We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
Ranked #40 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Value”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

My husband and I stayed for three nights in a kitchenette room. It was a corner room, and while we didn't need the full kitchen we definitely made use of the fridge, microwave and toaster for breakfasts, snacks and beverages in the room. We were quite happy with the room, even though the balcony was just big enough to stand on - no seating but it was so windy when we were there we wouldn't have been able to sit out there anyways.

If you are arriving with a car, please know you need to park your car in the parkade and then go check in. We had a bit of a mixup not knowing this when we arrived to check in. Once we got that straightened out, we had a very quick check in at the front desk.

I rate the sleep quality slightly lower due to the fact it was so noisy outside the hotel, and it was the long weekend - not sure if that made a difference but it is a big city after all. The bed was quite comfortable, however.

We would definitely stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Park your car in the parkade before checking in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank havefuninthesun33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHANAEastManager, Manager at OHANA Waikiki East Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Aloha Haveffuninthesun3,

We"d like to say Mahalo for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. Your comments are greatly appreciated.

Happy to hear you were happy with the room and that you were able to use the guest parking as well as the Pink Line Trolley.

Yes Waikiki is a big city with lots of businesses as well as hotels and restaurants, therefore on occasion you may hear traffic noise.

We'd like to take the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Island Regards,
OHANA Waikiki East Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,820 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    527
    822
    337
    84
    50
See reviews for
549
662
130
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (487)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coronado, California
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Stayed here for our Anniversary and it was a great location for the price. We had a corner one bedroom suite, lots of windows and a pretty good partial view of the ocean and the street was actually real quiet for the location. That's where it ends! The furniture in the room was dirty and stained along with the carpet. The lighting in the bathroom was so bad that you couldn't see anything in the mirror and was unuseable. The wi-fi connection was free but it was so bad that you couldn't use it for more than a minute or so before you got dropped. The bed was only a queen but so uncomfortable that we asked to be moved, but they only had a lesser quality room in the back of the hotel, so we stayed for seven sleepless nights. The tv would lose the sound after awhile and the microwave quit running several times, like it was getting overheated. We could not even checkout on the tv because that part of the system didn't want to work on our tv so we just left without checkout! I would not recommend this place.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bevertl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHANAEastManager, Manager at OHANA Waikiki East Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Aloha Bevertl,

Mahalo for your recent review on TripAdvisor and we humbly apologize for your dissatisfaction with your recent stay. We apologize that our property did not meet your expectations as your feedback is something we take seriously and helps us to improve our product and services.

Thank you again for your review and we hope that one day should you travel back to Oahu you will consider giving us another opportunity to host you once again.

Island Regards,
OHANA Waikiki East Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

We were passing through Honolulu, on our wat to Asia. I found a reasonable last second rate for $169 for one night. From past visits and living on Oahu a few years ago, I knew the Ohana East's reputation for an adequate budget hotel.
After a short taxi ride to hotel, I had the misfortune of having a very unpleasant (RUDE female...Maile) receptionist check us in. The receptionist to my left (male), was checking another couple in, and I soooo wish we had him. Maile acted as if I interrupted her soap opera, or her daughters wedding. Since we got the $169 rate on the Internet, we were supposed to receive a "lesser" room. The only room she had left was the 15th floor kitchenette with a balcony and view of the ocean. From apparences, this really upset Maile, since she told us this room was much more expensive than $169 a night. Our check in was the lowlight of our vacation!
Pros: affordable price, pool
Cons: Maile
Note: I normally do not call out horrible service by name, but Maile definitely deserves rudest and underachieving reception it's award.
22 Feb 2013

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Priffle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHANAEastManager, Manager at OHANA Waikiki East Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Aloha Priffle,

Mahalo for your comments on TripAdvisor , we'd like to apologize for your recent encounter upon checking in to the OHANA Waikiki East hotel. Your feedback is important to us as it helps improve our services. Your concerns will be addressed and once again we do apologize for any inconveniences you experienced. We are very appreciative that you chose to stay with us and hope that we can welcome you back in the future. Please do not hesitate to call us at the hotel directly.

Island Regards,
OHANA Waikiki East Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnaby, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Central to transport, restaurant, international market and the free shuttle is just outside the door that takes people to Alamona Shopping centre. Hotel is reasonable priced considering its proximity to most things. I have stayed at the East and West Oahana. That's where I will return to stay every time I visit Honolulu.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hibiscus626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHANAEastManager, Manager at OHANA Waikiki East Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Aloha HIbiscus626,

Mahalo for your recent review on TripAdvisor and for staying with us here at the OHANA Waikiki East Hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Island Regards,
OHANA Waikiki East Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pagosa Springs, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

An older hotel in Waikiki, but a really good choice if you want to be within walking distance of everything. The rooms are comfortable and clean. Not terribly large but you aren't spending time in your room anyway. The staff is very friendly. There are three restaurants connected to the hotel which is handy when you don't feel like going anywhere else. They have a decent pool and small workout room. All in all, a nice hotel that won't break the bank. You will enjoy the location most of all.

Room Tip: Try for a higher floor. Can get a peek of the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruby717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHANAEastManager, Manager at OHANA Waikiki East Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Aloha Ruby717,

Mahalo for staying with us here at the OHANA Waikiki East hotel and for your review on TripAdvisor your kind words are most appreciated. Mahalo also for recognizing our staff as being very friendly.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Island Regards,
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

My comments are similar to many others. Location is good with many amenities within very short walking distance. Beach is only a 5 minute walk. Beds are a bit on the hard side and can be uncomfortable if firm is not your style. Don't recommend getting a kitchenette. Rooms are on the corners with a juliette balcony (fake balcony) that doesn't serve any purpose. Shower in bathroom is so tight that if you are at all over sized you will have a hard time getting into it, plus rooms are smaller. We asked to be moved to a regular room which was much nicer and larger. Hotel is older but is kept very clean and is reasonably priced for Waikiki. Would recommend staying here if you don't mind not being on the beach and don't want to pay an arm and a leg. Food in hotel restaurant is pretty good and reasonable for the area.

Room Tip: Stay away from the kitchenette units unless you absolutely need a small fridge and microwave.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caintown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHANAEastManager, Manager at OHANA Waikiki East Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Mahalo Caintown for your recent review on TripAdvisor regarding your stay at the OHANA Waikiki East Hotel.

We appreciate your honesty in your review of the hotel and thank you for staying with us.

We look forward to welcoming you in the future and are more than willing to help you with a future reservaiton by calling the hotel directly.

Island Regards,
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria BC Canada
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We got room 1618, great view of the water through the Hyatt towers. Try to get south facing! If you want a kitchenette, they are mostly on corners and have pretend balconies, nothing you can sit on. We gave up the kitchenette and were happy with the fridge and coffee maker. The food pantry is behind and the ABC on the other corner. Get a rotissarie chicken (Pantry) and bread (ABC) and you are set for a quick lunch or dinner. Many restaurants VERY close, and huge variety. Lots of one bowl meals in the marketplace, on up to fancy. The Japanese buffet behind the Ohana is $20 and lots of variety. The hotel maids are great, will give you extra coffee or towels etc. The pool is shady til after lunch at this time of year, then the sun slowly comes around the edge. There is a fairly hot tub. The beach is literally about a 4 minute walk. We went farther east towards the zoo/park for easy snorkeling and no crowds, maybe 10 minutes total. Ala Moana park and beach is also gorgeous and unpopulated. The pink shuttle is free with the hotel door card, but the colour of the card changes monthly so if you start a new month, the shuttle folk want you to get a new card from the hotel, and the hotel didnt mention that. Our room had two comfy beds and a lounger, 2 closets and a table/chairs. Kitchenette rooms only one bed, one closet and crappy shower door opening...door hits the sink, no big people will like it. The Kings village across the street has a market night every Monday and Friday, get the $3 fresh fruit and the cinnamon buns are heaven. We used a 2 for 1 breakfast coupon at Moose McGillicuddys and loved it, and their happy hour drinks and Sunday fajitas are fabulous. Dont take pool/beach towels, the desk gives you lots and you include them with your shower towels when wet. The excursion people are helpful in the lobby but some are anxious to sell you a time share and offer the free breakfast etc and wave the info card at you daily. If you have any questions, we spent 3 weeks there and glad to help.

Room Tip: there is noise at times, it is a big city, but we loved the view from 1618, so from 1612-1622? would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoloVictoriaBCCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHANAEastManager, Manager at OHANA Waikiki East Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Aloha LoloVictoria,

Mahalo for your great review on TripAdvisor and your honesty in describing the kitchenette versus the city view rooms as well as the views and balconies. We apologize for not mentioning to you that a new month means new keys in order to ride the Pink Line Trolley. We also apologize for the "anxious" time share people in the lobby and we will address this with the staff.

Your kind words regarding our maid service is greatly appreciated. And your description of the hotel location in proximity to everything is right on point. In regards to the sunlight over the pool, due to the structure of the hotel the sun comes over the pool around two pm, but any guest staying at the OHANA Waikiki East are welcome to use the pool at the OHANA Waikiki West as the sun shines on the pool from morning until late afternoon and there is also a pool bar there as long as you take the pool towels from us with you.

Once again Mahalo for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Island Regards,
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Pagoda Hotel
#69 of 84 in Honolulu
497 reviews
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#58 of 84 in Honolulu
1,886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Hilton Garden Inn Waikiki Beach
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
#60 of 84 in Honolulu
1,476 reviews
Courtyard Waikiki Beach
#70 of 84 in Honolulu
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to OHANA Waikiki East Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about OHANA Waikiki East Hotel

Property: OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
Address: 150 Kaiulani Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3292
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#44 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — OHANA Waikiki East Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 441
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
OHANA(R) Hotels by Outrigger is our mid-tier, off-beach leisure brand where guests will find local hospitality and convenience in paradise. Located in central Waikiki, this Waikiki hotel is just a 7-minute stroll to Waikiki Beach, next door to The International Marketplace and one block from Kalakaua Avenue's shopping and entertainment. OHANA Waikiki East provides safe, clean and well maintained mid-tier accommodation proudly supported by long serving hosts, many who have been with the Outrigger family for over thirty years. OHANA Waikiki East is unlike beachfront resorts where you may choose to spend your time indoors. Rather, it is an enjoyable home base for your Island adventures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your OHANA Waikiki East Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ohana East Hotel Honolulu
Ohana East Honolulu
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing