We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, good value , close to everything”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort
Ranked #14 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Great hotel on the beach, with large wide beach next door at park, great WIFI., good food.Great breakfast buffet, the early bargain dinner at Seabird restaurant (which is not owned by the hotel) is a grat deal but you have to cook your own meat. Location is fantastic for other eateries nearby, shopping etc. WIFI free and strong everywhere. No resort fee is a bonus.

Room Tip: Seaview is a bit questionable from a lot of rooms. Pay for oceanfront if you really want to sea it...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lazybeachboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,910)
There are newer reviews for Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,817 - 2,823 of 5,911 reviews

Reviewed February 14, 2013

Booked an overnight stay here, not realising there are 2 Outrigger Hotels on Waikiki beach. Assumed from the description it had a sea view, this was only if you hang out over the balcony and looked sideways. It was also a huge hotel, almost a shopping mall. Tried to have a cocktail at sunset - about 16.30 - at the beach bar, only to be told we could take any table at the back, nowhere near the beach or sunset as the other tables were all booked. Went to another hotel.
It was far too busy with people nothing to do with the hotel wandering around the foyer.
Rooms were a good size and comfortable.

Room Tip: Check carefully the situation of the hotel. It is hard to choose your room but ask at Reception, qu...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank magwaqone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is in a fantastic location. Literally on the beach. Shore Bird is delicious, definitely go there for lunch. The rooms were spotless and very roomy I found, and we travelled with our 2 toddler boys (2&4) and we only had a room with 2 double beds. Plenty of room. Staff were extremely helpful and friendly. Also very handy having Starbucks within the hotel. Extremely handy early in the morning! Also loved the convenience store downstairs too. Large coin laundry in the basement, great added bonus when travelling with little kids. The only negative I could find, which only really applies to families with little kids, the pool doesn't have a shallow end for little toddlers, so we lived on the beach or up at the lagoon near the Hilton Hawaiian Village. And the pool was also freezing. Just keep that in mind. Other than that, well done Outrigger Reef!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Alissia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

We had a great time during our stay at the Outrigger Reef on the Beach during the 2013 Chinese New Year vacation.

The location is just perfect: the Hotel is directly on the beach (you literally walk from the Hotel onto the beach, cannot be closer) of Waikiki with great weather and calm seas. And after a day on the beach it is only a 10 min walk to the main boulevard with exclusive shops and many restaurants. The Hardrock cafe is within 5 min walking distance (which is quite convenient after a few cocktails ;-)). We also liked it that the Hotel was at the end of the line of Hotels on the beach, that made it a bit more quiet around its beach.

They Hotel has 3 restaurants for breakfast, lunch and dinner which left us with plenty choice. The Hotel also has many amenities such as a pool, gym and shops. I tried the gym and found it very complete, clean with all equipment in good working condition.

The staff was very friendly throughout our stay. For instance when we arrived and our room was not ready yet (we arrived at 9am and official checking time is not until 3pm), and the Hotel staff provided us with a temporary room for 30 min so we could change and get a shower to freshen up. You can also book excursions or rent a car through the activities desk in the Hotel. The room was clean, spacious and offered partial ocean view as promised. The room style is a bit outdated perhaps.

If we ever make it back to Hawaii then the Outrigger Reef on the beach Hotel will be our first choice!

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
5  Thank Cowboy666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Not an awful hotel , although first thing they did was try to get us on some time share deal - I was not impressed!! Location is great but after spending time at Lava Lava Beach Club on Big Island, I am glad we are only here for a couple of days, enough for a dinner cruise and Pearl Harbour tour. Staff are great (apart from Time Share Girl) - just depends what you are looking for. Me? I prefer laid back peace & quiet! But unless you go, you'll never know!!!! And we have to go home via Honolulu so why not make the most of it.

Room Tip: Ocean View - well yes but over dirty roof tops and there's not much room on balcony. Pool is qui...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 955JulieG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

My brother and I enjoyed our first visit to Hawaii January 20-31, 2013. We stayed at the Outrigger Reef On The Beach. Our partial ocean view room on the 14th floor was very nice. Sue, our housekeeper did a great job of taking care of our room and was quite personable. We enjoyed the on site restaurants and had a lot of fun grilling our own steak on our last night at the Shore Bird. I have absolutely nothing negative to say about the Outrigger Reef on the Beach and would definitely stay there again. The whole trip was great!

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
6  Thank Garyg49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Stayed for 7 nights at the outrigger. The atmosphere of the hotel was very relaxed. All the staff were helpful and polite. It is literally steps from the beach with amazing views. Really lovely stay and would definitely come back.

Room Tip: We had a partial ocean view room and ocean view room, not that much difference in terms of the view...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Michelle0501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#6 of 84 in Honolulu
4,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#27 of 84 in Honolulu
4,448 reviews
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#8 of 84 in Honolulu
2,556 reviews
Waikiki
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort

Address: 2169 Kalia Rd., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1936
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#6 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#6 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#7 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: $244 - $459 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 639
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsforEveryone and Evoline ltd so you can book your Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Reef On The Beach Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Reef Beach
Outrigger Honolulu
Honolulu Outrigger
Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing