We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Waikiki on a budget? Then the Outrigger Reef may be the solution...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort
Ranked #14 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
surrey, british columbia
Level Contributor
143 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 337 helpful votes
“Waikiki on a budget? Then the Outrigger Reef may be the solution...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2011

My wife and I spent 11 nights on the island of Oahu from June 29 to July 10, 2011. Originally we had planned to spend our first 3 nights at the Outrigger Reef on the Beach in Waikiki, to be followed by 7 nights at the Makaha Valley Resort on Oahu's west coast, with our final night back at the Outrigger Reef on the Beach. Due to an unfortuante series of events at the Makaha Valley Resort, we actually only spent 2 of our planned 7 nights at the Makaha Valley Resort, and instead spent the other 5 nights at the Turtle Bay Resort on Oahu's famed North Shore.

This is my review of the Outrigger Reef on the Beach:

My wife and I spent 4 nights at the Outrigger Reef on the Beach. We decided upon the Outrigger Reef on the Beach because of it's #2 TripAdvisor ranking among the 96 hotels on the island of Oahu. Although we were not necessarily disappointed with the Outrigger Reef on the Beach, I cannot say that it lived up to its #2 ranking.

Simply put, the Outrigger Reef on the Beach has a prime location on Waikiki beach, but it is not in the same class as the Trump International (located across the street) or the neighbouring Halekulani, Sheraton Waikiki or Royal Hawaiian hotels. The Outrigger Reef on the Beach is a "family oriented" hotel, moderately priced for Waikiki beachfront, yet with expensive bars and restaurants. Despite its self-proclaimed recent 100 million dollar plus update, the Outrigger Reef on the Beach still comes across as a tired, budget hotel (even if the rooms do cost over $200 per night).

Our "moderate (no view) room" was large by Waikiki standards, with a king size bed that had an excellent mattress, high definition television, safe, sitting patio (if you don't mind staring into the building beside you), and a small, outdated washroom. Our rate was $219 per night, plus tax. Maid service was excellent (we did leave a $3 tip each night) and my wife especially liked the fact that they provided 6 large pillows for the bed and 4 bath towels in the washroom. We valet parked our car at a cost of $30 per night (plus small tip for the valet guys each time we retrieved and/or returned the car) and we preferred the "average" hotel pool to the crowded Waikiki beach out back of the hotel (note: Outrigger Reef on the Beach has umbrellas with lounge chairs set up on the beach, but you have to pay $36 for a day's rental -- plus tip for the guys handling the rentals).

Pros:

1. Excellent Waikiki location.

2. Moderately priced for Waikiki (if rooms starting at $200 can be called moderately priced).

3. Family oriented (a negative if you are looking for an "adult oriented" hotel).

4. Very comfortable bed.

5. Walking distance to many restaurants in the Waikiki area of Honolulu, including the usual family oriented establishments.

Cons:

1. Despite recent updating, the hotel still comes across as an older, outdated property.

2. No self-parking and valet costs $30 per day.

3. Expensive bars and restaurants.

4. Washroom in room said 1970's and badly needed to be updated and or redone.

5. Very small beach area and expensive to rent lounge chairs for the day.

6. Too many families with small children if you are seeking an "adult oriented" hotel/resort.

I am not sure how the Outrigger Reef on the Beach has been able to maintain its #2 ranking on TripAdvisor, other than the fact that among beachfront properties in Waikiki it is moderately priced and family friendly. Personally, on a scale of 1 to 10, where 1 is terrible and 10 is excellent, I give the Outrigger Reef on the Beach a 7. Overall, of the 3 resorts we stayed at during our Hawaii trip, Turtle Bay was #1, Outrigger Reef on the Beach #2, and Makaha Valley Resort a distant #3.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,646 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,192
    1,833
    427
    118
    76
See reviews for
1,606
2,640
153
178
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,438)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, WA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2011

First off, a note about the Outrigger's types of rooms, their two cheapest rooms are titled "urban" and "city" view. I paid for the "City" view assuming that I would actually get a view of Honolulu. Instead what one gets is a second or third story view of a large, second story patio that overlooks the pool area of the resort on the first floor. Apparently "urban" view looks out over a service alley between the hotel and the neighboring one.

Beyond the misunderstanding on the room and its supposed view, we had several other issues with our stay:

1) Our room was not cleaned after our first night there. We even complained that evening when we got back, and the front desk supervisor called someone to have it cleaned "immediately" however upon returning from dinner our room was still dirty.
2) The wireless internet was not working and we had to complain twice about it to get it working again.
3) We were checking out on July 4, and asked for late checkout. The hotel was unwilling to accommodate this claiming they were "too full" without even looking at their computer to determine if it was feasible.
4) When we went to use the "Courtesy Room" none were available because the front desk staff had completely failed to communicate with the cleaning crew about the rooms that had been opened up, so we had to wait about 15 minutes while they got a room cleaned.

Some other comments: The beach that the Outrigger Reef on the Beach is situated on has a lot of rocks/coral and is not particularly swimmer friendly. The restaurant by the beach, called the Shore Bird, served some of the blandest, most disappointing food I have had in a long while. (My girlfriend ordered the fish tacos and they tasted like they had put fish, ketchup and some lettuce on a taco shell, my burger was at least reasonable, though the bun was soggy)

During one of our encounters with the staff at the front desk, the gentleman who was helping us decided to offer us advice on where to go eat. He ended up recommending all places on Outrigger properties. The bellhop also was unwilling to provide food recommendations besides the hotel restaurants.

On the plus side, the hotel grounds were well maintained, the rooms clean and well appointed. The hotel grounds were kept very clean and the staff were all very friendly.

As far as tips go if you stay here: If you want a nice spot on the beach, you will need to reserve it a day in advance. Otherwise you will end up staring at the back of someone else's beach chair. If your flight departs late, come back and ask for the use of a courtesy room. You can shower, change and repack your bags before your flight (This was sufficiently useful that I have increased their score from 2 to 3 stars for this service alone)

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank tourist1138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2011

Great beachfront location, close to shops and great restaurants. Our room was awesome - it was actually a suite with 2 TVs, little balconies, frige, round kitchen table, a wadrobe, spacious and tastefully decorated. Our CA king bed was great, kids had great sofa bed. We had the best time, we'll come again.

Room Tip: Not go for the ocean view - you can view the ocean from the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TinaM2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2011

They have a valet lot (extra charge per day added to you bill at the end of your stay) for your rental car. All you have to do is drive into the driveway and the guys are there to open your doors for you and help you out. They were very speedy to bring the car to you when you want to leave again. Our room was really nice.Nice bathroom with sink separate from shower. We also had a small fridge. The TV was a new HDTV. We had what was called a "city view" room. We had sliding doors which opened onto a very long community balcony. We had a table by our door and if you walk past the table out to the walkway you could turn and see down the street. Otherwise, we were looking at the hotel next door. From the lobby you can just walk out onto the sand. There are two restaurants where you can eat and watch the surf.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pampaints2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gig Harbor, Washington
Level Contributor
166 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2011

This property has going for it - location. The room was very clean, housekeeping does an outstanding job. We had an OV room with a splendid view of Diamonhead - but there are no screens on the lanai doors which means you have to close the door and can't let in that fresh ocean air. Silly. Noise was not a problem.. The beds were comfortable and closet/storage ample. It's a busy place, can get chaotic at times. The pool is an ok size, but so crowded with chairs that it's very difficult to get around it - even if nobody is there.

The beach in front is very small, but nicer beach is nearby just to the north. The park next door is nice. Restaurants are onsite, but food is really not very good and service is spotty at best. For a place to sleep while visiting the island, it's fine. There is a fairly constant smell of sewage in the area - I know these gases have to go somewhere, but it can get heavy.

There are some accessibility issues - due to the fact that taxis and cars are allowed to park on the sidewalk and block the entrance/exit walkway. This is a safety hazzard and there is a reason it's illegal. Bell desk staff watched as people tried to navigate around - unacceptable. There is a driveway and a walkway - if the walkway is blocked this forces people into the roadway. Strollers and wheelchairs are not designed to travel at certain degrees of slope, it's unsafe. It's a decent hotel, but some training of employees would go a long way towards making this place better.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LesRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2011

Just spent 7nights in outrigger reef on the beach after staying 7 nights in mauii.
We had stayed there 21 years ago and this hotel is still as good as ever. Booked an ocean view room, but no king sized beds available, so did upgrade for $25 per night. What a shock we got when we got to room. It was almost a penthouse! Large bedroom with plasma TV, large lounge with another plasma TV, dining room, bathroom and kitchenette. It was fantastic. We will be back, but will not wait another 21 years.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Glenda1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westbury, New York
Level Contributor
97 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2011

We stayed here for 5 nights and it was very nice. It's near the beach, there are shops, restaurants and a Starbucks on the property, and it's conveniently located near lots of shopping and restaurants. The rooms and balcony were a bit on the small side but very clean and nice.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#4 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,787 reviews
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#27 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,458 reviews
Waikiki
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort

Property: Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort
Address: 2169 Kalia Rd., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1936
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#6 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#7 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 639
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Reef On The Beach Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Reef Beach
Outrigger Honolulu
Honolulu Outrigger
Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing