We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth it to Stay Here!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort
Ranked #14 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Carlsbad
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Worth it to Stay Here!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

We really wanted to stay on the beach, and found the Outrigger Reef. It was definitely worth it for the money. Fun pool , and great restaurant Shorebird. Shorebird offered happy hour Mai Tai everyday from 12-5 for only $3...you must drink a couple a day. Also the Shorebird had a great breakfast buffet.

The rooms were nice, and came with a fridge which is always nice to have.

I would stay again!

Room Tip: We over looked the pool which was nice, and could sit out on the balcony and listen to live music.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ARS819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,644 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,190
    1,833
    427
    118
    76
See reviews for
1,605
2,639
153
178
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,436)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

We stayed at the Outrigger Reef in September 2012 and once again very impressed with this Hotel. Great location, rooms, friendly staff, free wi-fi and no hidden resort charges like some other hotels charge.

This is our second stay at the Outrigger reef and have stayed at other hotels in Waikiki and when I return will be the only hotel we'll stay at.

Room Tip: We had the Ocean view room 1003 (which is the top floor in the tower closest to the beach) was on a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank mark p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in the outrigger reef for part of our honeymoon .an we felt so welcome from start to finish .we booked the ocean view room an was goregous .. They had a free bottle of bubbley as a present which was lovely . The hotel is right on the beach soo close..which we loved . Overall we had a wonderful 4 days in this hotel

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank canning123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

The Outrigger Reef was exactly as stated in brochures and the service from the staff was fabulous. We arrived to find that there were no King beds available, however, our twin room was fine. Next morning we received a call to say a King was available would we like it so we moved to room 1742 with a view of the pool and sea. We were also able to listen to the Hawaiian music in the restaurant every night. Maid service was also spot on and friendly.
As non smokers we were pleased to find smoking was not allowed on the hotel premises.
We ate at the poolside restaurant, Kani Ka Pila Grill several times and the food was perfect (converted to Mahi Mahi). Again service was perfect.
Happy Hour (12-5) in the Shore Bird overlooking the beautiful Waikiki shoreline for Mai Tais (3.50 USD)
We were able to process our boarding cards and check in the night before our flight and settle our bill as we had to leave at 4am - ouch!
Views from the beach are spectacular and we saw Father Christmas wander past several times!
Definitely did not want to leave and look forward to trying other Outriggers in other locations. Thank you to the Outrigger team for making our trip of a lifetime so perfect.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank KarenMWestMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vassar Michigan
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

Out of all my stays the Outrigger Reef on the Beach was the best. Prices are the best for what you receive. The rooms for a Partial ocean view were more than what I anticipated. Awesome. and the amenities for the rooms, an actual nice size bottle of shampoo, bar of soap, hairdryer, fridge etc. Any man taking his wife she would be completely satisfied with the area, hotel and the restaurants. The Shore bird restaurant was a view I shall never forget. Where can you enjoy a full breakfast all you can eat while watching surfers, and rainbows. Many areas within the hotel itself are priced just right! The employees are top notch! Very helpful and explain everything you need to know! Very Very clean, secure and I cannot even describe how perfect and excellent this stay was!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank poohdersdoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

Our family stayed here the 1st week in August. We couldn't have been happier with our accommodations. The rooms were perfect! We did have an ocean front room and the view was gorgeous. The rooms were nicely appointed, clean and spacious. We would not hesitate to stay here again. The staff made you feel welcome every day!

Room Tip: We were on the 4th floor with an ocean front room. No complaints about noise or location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank kdgilman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

I just came back from Hawaii and loved this hotel. The area in which the hotel is in is not cheap. You can walk to all the shops on the Waikiki walk but shopping is very expensive. There are many ABC stores to go to and of course if you have access to a car go to Walmart its your best bet. Hotel is kept clean and staff is very nice. Do not do the time share presentation. They tell you they will not pressure you but if you don't buy they get angry. Go to Duke's restuarant it is located five minutes away at the other Outrigger location you will not be disappointed. If you choose this hotel you will be pleased. Also walk down a little the beach that is out in front of the hotel is also a little rocky.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Sullivan72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#4 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,787 reviews
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#27 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,455 reviews
Waikiki
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort

Property: Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort
Address: 2169 Kalia Rd., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1936
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#6 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#7 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 639
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Reef On The Beach Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Reef Beach
Outrigger Honolulu
Honolulu Outrigger
Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing