We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, great price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
Ranked #41 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
NYC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good location, great price”
Reviewed February 6, 2007

We stayed at the Ohana east for three nights at the end of January and we're very pleased with our stay. The room had a nice kitchenette that we found very helpful. (As vegans, it can be hard to eat out in Hawaii!) As another reviewer noted, this meant there were some ants in the room. I took this as par for the course--I think bugs in rooms in Hawaii is more common than it is uncommon and this wasn't the "W" after all.

Others on this site have complained about the steep ($18) parking fee. Coming from NYC, that seems cheap to me. And (and this is an important and), don't let that dissuade you from getting a car. Seeing Oahu--the North Shore, the Windward Coast, Hanauma Bay, Pearl Harbor--is so much easier with own car. Factor the $18 a day into your car rental price. (We got our car for $20 a day from Priceline, so though $38 per day including parking was still a bargain.)

And if you don't want to battle Honolulu traffic to get to the Ala Moana Center or the Ward Center (for more off-the-beatern track shopping), your room key acts as a free pass for the Pink Line Waikiki Shuttle -- a real plus.

The location of the Ohana can't be beat.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank zoraM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,819 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    526
    822
    337
    84
    50
See reviews for
548
662
130
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (487)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2007

My wife and I stayed here the weekend of Feb 2 thru 4th '07. The hotel was easy to find and the parking situation is very good. We were able to park on the second floor of the garage each time. Parking is a steep $18/day but it is nice to not have to worry about finding a spot.

Upon arrival we found we were booked in a 3rd floor room but they offered us the 15th floor when I asked. The 15th floor room only had double beds but that was a reasonable trade off.

The Ohana East is right in the middle of the action. If you want to stay in the heart of Waikiki there really is no better location. You're not on the beach but it is a short walk.

I give this property a 4 out of 5 stars for the following positives reasons: The room was very clean as were all the common areas. You can't really see any signs of excessive wear and it looks like the property is reasonably well maintained. The bathroom is on the smaller side but no big deal for us although some reviewers obviously differ on this opinion. (I'm 6' tall.) High speed internet is included for free- nice. As mentioned, the location and parking are both outstanding. We walked to Zanzabar nightclub a couple blocks down at around 10:30 PM on a Saturday. Based on some reviews I was expecting that we would want a cab back for safety reasons at 2 AM. Not the case- there were lots of people on the well lit street. This part of Waikiki has some prostitutes, but for us that didn't matter at all. Prosititues, due to the nature of their job, are usually friendly and harmless. They don't stay in business long if they mug people. The hotel also gives you access to the pink line trolley which alone is worth $8 for a single round trip ticket for 2 to the Ala Moana mall.

The negatives: Our hallway had an odor at times. We never smelt it in the room thankfully. We're not sure what it was and didn't complain to anyone. Secondly, the internal walls of the hotel are apparently very thin. We could hear people talking on occasion.

Other traveler considerations: As with any hotel in this area, there will be a certain amount of noise from outside. We were on the 15th floor and you could still hear traffic but it wasn't bad at all. However on a lower floor it might be unreasonable for some travelers. The property has AC so at least you won't need to leave your sliding door open at night- that would be a nightmare.

Overall I consider this a "safe bet" for anyone like ourselves. We don't need pampering or spa service but we do often stay at more expensive properties (we're not rich... I'm just good at getting discounts and using priceline.com.) So, we're used to a certain level of cleanliness and upkeep. For people like us it can be a terrifying experience to look for a less expensive property- images come to mind of cockroaches, spiders, bloody sheets, ripped up walls, no hot water, etc.

The world could really use more hotels like the Ohana East- less expensive with no major frills yet still clean and maintained.

  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank Brian Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selma
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2007

Just got back from a 7 night stay at the Ohana East. Good hotel for the price. Perfect location. 3 minute walk to the beach and the Duke statue with live cam. Round Table and Keoni restaurant right there. Subway, KFC, Burger King across the street. So-so restaurant buffet style called Perry's across the other street. Foodland couple of stores down for groceries and an Arcade next door. Also a Denny's a very short walk. International Market 3 minute walk too. The hotel staff were very nice and polite. If you need extra towels though make sure you don't need them right away. That's the only bad thing I have to say about the stay. Maid service was great though. Bathrooms were small, but if you've every cruised then rest assured they're bigger than those bathrooms. Fridge, iron, blow dryer, cable, Ninendo, wake up service all a plus. Beds a little to lumpy for my taste but not a big turn off. Stayed on the 15th floor with a city view but once out on the balcony you could look over to the ocean. If you stay at the Ohana East you can ride the Pink Line Trolley for free and can catch the free Hilo Hatti shuttle at the Ohana West a very short walk across the street. Starbucks around the corner too. My advice is to catch a trolly, rent a car or take a taxi....bus rides are very cramped and take a very long ride. It ook us 1 1/2 to get to the swap meet over by the Pearl Harbor monument. Would not recommend that. No complaints and can definately recommend this hotel to others. Would stay again!

  • Liked — location
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
9 Thank misscecily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2007

We stayed here for 3 nights in January, and loved it. The location is excellent, a flat 3 min walk to the beach, and right in the heart of Waikiki. We booked a super saver room, and a couple of weeks before we arrived I rang the hotel and requested a high floor. We were on the 11th floor and the room was very quiet. It was not huge, but a decent size, very clean and well appointed. There was a bar fridge, coffee maker and of course tv with many channels. The bathroom is small as many others have commented, but perfectly adequate. The hotel included a complimentary newspaper, free wireless access to the internet ( we had a laptop ) you can travel free on the pink trollyes around the city showing your room card, and also unlimited free 15 minute calls to the mainland US. As we are from Australia this was no benefit to us, but would be to many of you, and we did get free local calls. The staff could not have been more helpful, the concierge arranged our taxi to the airport, $29 flat rate.
There are some "ladies of the night " around, but they are all around Waikiki near the International Market place especially. My husband was own his own for 15 minutes one evening and approached twice near the Market Place.
There is a supermarket right around the corner, restaurants and shops all around, and the bus stop is also very close by. We took the number 20 bus to visit Pearl Harbour/USS Arizona. It is only $2 each way, but make sure you have plenty of time as it is very slow. It took over an hour to get there, but we had the time and didn't mind. Coming home it was no problem either, we actually got off at Wards, did some shopping and then caught the free trolley home.
We loved the Ohana East and would definitely stay there again.

  • Liked — Location, friendliness of staff
  • Disliked — no direct ground floor entry, needed to get escalator from the street
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank Australia07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2007

We stayed at this hotel after relocating from the Ohana West across the street as we were a bit shocked at the quality of the hotel. So this was a step up from the Ohana West, but we were still not very impressed. If you are looking for a 2.5 star hotel, this is exactly what you will find. It was clean, very basic, and in a good location, but that's it. After seeing 3 hotels in Honolulu it seems like it's hard to find a good deal anywhere, so don't skimp on Honolulu hotels as you don't get much for your money here.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Quality of hotel/room
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank redmud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2007

I spent 5 nights at this hotel and I absolutely loved it. Even in a city view room I could still see the ocean. The room had everything I needed: a small fridge, ironing board, blow drier, high speed internet and toilettries in the bathroom. The only thing I didn't like was the size of the shower--very small. Everything else was super! It's walking distance to the beach, restaurants and shops and it gives you free passes to the pink line trolley so you can tour around. The staff was very friendly and helpful, going above and beyond the call of duty at any request or question. I would recommend this hotel to anyone without a doubt.

  • Liked — Location and staff
  • Disliked — Shower--too small
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank Piolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2007

We stayed here on New Years Eve. Two couples in a room with 2 double beds. Our room overlooked the pool.

Room was clean and was in a great location to walk to Waikiki beach. The only down side was the bathroom shower was tiny!!! It was smaller than a shower on a cruise ship.

  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank NorthwoodsIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Pagoda Hotel
#68 of 84 in Honolulu
497 reviews
Waikiki
Hilton Garden Inn Waikiki Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#58 of 84 in Honolulu
1,884 reviews
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
#60 of 84 in Honolulu
1,471 reviews
Courtyard Waikiki Beach
#70 of 84 in Honolulu
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to OHANA Waikiki East Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about OHANA Waikiki East Hotel

Property: OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
Address: 150 Kaiulani Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3292
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#44 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — OHANA Waikiki East Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 441
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
OHANA(R) Hotels by Outrigger is our mid-tier, off-beach leisure brand where guests will find local hospitality and convenience in paradise. Located in central Waikiki, this Waikiki hotel is just a 7-minute stroll to Waikiki Beach, next door to The International Marketplace and one block from Kalakaua Avenue's shopping and entertainment. OHANA Waikiki East provides safe, clean and well maintained mid-tier accommodation proudly supported by long serving hosts, many who have been with the Outrigger family for over thirty years. OHANA Waikiki East is unlike beachfront resorts where you may choose to spend your time indoors. Rather, it is an enjoyable home base for your Island adventures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your OHANA Waikiki East Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ohana East Hotel Honolulu
Ohana East Honolulu
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing