We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“outrigger on the beach honolulu”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort
Ranked #14 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed March 15, 2013

This hotel was awesome i would like to highly recommend it.The room on the 9th floor partial ocean view could see beach. The beds are great and the pillows Air conditioning,has a very good fitness centre ,service is very good, Waikiki Beach at your door step,close to all shops bell boys ( or bell men) are so friendly,rooms are clean,i would stay at this hotel again as its so close to everything.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank 39missy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,957)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,809 - 2,815 of 5,959 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2013

I've found this place thru Trip Advisor and glad I booked this place. We stayed from 3/6 - 3/11.

We stayed at room 844 (1 king bed partial ocean view) and this is located right in front of the elevator ( I didn't mind at all).
Shower - pretty powerful it really hurts (no kidding seriously the water pressure is high). I didn't complain about it because it helps me clean my hair :D
Mini Fridge - nice to have for drinks
Coffee Maker - used only once lol there is a starbucks on the property and it opens at 4:30am
TV -32" screen and not digital :(
Drawers - spacious
Closet - Spacious
Carpet - very clean :)
Bed - comfortable with 5 pillows!
Lounge chair - cool one
AC - works great
Elevator - must insert your room card key to use
Location - great for everything including public transportaions (we used buses a lot $2.50 per and dont forget to get the transfer ticket from the driver.)
Oh BTW, there is no iphone charge station... pls bring your own cell phone chargers!

our 2nd night til end of our trip was a disaster from room 845 :( young Japanese kids started singing, yelling, talking hella loud and we woke up every night at 1:20AM because of them. Complained 2 nights straights security took care of the situations but they never stopped banging the door and ice machine doors in the hall way :( that was their way of getting back at us on the 3rd night) Wish hotel personnel moved us to different room but oh wells.
The wall is THIN... I can hear them walking... chatting... etc.

The beach is right in front of the hotel. I liked it. Visited both restaurant on the different nights - service is wonderful :D When the waiter spilled my wine by accident, he bought me more even though I didn't ask at all (It was a very tiny spill but THANK YOU sir)

I think this property is good for everyone. If we are coming back, I would LOVE to stay here again. Thank you AAA for the wonderful savings :)

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Aya M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Stayed here in September 2012 for 5 nights.
Rooms are not 5 star luxury but are a good size, clean and great value for money for a hotel right in Waikiki Beach. All the action in Waikiki is right on your doorstep and there is a Starbucks on site which I think opens at 5am. Also buses to the AlaMoana Centre are only a 2 minute walk away. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank themeigans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I have just come back from Waikiki where my sisters and myself had a wonderful time, the location was fantastic.The oceanfront room on the 10th floor was spectacular.
The staff were pleasant and helpful.There was one small incident in the Hula grill one night with a waiter, but the manager was able to deal with it promptly and to everyones satisfaction.I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank MaggieC56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We vacationed with extended family so we actually had 3 rooms reserved for 9 people. Each & everyone of us were very pleased with the hotel. We were on the 3rd floor in a corner room (335 I think) & the view was of the valet roof & the Trump hotel so not the greatest but we weren't paying for it either. The room was VERY large though for 4 of us so that was great! It is also VERY noisy in the morning so if you like to sleep in, ask for a different location. Housekeeping was the BEST & the room was VERY clean! The time share people did get a little annoying but we just blew them off. The elevators were very fast however 2 of the 3 elevators broke one evening but I think they were only down for a couple of hours.
Overall for the price we woud ALL stay here again!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NorthDakotaBound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed here in January 2013 and loved it. The service for such a large hotel was really very good. Having Dukes in the hotel was a bonus. The proximity to everything such as beach, shops and restaurants was a great. We loved staying at the Outrigger Reef on the Beach and hope to return one day soon.

Room Tip: Request Ocean Front rooms. These have lovely views and will make your stay memorable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lovetoholiday17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed here from March 2nd - 4th at the begining of our trip in Hawai'i. Our room was nice enough and the hotel had a great location near the beach with a wonderful pool area and two nice outdoor bars. Essentially I would clasiffy this as an upscale hotel in a good location but one thing happened that we prevent me from ever coming back here or recommending this place.
On my second night here I approached the concierge to ask for some basic info about Pearl Harbor. The desk was titled "concierge" but little did I know that these were just some people who were there to insult the customer and barrage you about Wyndham. How did they insult me? The staff insulted my intelligence by telling me I needed to book a ticket a week in advance if I wanted to go to Pearl Harbor or show up at 5am. I quickly looked this up on my phone and was able to reserve tickets for the next day right then and there. I.E - These concierges are getting paid, yet they were not willing to help me. Instead they proceeded to harass me to go to a Wyndham breakfast the next morning instead of Pearl Harbor. Are you for serious? I was dissapointed with this - having a hospitality background - how UN-helpful they were. They caused me unnecessary stress during my vacation - and for that reason, I would not recommend the property.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ecg129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4,129 reviews
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#8 of 84 in Honolulu
2,569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prince Waikiki
#1 of 84 in Honolulu
279 reviews
Waikiki
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort

Address: 2169 Kalia Rd., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1936
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#6 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#7 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: $248 - $452 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 639
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Reef On The Beach Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Reef Beach
Outrigger Honolulu
Honolulu Outrigger
Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing