We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location good staff and great service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort
Ranked #15 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed December 19, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our 7 night stay at the Outrigger. We stayed in a partial ocean view room and had very good views.We stayed as three adults and the room was adequate in size.
The staff were excellent and we really felt right st home. A very comfortable stay. The pool area was relaxing, quiet and well served. We ate in the hotel restuarents and emjoyed each meal.

Room Tip: The partial ocean view rooms might provide ocean views at a reasonable price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Markearns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (6,021)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,005 - 3,011 of 6,021 reviews

Reviewed December 18, 2012

Great hotel, staff here where the best. breakfast buffet was nice. everything in Waikiki was close for walking too. nice big pool. you can set up tours there at the tour desk, but watch out will try to set you up with them timeshare scams. we used Robert's hawaii shuttle from airport right to hotel and back, was great and fast just $40 round trip for the two of us online.

Room Tip: we dis not have sea view, but view was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank andyinflag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

I stayed there for five days in July. It is in a great location! 2 minute walk to the heart of town. Near all the great restaurants and its beautiful! I had no problems at all with the service there. The rooms were pretty but nothing amazing. The beach is a bit small but was very nice. The pool is great with the kids too. Everyday they have their free "aloha program". Everyday they have different activities planed in the middle of the lobby. I went everyday and got to make a kukui bracelet, got my Hawaiian name, made lei's, had a ukulele lesson and even had a hula lesson! The woman who runs the program is great! I wish I stayed at this hotel longer

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Glittergal412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

This hotel is all they promised and more. And you don't have to buy an ocean front room to get the feel of ocean front. We got a partial view room in the Ocean Tower section of the hotel and had a great view of the beach... from a distance but still a view of the water. We could see all of the courtyard area with a SALT WATER POOL. There is a full restaurant in the courtyard beside the pool with live Hawaiian music every evening. We sat on our balcony with a glass of wine and really enjoyed the ambiance. The pool restaurant will do room service to charge to your room. There are 2 other restaurants in the lobby that do not. Our favorite of those was the Ocean House, where we got the absolutely best scollops we'd ever had. Pepper Seared scollops, you have to try them.
Housekeeping was the best I've ever seen. The girl was fast and very attentive. They have a work out room, a laundromat (if I'd known that I wouldn't have packed so much, lol). Plenty of shops in the lobby, one of which was a very good convenience store. Walking distance from the ABC store, bars and the Beach Walk shopping area. A concierge desk right in the lobby who will book any tour you want, most of which pick you up right in front of the hotel.
We really enjoyed our stay at the Outrigger Reef. Hope your experience is as good as ours.

Room Tip: Ocean Tower is the section to go with, and Partial View is just as good for a lot less.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JudiW602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012

We just finished our second stay at this property and continue to be amazed at how much we love it. From the beautiful views (the extra cost for an "Ocean Front" is well worth it) , to the 3 onsite restaurants, to being able to walk straight out of the hotel onto the beach, staying at this hotel is what a stay on Waikiki should be. The Shorebird offers a great breakfast buffet to get your day started and the Ocean House is just the place to end the day with an excellent "early bird special" prime rib dinner for only $21.95! The property is within very easy walking distance of many other great eating and shopping experiences in the heart of Waikiki. The onsite concierge desk can set you up with all the island activities you may desire. Request an "Ocean Front" room on the Diamond Head side if you want spectacular views of the sunrise over Diamond Head!

We are already planning our next stay at the Outrigger Reef on the Beach!

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
7  Thank elc2414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012

Had a 2 night stay here at the Outrigger Reef on the Beach in an Oceanfront Queen room on the 9th floor. This was our first ever trip to Oahu/Hawaii and so we were extremely excited to be here. We loved how open the lobby area was. Being sat at the check in area with a lovely breeze coming through from outside was something we'd never experienced before. It was truly a great start to our time here. Check in was also completed in about 3 minutes.

The view out to sea and towards Diamond Head was amazing, and the little table and 2 chairs on the balcony was a great addition which we took advantage of lots. It was very relaxing to sit there with a drink or a room service meal (which were generally delivered quite quickly, and the portions were pretty big) and look out to sea.

As you can see from the photo, we were visited pretty regularly by birds which was a nice treat! Be careful though, these guys tend to have a wander into your room if you leave the balcony doors open!!

We were due to stay 3 nights but had to cut the stay short and the front desk were very accommodating with this, and there were no problems at all with our request.

We would certainly choose this hotel again on any repeat visit to Oahu. Thank you!

Room Tip: The Oceanfront rooms are well worth the extra price for the amazing view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DarrellB-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2012

This hotel clearly does not care about customer service and practises in false advertising.
Do not book an ocean view room until you see it first. Do not expect anyonwe to be able to help you if you have a problem, they fob you off and are ruse about it as well.
There are plenty off places to stay so you would think they would be going out of their way to make your stay an enjoyable one, not the case.
I decided against extending my stay here and luckiy for me I only booked a few days to start with and was able to stay elsewhere for the rest oif the stay, I was a bit worried about some of the reviews which is why I only booked a few days, seems it was a smart move on my end.

When you travel such a long way and time is so hard to get off work you dont mind pyaing extra for great service but I detest paying good money for rudeness, excuses and misleading advertisng

Room Tip: only book a night or 2 first to see what sort of room you get and what sort of mood the staff are in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank lovetotravel_4075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4,182 reviews
Prince Waikiki
#1 of 84 in Honolulu
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Waikiki
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort

Address: 2169 Kalia Rd, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1936
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#6 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#7 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: $241 - $494 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 639
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Reef On The Beach Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Reef Beach
Outrigger Honolulu
Honolulu Outrigger
Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing