We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Great Experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort
Ranked #12 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A Great Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

My brother and I enjoyed our first visit to Hawaii January 20-31, 2013. We stayed at the Outrigger Reef On The Beach. Our partial ocean view room on the 14th floor was very nice. Sue, our housekeeper did a great job of taking care of our room and was quite personable. We enjoyed the on site restaurants and had a lot of fun grilling our own steak on our last night at the Shore Bird. I have absolutely nothing negative to say about the Outrigger Reef on the Beach and would definitely stay there again. The whole trip was great!

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank Garyg49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,591 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,152
    1,820
    424
    118
    77
See reviews for
1,588
2,614
152
178
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,417)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

Stayed for 7 nights at the outrigger. The atmosphere of the hotel was very relaxed. All the staff were helpful and polite. It is literally steps from the beach with amazing views. Really lovely stay and would definitely come back.

Room Tip: We had a partial ocean view room and ocean view room, not that much difference in terms of the view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michelle0501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

Alot of hotels in Waikiki don't have direct access to the beach. This hotel is ON the beach. You walk down 5 steps from the hotel & you are on the sandy beach. This beach is nice and sandy not like the beaches on the Big Island.

The rooms are spacious and clean and best of all free wifi AND free long distance calling anywhere in North America! I was there for Superbowl weekend and it was busy but the wait staff in the restaurant were excellent.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Sandybeaches56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

I stay in Waikiki often and have stayed at many of the big chains here (Hilton, Prince, Sheraton, Moana, Ala Moana) and the Outrigger Reef is my favorite.

Pros: The rooms are nicer with free wifi. Clean. Great location. Great breakfast in the pool bar area. Starbucks on site. Music at the bar in the evenings is nice.

Cons: no free newspaper and valet service is spotty. When I pulled in at 4am after long flight with a 16 month old, no one was there to help me with car or luggage and twice since then I have pulled in and there was no one available to take my keys/car. Pool is on the small side. I stay here all of the time but there is no loyalty program.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
19 Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
84 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

This hotel is located right on the beach of Waikiki and my wife and I have stayed there many times. Every room that we have had has been wonderful, even the no view rooms, which you can still see the beach a little. All rooms were top of the line, service was awesome both with room service, staff at the counters, and even the parking guys. All have always been extremely helpful with suggestions, travel tips, directions, activities, etc. The Shore Bird restaurant is nice, love the views there and atmosphere. Music at night at the pool has always been great. The pool is one of the largest in Waikiki and is available into the late evening. Very short walk to Beach Walk which as lots of great places to visit. Ruth Chris is really good we always love breakfast at Denny's which is very near the hotel, but if you want family fun you got to go to Senior Frog. Highly recommend the Outrigger Reef on the Beach because of staff, rooms and beach.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
14 Thank lec0257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Center, Iowa
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

We stayed at the Outrigger Reef the first week of December 2012. Everything about the hotel was awesome. We loved the Shorebirds Restaurant, the beach was fantastic. This was our first time to Hawaii, was a great way to experience our first time there. We stayed on the 6th floor with a view of the pool. We could also see the ocean. We didn't rent a car, just walk around and did tours. Other than the business of the city, we loved it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Bonnie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

Our money and camera was stolen out of our room by the cleaning staff!
All our pictures are gone! The money was significant as well, but the camera was priceless.
They better make this right, they have a log of who is cleaning what room, we were only gone for breakfast so we left the camera by the TV.

I EVEN TIPPED THE GIRL MYSELF THE OTHER DAY!

NEVER AGAIN!

Room Tip: we were in an ocean front room on the 8th floor
See more room tips
Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
19 Thank luffslabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#4 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,734 reviews
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#26 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,440 reviews
Waikiki
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort

Property: Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort
Address: 2169 Kalia Rd., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1936
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#6 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#6 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#7 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#7 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 639
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelsforEveryone, Jetsetter, Agoda, HotelsClick, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Reef On The Beach Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Reef Beach
Outrigger Honolulu
Honolulu Outrigger
Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing