We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“This is a first rate property with first rate service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort to your Saves list
Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2169 Kalia Rd., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Best Available Rate
Ranked #10 of 83 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“This is a first rate property with first rate service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

The hotel has had a recent $100+ Million renovation. All areas: the lobby, the rooms, the hallways, the pools, the restaurants, etc. all reflect it. The staff were extremely knowledgeable and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank denverjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerReefHotel, Manager at Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you Dan for your 5 star review!
ALOHA!
~Your Outrigger Reef Ohana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,893
    1,673
    384
    113
    69
See reviews for
1,414
2,411
136
168
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,304)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We recently stayed for 2 nights at the Outrigger on the Beach, and had a recently renovated room that had a good partial view of the ocean. Check in was a bit strange, the guy on reception basically gave us his entire life story while we were checking in so it took about 20 mins rather than the standard couple of mins. Neither my partner nor I really said a word but it was very awkward. The room was very nice, the bed comfy etc and exactly what I would expect for the price and the star value. The pool is good, but not next to the beach and it misses the garden area that you see at the other hotels it is next to (sheraton, Royal Hawaiian etc.) Shorebird, the inhouse restaurant has a beautiful position right on the beach and a good vibe, but annoyingly you can't just sit and have a drink at one of the tables, even if you are a guest, until late as priority is given to diners, so you can't just have a drink and watch the sunset. I enjoyed our stay, but as the title of this review suggests, it was exactly what I expected for the price and was missing that 'something extra' that some hotels have. If heading back to Waikiki and looking in the same price range, I would probably pick the Royal Hawaiian or the Moana Surfrider which just seemed that bit more atmospheric.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank USdiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We've just had 10 days at a this hotel which lived up to earlier Tripadvisor good reviews. Our comfortable, good-sized room on the 5th floor overlooked the pool area and the nightly (6-9pm) Hawaiian style singers who were very enjoyable. Double glazing kept this muted and anyway we were out eating at one of the many places nearby, or else shopping in centres such as the Royal Hawaiian, so they had finished their set by the time we got back, so we were not in any way disturbed! Of the 3 restaurants, we thought Ocean House was the best, with seating virtually right on the beach (similar to the Shorebird restaurant), with a good breakfast choice of dishes -granola /fruit/eggs etc. at a reasonable price, together with a magnificent view up to Diamond Head. A great start to the day! Service in all areas was excellent, at check in, the restaurant staff and the lady who tidied our room each day. The pool was very good, with plenty of towels available, with no difficulty in getting a lounge chair to relax on for a few hours. Deck chairs on the beach itself, however, have to be paid for. This hotel is very well located - only a short walking distance from plenty of restaurants and good shopping centres. Recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Siobhan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
141 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We have stayed here a few times now and upgraded this time to an oceanfront room, great views, staff and overall the hotel is in such a great spot on Waikiki beach I wouldn't think of staying anyway else on a return trip here! check out the shorebird for happy hour, great Mai Tais!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: ocean view room a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Astrid909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

I read all the Trip Advisor reviews on this and other hotels before booking us here! Based on all the positive reviews reviews on the hotel we reserved for Nov. 17/12 to Nov. 25/12. On our arrival everything was as we had read! A completely renovated facility looking as if it had just been built! Check in was a quick 5 minutes and all that we had requested was confirmed ie adjoining rooms, high up, ocean tower, close to the elevator for my disabled spouse etc. Opening the door to our room was a very pleasant shock! It was more than we ever expected. A balcony overlooking the ocean, brand new carpet, king size bed with new linens, completely new tiled washroom facility, comfortable mattress and pillows, large plasma tv, fridge, tea and coffee and TONS of storage. We took pictures BEFORE bringing in our luggage! Our room attendant (Lori) was just a sweetheart! So pleasant and friendly! We ate four dinners at the Shorebird restaurant and had a ton of fun "grilling" our own steaks under the helpful and watchful eye of the chef! (for others who commented on NOT liking the experience, DON'T go there then...they DO advise you that the evening buffet is exactly what it is...grill your own!) We had four meals at the bar/pool area restaurant and fell in love with the food and especially our server Corey, who each time we requested his working area. What a prince of a guy! The last night there we had Melissa and she too was so friendly! ALL the staff were so amiable. The location was also terrific! Three blocks to the Main Street, close to the army park and the beach was 60 metres from the elevator for my hubby's convenience (can't walk far)! The only disappointments were the rocky ocean floor, the hotel pool isn't heated (or at least not enough to make it enjoyable on cooler days) and you have to pay for beach chairs and umbrellas which is VERY expensive. Otherwise this was the PERFECT place to stay and was most enjoyable. The evening entertainment poolside each night was most enjoyable too! The pricing for this hotel was the BEST value in the area! Feel safe and secure in booking this hotel.

Room Tip: As it was our 40th Anniversary we booked the vow renewal ceremony which was so IMPRESSIVE! What a t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Don And Pam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

My partner and I travelled to Honolulu for the sixth year and elected to stay again with the Outrigger chain of hotels. On this visit we selected the Outrigger Reef on the Beach. From our arrival to our departure I have nothing but praise for the staff, the hotel and our partial ocean view room with breakfast. The choice of three restaurants to select from for our breakfast added to the pleasure of our stay. Cooking your own steak and all you can eat salad bar was great as was the waiter service at the poolside. Well located in Waikiki means a short walk to do your shopping
either along the beach front --great at sunset or sunrise-- or through the streets.
The rooms are adequate in size, the shower and bathroom are good ,free wifi and internet
rroom service was always completed by mid afternoon.
Next year we will be back and "the Reef " will be our choice of hotels.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the Ocean Tower if possible simply because it places you closer to the beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Keith060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tweed Heads, Australia
Level Contributor
213 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We stayed at the Outrigger Reef for 5 nights in October in a 14th floor partial ocean view room. It was a most enjoyable experience.
Checkin was quick and professional and we were able to occupy the room immediately after our mid morning arrival. The room overlooked the pool area and had a nice view of the ocean from the balcony.
Bedding was very comfortable (much better than previously experienced Outrigger/Ohana standards). The room was fitted out with standard room features. The bathroom was exceptional with good quality towels and amenities.
We had breakfast at the Shore Bird restaurant every day. Excellent buffet style self service with plenty of choices.
The service encountered from the staff was of a uniformly high standard.
Location of the hotel is fine; within an easy walk of bus stops, Lewers Street restaurants and Kuhio/Kalakaua Avenues.
I wouldn't hesitate to stay at the Outrigger Reef On The Beach again on a future visit to Hawaii.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Richard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
The Modern Honolulu
#2 of 83 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 stars 3,237 reviews
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#23 of 83 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 stars 3,540 reviews
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#3 of 83 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 stars 2,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort

Property: Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort
Address: 2169 Kalia Rd., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#5 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#6 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#6 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#7 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 639
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Otel, Odigeo, BookIt.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Reef On The Beach Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Reef Beach
Outrigger Honolulu
Honolulu Outrigger
Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing