We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ohana East Redux”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
Ranked #40 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Ohana East Redux”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

My sons and I were at Ohana East from Aug 10 - sept 7 and as usual we had a great time. The mgr , Clayton was kind enough to put us in our usual room which is 210. We prefer it so that we don't have to wait for elevators.
The front desk staff are all friendly and helpful.
We always return to this hotel because of the pleasant staff and great location at a reasonable price.
Hopefully we will return in the near future.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank merciblueyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHANAEastManager, Manager at OHANA Waikiki East Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Mahalo Merciblueyes,

Your review on Tripadvisor was greatly appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

island Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,803 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    524
    812
    335
    82
    50
See reviews for
541
660
128
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (484)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

The room is nice and clean but there's nothing except coffee in the kitchen. The location is great, tons of bars and shops around and the beach only 10 min away (by foot).

CONS: They charged for wi-fi and $25/day for parking, that is over-priced.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Suellen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHANAEastManager, Manager at OHANA Waikiki East Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Aloha Suellen,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. Not sure which Wi-Fi connectin you were using as we offer both wired and wireless internet access in your room as well as the lobby for free. Good to know your room was nice and clean. We hope to one day welcome you back to the OHANA Waikiki East Hotel.

Island Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shellharbour, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

This Hotel was awesome! Great location, very clean and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Beds were really comfortable, bathrooms small but fine (most hotel bathrooms are small). Really recommend staying here :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tania S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHANAEastManager, Manager at OHANA Waikiki East Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Mahalo Tania for your great review on Tripadvisor your great comments are appreciated. We'd like to welcome you back in the near future.

Island Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We had a partial ocean view with a balcony. Rooms were well maintained and clean. It is close to the beach with out paying beach prices. The front desk was helpful. Many stores close by to buy food to eat out or in. Swimming pool had very few people in it.

Room Tip: Room 1412 was good for views and was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank donleern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHANAEastManager, Manager at OHANA Waikiki East Hotel, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Aloha Donleern,

Mahalo for staying with us at the OHANA Waikiki East Hotel and for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor. Your comments are greatly appreciated and we are happy you found our front desk staff to be helpful! We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Island Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Mirada, California, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

My family stayed at the Ohana East from August 19 to August 23. We had room 817. It was good and we had nothing to complain. We had great city view from our balcony. The hotel is close to everything. Our room attendant was excellent, she always made our room clean and tidy. She also restocked with toiletries and coffee. Thanks for the good service. We will stay at this hotel again if we come back in the future.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Celia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHANAEastManager, Manager at OHANA Waikiki East Hotel, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Mahalo Celia from California for your Tripadvisor review it is greatly appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back once again.

Island Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Travelled to Waikiki beginging of July for 7 days with family 2 adults and 2 kids 11 & 15. The hotel was very centrally located, close to beach, shops and food choices. Staff were very friendly at front desk and also at the tour desk. Our rooms were not cleaned till around midday or later each day, which was sometimes a problem as coming back from beach or being out there was no fresh towels after showers from beach. I did ask the house keeper if she could clean the rooms while we were out in the mornings and it was not a problem. Even though the hotel has a "Hawaiian" theme it is a little dated and tired as are many of the hotels are in Waikiki. The only thing to bring me back to this hotel would be the location of it. For me it was a clean and average hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skipper05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHANAEastManager, Manager at OHANA Waikiki East Hotel, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Aloha Skipper05,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review we really appreciate your comments.

Island Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Me and my friend visited the OHANA east hotel and it was awesome! we had a fabulous time, although our room was a little small, we still enjoyed our stay. it was abit of a shame that our view was only of the pool though as we were only placed on level three but the location of this hotel made up for everything! overall we had a great time!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emilya13_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHANAEastManager, Manager at OHANA Waikiki East Hotel, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Mahalo Emilya13_13 from Australia,

Thank you for a great review! We hope to welcome you back soon!

Island Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Pagoda Hotel
#69 of 84 in Honolulu
492 reviews
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
#60 of 84 in Honolulu
1,459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Hilton Garden Inn Waikiki Beach
Courtyard Waikiki Beach
#68 of 84 in Honolulu
275 reviews
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to OHANA Waikiki East Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about OHANA Waikiki East Hotel

Property: OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
Address: 150 Kaiulani Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3292
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Honolulu
#34 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#44 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — OHANA Waikiki East Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 441
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
OHANA(R) Hotels by Outrigger is our mid-tier, off-beach leisure brand where guests will find local hospitality and convenience in paradise. Located in central Waikiki, this Waikiki hotel is just a 7-minute stroll to Waikiki Beach, next door to The International Marketplace and one block from Kalakaua Avenue's shopping and entertainment. OHANA Waikiki East provides safe, clean and well maintained mid-tier accommodation proudly supported by long serving hosts, many who have been with the Outrigger family for over thirty years. OHANA Waikiki East is unlike beachfront resorts where you may choose to spend your time indoors. Rather, it is an enjoyable home base for your Island adventures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your OHANA Waikiki East Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ohana East Hotel Honolulu
Ohana East Honolulu
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing