We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort
Nearby Hotels
$403
$326
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$403
$300
Westin.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Ala Moana Hotel(Honolulu)(Great Value!)
$199
Ala Moana Hotel
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$219
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$279
$209
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$420
$336
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$239
$219
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$224
$190
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$215
$179
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$471
$450
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Reviews (6,234)
Filter reviews
6,234 results
Traveler rating
3,549
1,986
474
140
85
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,549
1,986
474
140
85
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe shore birdshorebird restaurantocean house restaurantpacific towerthe kani ka pila grilleocean frontpartial ocean viewwaikiki beachthe activities deskdiamond headtime shareour honeymooncity viewpool sidehawaiian musicoceanfront roommai tais
Filter
Updating list...
4,081 - 4,086 of 6,234 reviews
Reviewed June 29, 2011

This was a quick trip and we are so happy with our choice. The hotel was spotless, perfect service and ammenaties, right on the beach, and one of our favorite restaurants is at the hotel right on the beach. Check out Ocean House. Great food and service with perfect atmosphere. Across the hall is the Shorebird restaurant which is also a really good restaurant. It is open for B, L, and D. You grill your own meat for dinner (actually fun). It is also right on the beach. Great place for afternoon (or anytime) drinks too. Ocean House opens I think at 5 pm. The hotel location is perfect for us. You can basically walk from the hotel to the base of Diamond Head one direction. International Market Place (cheap crap from China) is really close, and lots of high end shops on the Waikiki Beach Walk (hey, we didn't go there to shop!). We spent lots of time in the ocean and were able to walk everywhere we wanted. We opted for the least expensive room with no view (who cares when the beach is down the elevator and out the door?) and the room was spotless and really comfortable. Be sure to opt for a non smoking room if you are a non smoker like us because I did see that was a choice when booking. Can't wait to go back. We are going to stay at the same place only longer next time. A "9.9" in our book (only because the WIFI seemed slow). A "10" other than that.

Room Tip: Use AAA or 50+ to save. Best $ was hotel website.
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Rickflys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2011

The Outrigger was perfect - it was one - four blocks from just about all of the shopping and restaurants, bus stop and car rental. The hotel is casual, friendly and comfortable. The room was great, very comfortable bed and pillows. We enjoyed the nightly music and the Happy Hour in Shorebird. Breakfast was included and we tried both the buffet in Shorebird and the nicer breakfast in Oceanside Restaurant. We enjoyed them both. Shorebird is very informal with a good selection ( nothing fancy) and a beautiful view. The Oceanside restaurant is a little nicer with white tablecloths, wonderful service, and menu items for breakfast. We had a beautiful table overlooking the water. The pool area has plenty of shade which we enjoyed, pool service and towels! The beach is right there but it is a little small by the Outrigger. There is a sidewalk to the right and in 5 minutes you can be at a wider beach so it isn't a problem. The hotel was perfect for us - not too fancy or fussy but friendly, clean, and well appointed. Jaime checked us in and Angelina helped us plan activities. They were great!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank frescagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2011

We stayed in this hotel in March and thought the location, room, breakfast and grounds were very nice, but we were extremely disappointed in the service. We noted when we booked that we would be checking in late due to when our flight landed, and we requested a room with a king bed and noted that we were staying there over a birthday. At check in we were treated so rudely by the woman at the front desk that we were left stunned and so angry we could hardly sleep. We were tired but greeted her friendly when we arrived - after all, we were in Hawaii - and in return we received personal insults and snide remarks. Absolutely unacceptable - and we told the manager as much the next morning. Not only that, but we did not get the room we had requested. They later moved us to another room, but I think we received a "partial ocean view" room rather than the "ocean view" room we had booked and paid for. With better things to do on vacation than complain we moved on and had a wonderful time on Oahu, very little of it at the hotel, but needless to say this was a low point on an otherwise great trip. With so many hotel options there is no reason to risk receiving poor service at this location.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank HMLT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2011

Service was great right from check-in. We were on our honeymoon, and we're given an upgrade to a suite. Girl at front desk was pleasant and made check in a breeze. After we checked in we received a phone call from the front desk to make sure we were please with everything.

We ended up staying in the penthouse level (Floor 18) in the section of the hotel that is further away from the beach. The elevator goes to 17, then take a staircase up. There are a few room on this level that all share one very large patio area. We had the 2 bedroom suite, which was very large and comfortable. The interior decorating wasn't really my style, but the room was nice, clean and comfortable.

The restaurants were good, but nothing spectacular. At one of them you actually cook your food yourself on the grill, which was actually fun. Breakfast buffet was pretty good as well.

The hotel pool is in the middle of the hotel away from the beach. We were only in Oahu for 3 days, so we didn't spend any time at the pool. There was entertainment there at night, but again we didn't stick around for that either. The beach in front of the hotel is on the small side, but it is still serviceable.

There are many restaurants and shopping areas within walking distance of the hotel. There was a Roy's across the street that we found to be pretty good.

We didn't rent a car our stay in Oahu, but one day decided that we wanted to venture around town. The bell hop was extremely helpful in finding us a rental car. Most locations were sold out due to a conference in town, but she found us one, which we much appreciated.

With the bulk of our stay (and budget) allocated to Maui and Kauai, one of the primary drivers of our selection of hotel in Oahu was value. Outrigger on the Reef delivered. I didn't expect it to be the Ritz or Four Seasons, and it wasn't, but it is a very nice hotel with gracious and accommodating staff that is right in the middle of the action.

Negative - The only real negative I had was the time share people in the lobby that are trying to get you to visit their time share. I know they are probably at most hotels in Hawaii, but I find them to be annoying.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 5_OClock_Somewhere11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2011

Stayed in June 2011 lovely hotel, great room, good food. Great location staff very helpful all you need for a perfect holiday would advise anyone to go to this hotel.

Room Tip: Room 16034 was a corner room wth 2 balconies.
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank nowikoj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews