We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly Surprised, Completely Happy!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
Ranked #40 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Pleasantly Surprised, Completely Happy!”
Reviewed December 23, 2013

Since it is the holidays and I didn't want to be spending unnecessary amounts of money on something that seemed somewhat frivolous, I asked a girlfriend of mine for some hotels that were reasonable.

She told me to check out the Internet (duh! what a concept!) for affordable hotel rooms for us to stay overnight...so I did!

Ohana Waikiki East popped up online as an affordable choice so I called reservations and had a really awesome customer service rep who helped me out. He informed me that they couldn't guarantee the type of beds (I requested two double beds), however that he could put a really hard request in for it and it would be dependent on what was available during check in.

So flash forward to check in. I called the hotel about 2 hours in advance to confirm my reservation was made and the person who answered the phone was super nice. She said yes. I also asked her where parking was and she gave me details and parking price.

My girlfriend and I checked in and the woman at the counter (I am kicking myself that I didn't get her name!) and another fellow (also kicking myself on not getting HIS name!), were AWESOME! They were good fun, friendly, nice, accommodating, informative, everything you want to experience when checking into a hotel room.

We talked stories and they even upgraded our rooms, how cool is that?!

We had a view of the ocean and some city life, perfect! The room was spacious with a kitchenette and two double beds! We were both happy campers.

The room also had 2 televisions, a couch and pretty much everything you would want from a hotel room.

The location of the hotel was also perfect. Right in line with taxi cabs, walking distance to cool nightclubs and restaurants and a parking lot that was easy to get in and out of.

We were both extremely impressed, pleased and overall completely satisfied with everything.

I am SO glad that we stayed here and if I ever do a staycation or consider another 'girls night on the town' again, I will definitely book this hotel again.

Room Tip: Penthouse was excellent, ample in size, 2 televisions, kitchenette and pull-out couch
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jodys808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHANAEastManager, Manager at OHANA Waikiki East Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Mahalo Josys808 for your 5star tripadvisor review it is greatly appreciated!

Glad to hear your girls staycation was great and you were both happy campers. let us know when you plan on returning to the OHANA Waikiki East as we would love to welcome you back once again.

Island Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,841 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    534
    832
    341
    84
    50
See reviews for
557
670
133
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (489)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
banff
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2013

This was my fourth time staying at the Ohana East hotel last week and once again it was fantastic, All the staff were very friendly and helpful. Tracy at the front desk was kind and always had a smile of her face. Will at the Bell Desk was also very friendly and accommadating. I will continue to stay at the Ohana East Hotel everytime i go to Hawaii. Thank-you to all the Staff for making my trip such an amazing one. Keep up the Great work you all do.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank colkel62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHANAEastManager, Manager at OHANA Waikiki East Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Aloha Colkel62,

Thank you for your 5star Tripadvisor review it is greatly appreciated! Glad to see the staff was once again friendly and helpful and you had a fantastic stay. We will definetly let Tracy and Will know of your great comments towards them as well. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Island Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2013

We visited hawaii on the second leg of our honeymoon and it was incredible! The staff at the ohana east was so friendly and welcoming and really love the island! The hotel was immaculate at all times and so close to the beach. Oahu is such a fun island me Waikiki is busy and fun with some great places to eat and drink!

Highly recommend top he tour of the north shore - it's was incredible and you will see places that you won't if you drive round yourself!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Semisonic1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHANAEastManager, Guest Relations Manager at OHANA Waikiki East Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Aloha Semisonic,

Thank you for the 5star review on Tripadvisor and congratulations on your perfect honeymoon glad we were a part of your special celebration. Glad you found the hotel immaculate. We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Island Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013

We stayed here for a weekend and its not a 5star resort but it has a GREAT location, rooms a little outdated and free wifi wasnt the greatest but i would def stay there again for the price. Walking didtance to all Waikiki beach and shopping and dining. LOCATION LOCATION LOCATION!!!will recommend

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Helipad602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHANAEastManager, Guest Relations Manager at OHANA Waikiki East Hotel, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Aloha Helipad602,

Thank you for your 4star rating of your stay here at the OHANA Waikiki East hotel it is greatly appreciated. We are in the process of renovating the guest rooms so hoping you will enjoy your stay here once again in the near future.

Island Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

We stayed in a one bedroom corner unit on the 9th floor for one night. I was very skeptical of spending anytime of my precious Hawaiian vacation in the city and am glad I selected this hotel.
Aloha spirit and Ohana are definitely in the hearts of everyone we encountered that worked at this hotel.

Our room was very spacious and there was just enough room in the living room for the pullout sofa to be out and a roll-away bed to be unfolded in the room. There was also a small balcony, fridge, stove top and microwave.

The parking garage was easily accessible and seemed fairly secure (though like with all of Oahu, I still wouldn't leave anything you don't want stolen in your car!)

I felt that the accommodations were very impressive for the price we paid. It is walking distance to the beach as well. There is plenty of shopping and food choices nearby, too.

If you want to stay in the thick of it all in Waikiki, this would be an excellent choice. Waikiki beach is really just as awesome as people say -- I am glad we decided to spend at least one night in town to get a flavor for it. Within our group we rented a total of three rooms. All the rooms were different, but they were all nice. I would definitely stay here again, one party in our group spent a week at this hotel and loved it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cj2468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHANAEastManager, Guest Relations Manager at OHANA Waikiki East Hotel, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Aloha CJ2468 from Chicago,

Mahalo for your great review recently on Tripadvisor regarding your recent stay at the OHANA Waikiki East hotel it is greatly appreciated. Glad to hear your entire party enjoyed their stay and we look forward to welcoming you all back in the near future.

Island Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013

We stayed here with a family group in May 2013, it wasn't the flashest hotel in Waikiki but certainly was very central to everything, 5 minutes to the beach, free shuttle bus around town right at the door, close to the market over the road, shopping and plenty of nearby restaurants.

The OHANA Waikiki East Hotel has really friendly and accommodating staff.

Free Internet is available in the room if you have a Laptop.

WiFi is Free but not available in the rooms but is in the Lobby lounge.

We shifted rooms 3 times 1st was because we were a long way from our family and friends,, and we asked to be moved closer to them and requested an upgrade to a room with a kitchenette it was no apparent trouble to the staff, 2nd time was when we decided to extend our holiday by 4 days again it was a no fuss move however the room we moved to was only available for 1 night and they moved us to another room on the ground floor not far from the pool when that became available for the remainder of our stay, the whole experience was friendly, courteous and without fuss.

I wasn't that impressed by America over all but I'd certainly stay at the OHANA Waikiki East Hotel again..

Room Tip: Choose a Ground floor or close to it because the lifts are slooooooooow, someone in another post sai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bill437
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHANAEastManager, Guest Relations Manager at OHANA Waikiki East Hotel, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Aloha Bill437,

Mahalo for the great 5star rating on Tripadvisor it is much appreciated! Glad to see the staff was friendly and accomodating we do have a great staff here at the OHANA Waikiki East Hotel. Hoping to welcome you all back once again in the near future.

Island Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Great view from the 19th Floor! Close to everything with friendly and helpful staff. Look forward to returning next year. Nice and quiet. Only drawback was lack of laundromat on the premises but there wasn't one too far away...

Room Tip: Up on the 19th floor! Nice and relaxing place to stay with friendly staff. Only drawback was lack o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHANAEastManager, Guest Relations Manager at OHANA Waikiki East Hotel, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Mahalo Kate for your recent 5star review on Tripdvisor it is greatly appreciated and we hope to welcome you back in the near future. We do have a laundromat on the street level so we are hoping you were able to use the facility during your stay.

Island Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#57 of 84 in Honolulu
1,888 reviews
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
#64 of 84 in Honolulu
1,646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Hilton Garden Inn Waikiki Beach
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Pagoda Hotel
#69 of 84 in Honolulu
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to OHANA Waikiki East Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about OHANA Waikiki East Hotel

Property: OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
Address: 150 Kaiulani Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3292
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#44 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — OHANA Waikiki East Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 441
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
OHANA(R) Hotels by Outrigger is our mid-tier, off-beach leisure brand where guests will find local hospitality and convenience in paradise. Located in central Waikiki, this Waikiki hotel is just a 7-minute stroll to Waikiki Beach, next door to The International Marketplace and one block from Kalakaua Avenue's shopping and entertainment. OHANA Waikiki East provides safe, clean and well maintained mid-tier accommodation proudly supported by long serving hosts, many who have been with the Outrigger family for over thirty years. OHANA Waikiki East is unlike beachfront resorts where you may choose to spend your time indoors. Rather, it is an enjoyable home base for your Island adventures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your OHANA Waikiki East Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ohana East Hotel Honolulu
Ohana East Honolulu
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing