We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Waikiki Property”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort
Ranked #15 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed October 23, 2012

This hotel is a great value for the area. Ideally situated, it has been very recently updated and is well kept up. It truly gives you that island feeling vice the generic rooms that are so prevalent in the industry today. Every person working here is friendly and polite. They have an excellent program where if you are flying the redeye on the day of your departure, you are able to store your luggage and even use a complimentary room to get a shower before leaving for the airport. I highly recommend spending the extra $$$ for the Ocean View Rooms. Mine had a spectacular view of Diamond Head. They also offer an over 50 rate, so keep an eye our for that on the site. I'm not a big fan of Honolulu, but this property almost makes me want to go back and stay just for the experience of the Outrigger.

Room Tip: Look for the Ocean View room on the selector. It is almost as good as the Ocean Front, if not bette...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Ben W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (6,113)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,156 - 3,162 of 6,113 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2012

Fantastic Hotel. Clean and spacious Htel. Ocean house restaurant was fabulous, service was great and you could not fault the food. We had an ovean view room no 1003 which was larger than most ocean views. This was my fourth visit and we are now planning our next trip for 2014 and we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Deborah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Last year, we had stayed off the beach in Waikiki as it was more economical, but, this year, we decided that for location, it was worth the little extra and we were not disappointed! The service was exceptional and the room was surprisingly relatively large given the Waikiki reputation for small rooms! The bathroom, appointments, furnishings were all new and updated and the bed was very comfortable. The location was absolutely perfect! So close to Beachwalk, its right on the beach and only minutes walk anywhere down the beach or the main street. The front desk, valet and bell services were so very friendly and accommodating! We arrived early and accommodated us with a room much to our pleasant surprise. Our favorite feature was the courtesy room that was made available after check out given our early evening departure. The courtesy room was a fully furnished hotel room made available to us for a half our and was based on first come basis. Well, it was such a nice feature that both my husband and I were grateful to be able to shower and change for a long flight home to the mainland! Parking was expensive and know that there are parking lots down the street at the DeRussy Fort area or down Lewers (hard to find). We learned the hardway as parked valet not by the day but by the hour as we were waiting for others to arrive and it was $24 for three hours but was $35 a day! We should have just parked for the entire day but we had already checked in hourly and also, that was before we knew about the other lots nearby. Well, given how easy it is to spend money while in Waikiki this was minor but it is the other reason we always rent a car in order to get to other parts of the island where it is less expensive and get out of Waikiki on day trips. All in all, this hotel was certainly worth the value especially the sunset Steak and Salad Bar dinner

Room Tip: The Ocean tower seemed to have a better chance of an ocean view (hence, the Ocean tower)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CzechMate2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

We spent 3 nights at this hotel for a special event for the 70th anniversary of the bombing at Pearl Harbor. This hotel had a wonderful restaurant open to the beach, with great breakfast,and afternoon snacks and drinks. We were able to easily walk to the international marketplace for shopping and restaurants. We also had a great view of the beach, and got to watch the early morning surfers come and go. I really have no complaints about this hotel or the rooms, except I have seen it a bit overpriced compared to the other hotels in the area with similiar ratings, but I'm assuming that's because of it's wonderful beach access.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dawn-Michigan48706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at the outrigger while flying through. We stayed for the weekend and had an awesome time. The hotel was clean and accommodating. The room was neat and had a lot to offer. We like the kitchenette and the comfortable amenities. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Erin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

First of all be sure you book the correct hotel as there is also the Reef on the Beach, very confusing. We first had room 720, an end unit which we requested. The balcony was so narrow you couldn't sit on it so we were moved to room 315 which is a corner ocean front with a side deck facing Diamond Head, this was a wonderful room. Suggest any of the "15" rooms, a higher floor would have even been better. This room was like a Jr Suite and very comfortable and big. Location isn't as convienent as other Reef but an easy walk to the main strip.

Stayed: October 2012
6  Thank DianeKS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

This is a long review... sorry in advance. My wife and I spent part 2 of our delayed honeymoon at the Outrigger Reef for 4 nights. It was fantastic with a couple of small exceptions.

We originally booked an Oceanfront room several weeks ago via a travel website. The front desk person who gave us our room apparently made a mistake and checked us into on of the premier rooms in the hotel. Within an hour of settling in the room 2 different bellmen came in to check on us with puzzled looks. I spoke with the front desk manager and she confirmed they had made a mistake. However, instead of moving us she said "my bad" and let us stay. She even apologized a couple of times.

If you get a chance to have room 916 I strongly suggest you take it. We had 3 balconies with a sweeping view of the beach and a magnificent, unobstructed view of Diamond Head. Furnishings are modern yet still give an island feel. Housekeeping kept the place spotless and are very friendly when you encounter them in the hall. Internet access is free and wireless throughout the property.

Apart from the room the rest of the hotel is exceptional as well. If you are in the Ocean tower the beach is 50 feet from the elevator. There is a large pool with plenty of seating and many activities available for families and adults. All staff are very friendly and helpful. The location is not far from shopping and a few steps from the Beachwalk which has several smaller shops and a good selection of eateries.

However, the hotel is not perfect. The time share push is irritating at best. Misleading guests by saying there is an "island orientation" is frustrating. If you're willing to give up a few hours of your stay and get a hard sell for some discounts and a cash card then all the power to you. If you're not into that then be careful of anyone saying "hey, where are you from?" (the standard intro line to a sales pitch) or "Island orientation".

Also, we found the Shorebird restaurant to be well below par. The breakfast buffet selection and quality is not very good. We gave it another shot and came back for dinner without realizing that it is a grill your own steak event. That's great at a party but I would rather not choke on grill smoke when paying top dollar for a steak. They have a chef there telling you exactly how long you should grill everything. why he can't just cook my $30 average-sized ribeye is puzzling. Spend another $20 and go to Ruth's Chris on the Beachwalk.

Despite the shortcomings it is a fantastic property. If you want to splurge and get an oceanfront room you will not regret it. I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and book an oceanfront room instead of hoping to be upgraded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Allan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4,244 reviews
Prince Waikiki
#1 of 84 in Honolulu
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort

Address: 2169 Kalia Rd, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1936
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#6 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#7 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: $259 - $437 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 639
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Reef On The Beach Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Reef Beach
Outrigger Honolulu
Honolulu Outrigger
Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing