We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't go wrong”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort
Ranked #14 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Couldn't go wrong”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We stayed at the Outrigger Reef on the Beach in a Partial Ocean View room for two nights in December 2012. Having stayed at the Sheraton and Hilton on previous trips we were a bit wary of the $209 partial ocean view room, but as we were mostly shopping, we gave it a go. Bottom line we were impressed. The rooms were good, be prepared for dark wood, Polynesian style, the bathroom is good and the room size was on the larger size than many, good for 2 adults and 2 kids (early teens). The two double beds were fine, not great, but not bad either.
The service was good, but not special, but no problems. We ate at the buffet breakfast downstairs right on the beach, literally almost on the sand, which was an A+ for location, B for food.
The overall location is very good, just a little further up the beach than the Sheraton, which is the centre on Waikiki, but a short distance to everything. Hertz has an office in the hotel which is very convenient. We didn't use the pool, it looked fine, but smaller than I would consider a 'resort' pool should be.
Yes I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank TmanSydney_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,840 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,299
    1,886
    443
    130
    82
See reviews for
1,688
2,723
157
185
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,481)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We have stayed at the Sheraton and Moana Surfrider on previous trips to Waikiki. We can not come up with any reason why the Outrigger Reef on the Beach is priced so much better compared to the others. The hotel is clean, recently renovated, and the Beach is perfect. Far fewer people on the beach versus the main beach between the Sheraton and Moana, and you have access to the same beach amenities. Access to shopping and dining is perfect. The hotel is located directly across from The Waikiki Beach Walk shops and the Royal Hawaiian Center. Hotel is under rated in our opinion. Beach directly in front looks small, but that is actually a positive. Between the hotel beach an tr Hilton there is a much larger stretch of beach with calmer waters and again, a lot fewer people than on the main Waikiki beach. Great hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Exmetsoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

Had a great 3 night stay at The Outrigger Reef in early December. Hotel has all the amenities, is great value and the staff are really friendly. Earlier posts made about the swimming pool being too small don't add up, the pool is large as are the 2 spa's. There were never more than 5 people in it at one time so how big does it need to be? The only slightly negative remark I will make is that The Shorebird restaurant breakfast buffet was poor, we switched to the Ocean restaurant and it was great. Overall this hotel is great value and I would definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank HamishKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2012

We stayed at the Outrigger Reef for Christmas. Good location on Waikiki, close to shops and the main drag. Newly updated hotel! Clean rooms and great service. Hotel staff friendly and accommodating. Bonus...the Starbucks onsite pleased the whole family. Only drawback was no rooms with two queen sized beds. Only kings and doubles.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank hschmidt67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney,Australia
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2012

We stayed here for six nights in December. The porters on arrival were excellent. We arrived with a rental car and the porter told us exactly where to take the car to return it and took care of the luggage straight away.

We wanted to see the ocean from the room so booked an ocean-view room. We were allocated an ocean view room in the Pacific Tower. I knew from the reviews that the partial ocean view rooms only had a view from the balcony, but I thought that if we paid the extra for the ocean view we would see the ocean. This is not the case. So I have no idea what the difference is between partial ocean view and ocean view except the price.

So on arrival into our ocean view room, I wasn't happy, so I called the desk and was told I would need to upgrade to an ocean front room if I want to see the ocean from the room. So we paid the extra and upgraded. We were allocated room 619 of the Ocean Tower. The view from the ocean front room was beautiful as you would expect. Great view of the gorgeous sunsets and we left the doors open of a night to hear the ocean which was really nice. Unfortunately every morning at around 4am a couple of people (possibly staff) decided to have a loud conversation on the beachfront right below our room.

The rooms in the hotel are very nice, in excellent condition, with good sized bathrooms (shower is over the bath), in a good location.

The lobby is lovely, the staff are friendly.

Our room wasn't serviced on one of the days, so I called the front desk and they sent someone to service the room.

The pool was absolutely freezing. I was really looking forward to having a swim, but it was just too cold. However there is a very hot spa pool. The pool service is good, with staff offering bar service.

The restaurants in the hotel were good. I have reviewed them separately.

Room Tip: Don't pay extra for an ocean view over a partial ocean view - they are the same thing. I wouldn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank dulcieb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moses Lake, Washington, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2012

What a nice vacation destination. We booked a hotel that ended up being a dump. Walked into this place and they hooked us up with a room at a decent price and were quick about doing it. It is right on the beach and has it all.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Gary291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Outrigger Reef on the Beach is a fantastic place to stay in Waikiki. The location is great, its on the beach and close to many restaurants and shops. Yes, the beach directly infront of the hotel is a bit rocky but you only need to walk a couple of minutes in either direction to find soft sand. We had an awesome room on the 16th floor which had two balconies, one small lanai facing the city and mountains and the other was large with ocean views. Check in was quick and easy and we were lucky that our room was ready for us. The housekeeper, Shun Rye, was just lovely and very helpful. She would greet us every morning with a lovely smile and a little chat. The timeshare staff didn't really bother us, we were aware of them so we made sure we didn't get too close to them. The spa (jacuzzi) next to the pool was a great way to relax at the end of the day. We ate at only one of the onsite restaurants, at the Kane Ka Pila Grill, which was fantastic and we enjoyed listening to the entertainment they provided every night. During our stay the only small problem we had, and this was no big deal, was that when checking out we were charged for 3 nights valet parking instead of just 1 night, but this was adjusted immediately. This was our second stay at Outrigger Reef in the last two years and both stays have been wonderful. We will definitely stay here again on our next visit! Can't wait!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Walker4_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4,019 reviews
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#27 of 84 in Honolulu
4,398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort

Property: Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort
Address: 2169 Kalia Rd., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1936
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#6 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#7 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 639
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Reef On The Beach Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Reef Beach
Outrigger Honolulu
Honolulu Outrigger
Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing