We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Going to Honolulu?” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort
Ranked #12 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Newbury Park, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Going to Honolulu?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Can't go wrong with this choice. Lots of restaurants, nice rooms, world class beach, great service. Roys restaurant is across the street and the hotel itself has a cook your own steak restaurant that is alot of fun

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TonyTheDrummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,590 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,152
    1,819
    424
    118
    77
See reviews for
1,587
2,614
152
178
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,417)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

I am writing this review late where today is 2/25/2013 although I was a short resident in Honolulu, HI on 11/7/2012-11/13/2012 at the beautiful resort of Outrigger Reef on the Beach. Outrigger Reef was not my first choice but was Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. Why? At the time of booking, the package suddenly increased while I noticed Outrigger Reef decreased significantly. I couldn't let a deal slip by so we grabbed it. I already new both Outriggers (noted earlier) have excellent rating so it was a win-win situation for us.

As we entered the hotel, the bell-mans' took our luggage and we were escorted to the registration desk. No lines...sat at an executive looking desk...by the way, all the registrations desks looks like this. Check in was no more than 5 minutes. I have to note that once we got out of the cab to enter the hotel, all you can feel is ocean breeze. Even when we were INSIDE the building, which was an open lobby area..no walls (better understood if you see it yourself) if felt ocean breeze. Even when checking with at the registration desk...ocean breeze! Can you believe it! As I'm writing this I can still feel and smell the wonderful heavenly atmosphere.

As you walked in, you notice Starbucks, jewelry stores, restaurant, pool and lounge area before you even get to check in. It was alot to take in but amazing. The one thing I noticed immediately was it was very busy...alot of people were around.

So we checked in, got our keys and headed up to our room. By the time we walked in our room, we were delivered out luggage and given an overview about our room, amenities and services offered. EXCELLENT!

Our room was the CITY view. The view was of a park and then skyrise buildings and then behind those buildings were mountains. WOOOW! Although we didn't have an ocean view, the view we had was just simply breathtaking! You still felt the ocean breeze and somber quietness. AHhhhhhhhh!!!!!

ROOM: The room was absolutely spacious. 2 queen beds with lots of pillows. Several stations including premium channels. A mini fridge was available as well as a safe for personal items. Sold doors for the bathrooms and spacious tubs. Excellent water pressure for the shower. Room came with a balcony with a table with 2 chairs to soak in the view as you had your morning tea/coffee. A tiny view the ocean but nothing to brag about...my view was of the city which I loved! Room itself was big enough from the door to the balcony that you can do 4-5 cartwheels without breaking anything...that's how big and spacious the room was.

BEACH: As all the TRIPADVISORS loyal reviewers mentioned, YES, you need beach shoes to walk on the resorts' beach. It was so rocky and uncomfortable that I never walked barefooted. The beach had a peer that you can walk on...it will give you a fantastic view of the shorelines of Waikiki, the other hotels such as Sheraton, Outrigger Waikiki, Royal Hawaiian as well as others including DIAMOND HEAD (a mountain -- hidden bunker for the army). We ended walking to the beaches on either side of Outrigger Reef which I might add way better.
---SIDE NOTE: Outrigger Waikiki Beach was always super super crowded!

RESTAURANT: There were a few restaurants...Kani Ka Pila Grille, Shore Bird and I believe a restaurant called Ocean House. Ocean House was very pricey ranging meals between $30-50 while Shore Bird was a buffet style restaurant priced between $15-30 on meals. Shore Bird had a wide array foods which were all fantastic! Kani Ka Pila Grille was a great place with outdoor entertainment and they will deliver your order to your room which was great too!
---SIDE NOTE: Outrigger Waikiki Beach Duke restaurant we also went to. My friend and I both had issues with them placing charges on our credit cards....her card declined mentioning expired expiration date when we clearly saw the card was not expired and my card was authorized 3 times pulling away from my available balance on my card. Why did that happen....I don't even know???

TIMESHARE: These representatives were all over the place enticing you with deals and offers. By the way, I HATE TIMESHARE PRESENTATIONS! We ended up doing a timeshare presentation only because we got $100 off our purchased excursions.

ABC STORES: If you want some snacks, supplies and don't want to pay the pricey resort prices for these items, go to any ABC store. Don't worry, there is 1-2 of these stores on each block. You will get regularly priced items from band aids, chips, towels, frames, cameras, battery, cigs, gums, sandwiches, etc. The best ABC store is by EMBASSY suites, literally a 3-5 minute leisurely walk from the front lobby of Outrigger.

Hopefully this review helps in making your decision on your desired hotel!

PS -- I will be going back to Hawaii hopefully this year staying at the Outrigger Luana Waikiki!

Helpful?
6 Thank Myblueskiez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
63 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed here just over a week on a business trip. Hotel had 3 dining areas and each had good food but was a bit on the pricy side. They also have a desk to setup excursions for you which I used to arrange a diving with the sharks trip that was very good.

Rooms were a good size and clean, had coffee makers, and plenty of clean towels. I plan on staying here again on my next trip.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RichieUT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

Quiet luxury! Room large, quiet, housekeeping 2nd to none. The pool area very inviting wih lots of loungers to choose from. A great location as it is at the end of the "strip"; far quieter than the Outrigger on the Beach.
Three restaurants to choose from. We ate in two and had no complaints. Happy Hour 12 - 5 each day at the Shorebird; $3.50 for Mai Tai's; $3.50 for a sleeve of corona and the bartender did not stint on the alcohol in the Mai Tai.
Great listening music just off the lobby every night 6 - 9 pm. Enviting chairs and sofas to just sit and listen.
Would we stay again? In a heart beat.

Room Tip: 2nd floor city side rooms 202, to I think 210. Wonderful personal patio. easy access to pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mewpaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

We checked out at noon but did not fly until midnight. The hotel held our bags all day and provided a courtesy room that night, long after check out, for changing our clothes to fly back to the mainland.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Bill J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bigfork, Montana
Level Contributor
32 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

We've visited Hawaii 3 times and stayed on 4 islands. On Waikikli beach we've stayed in 2 other hotels and neither compare to the Outrigger Reef. Best breakfast buffet ever. Dinner is also great in any of the 3 dining areas in the hotel. Large pool and 3 hot tubs. Rooms are newly decorated and very comfortable and the staff through out the hotel are very gracious and friendly. Not a bad review anywhere.

Room Tip: Ocean view is beautiful and even the pool side the view is good and have some ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peg P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

We have stayed on Waikiki Beach several times and this is the best hotel and location. I believe this is the closest one to the beach. We have stayed at other hotels and regretted we didn't come back to the Outrigger. Step out the back of the hotel and you are on the beach. This is our favorite place to stay. Once you stay here you are spoiled and other hotels don't compare. They have gone through renovations in the last few years and results are great. Room was spacious and the bathroom had a bathtub/shower combination. The restaurants are great, but they do get crowded. You are within walking distance to shopping and restaurants. A newly renovated Lewers Street area is great -- short walk from the hotel. Don't forget to go to the ABC stores. They have just about anything you need or forgot to bring.

Room Tip: We had an ocean front room and we watched the beautiful sunsets every night from our lanai. We also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank CABeachlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#4 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,731 reviews
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#26 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,438 reviews
Waikiki
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort

Property: Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort
Address: 2169 Kalia Rd., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1936
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#6 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#7 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#7 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 639
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelsforEveryone, Jetsetter, Agoda, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Reef On The Beach Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Reef Beach
Outrigger Honolulu
Honolulu Outrigger
Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing