and the accomodations are excellent. There are 3 restaurants on the premises and all are excellent. I recommend the Ocean House for breakfast and The Shoreline for happy hour. We had a delicious dinner at the grille by the pool while enjoying Hawaiin musicians - there is live music everyday 6-9pm. Our room was on the 15th floor with an ocean view - loved it! We could hear the live music up there but it was nice background music, not loud or intrusive.

Room Tip: We bought beach chairs and used them on the hotel beach and the other various Oahu beaches we went t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank meco871
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Everything was wonderful. Check-in was quick, and easy, our room was nice, view was OK, and staff were helpful and polite.
I was a little disappointed in the beach, it was very small, I pictured it much larger, but it was fine.
We ate in each of the restaurants for breakfast and had a few issues, the buffet was stock with a lot of ehh items, and the items with substance (eggs, bacon. potatoes) were few. On the morning we ate at the buffet I waited in line for 15 min. and finally get to the substance part and it was completely empty, no eggs, no bacon, no potatoes, and no sausage. The people around me all waited for a few min. but nothing was brought out. I sat and decided I'd eat my fruit and then go up again. Guess what??? What are the chances??? I waited another 15 min. and the same thing happened again! I figured out that the trays that they were using were made for buffets for 20 people or so, too bad there were about 60 on line at all times. I got some yogurt and sat down and left hungry.
Another breakfast I found some hair in my waffles at a different place, and in that same place they ran out of items.
So, my only complaint about the hotel is the restaurants.
We needed a late check out and they were more than accommodating.
I think the hotel is located in a good spot and is fairly quiet.
I would definitely recommend this hotel to travelers.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank sugarmag13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

We stayed in this hotel from 25 February to 8 March in a room overlooking Waikiki (room 425). Warm and very friendly welcome at the reception. In no time we could enjoy the beauty of a remodeled room and the view over Waikiki Beach. Everything was perfect. As in the past, we will certainly return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Makkitje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4,247 reviews
Prince Waikiki
#1 of 84 in Honolulu
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort

Address: 2169 Kalia Rd, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1936
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#6 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#7 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: $257 - $437 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 639
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Reef On The Beach Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Reef Beach
Outrigger Honolulu
Honolulu Outrigger
Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing