We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beware of the back-side Kitchenettes”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
Ranked #39 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
131 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Beware of the back-side Kitchenettes”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

If you have or are considering booking a kitchenette at Ohana East be sure to book early and call to request a kitchenette on the Kuhio Ave. side of the hotel. If you call, do so in the afternoons or evenings (HI time) and request either Sarah or Marilou to have them "block" your room in the front. They are the best. The problem with the back-side (facing the Sheraton Princess K) is that the bathrooms are designed with only a 16" shower opening. This means that you have to turn sideways and squeeze to enter and exit the shower - not so with the front ones, and you also have to listen to the back-up beeping of all the delivery trucks going to the sheraton at night or early mornings. DO NOT go for the 2nd floor back kitchenette that doesn't have any opening windows or balcony and looks out at a rooftop, unless you have no other place to stay and every other hotel room is sold out in Waikiki. They also do not offer the free coffee and muffin for breakfast at the Kimobean in the lobby anymore.

Room Tip: Call Sarah or Marilou in the PM and request the best rooms to be blocked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JLHoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHANAEastManager, Manager at OHANA Waikiki East Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Aloha JLHoz,

Mahalo for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. We are glad Sarah and Marilou were able to help you find the perfect room for you, they are both an asset at the front desk and we are glad they were able to get you a room in the front. Upon speaking with Marilou and Sarah they were equally happy that they were able to help you as well and that you took the time to recognize them thru TripAdvisor.

Unfortunately kitchenettes are located throughout the hotel from the second floor up to the 19th floor and you happened to get the second floor. Thank you for reccommending guest call the hotel to request a kitchenette on the front side of the building as we try our best to accomodate all request we recieve.

We are hopeful you will return to the OHANA Waikiki East Hotel.

Island Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,737 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    497
    786
    323
    81
    50
See reviews for
521
628
123
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (459)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

My family have been going to Hawaii for 30 years and we have always stayed at the Ohana West or East. I believe the hotel is excellent value considering the location and rooms available.

I will admit the rooms are a little dated however most of the properties in Waikiki are! The staff have always been very friendly and accomodating and the location is fantastic. Just a block from the beach and close to the International market place. Furthermore the free shopping shuttle to Ala Moana is a real bonus.

The pool area is nice and hasnt been used all that often every time we have stayed. Having the option to book a kitchenette is fantastic as we usually visit Waikiki for between 3-5 weeks at a time so it allows us to cook meals in the room when we like. This is not an option at the more expensive hotels on the beach.

I would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melissajbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHANAEastManager, Manager at OHANA Waikiki East Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Aloha Melissajbridge,

Mahalo for taking the time to submit a review on TripAdvisor and for rating us 5stars, your review is much appreciated.

Thank you for acknowleding our staff as being very friendly and accomodating, we do have an excellent staff here at the OHANA Waikiki East Hotel.

We are aware of the rooms being a bit outdated and hope to renovate within the next couple of years.

Mahalo once again for continuously coming and staying at the OHANA East as well as the OHANA West for the past 30years. Your compliments in regards to the excellent value, staff, pool, kitchenettes, recommending us and the use of the Pink Line Trolley are much appreciated.

We look forward to your return in the not to distant future.

Island Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

Paper thin walls, hard beds. Mediocre staff. Location is great. Hotel rooms very dated. The penthouse rooms offer a great view but don't get a connecting door unless you know your neighbour! There is a food pantry right behind the hotel but is pricey. Hop on the pink line bus for free with your room key and go to Walmart (behind ala moana) instead. Much cheaper for chocolates to bring home.

Room Tip: Face the pool, kuhio ave and kaiulani are very loud streets. And there are many hookers on kuhio in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juansalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHANAEastManager, Manager at OHANA Waikiki East Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Aloha Juansalot,

On behalf of the staff and management of the OHANA Waikiki East hotel, we woudl like to say Mahalo for your honest feedback and score of your recent stay with us.
Based on your review we did not meet your expectations and we sincerely apologize for the inconveniences you experienced while staying with us.
Should you reconsider staying with us in the future please do not hesitate to call the hotel directly and speak with a Manager on Duty so we may assist you and hopefully welcome you back.

Island Regards,
OHANA Waikiki East Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

My partner and I stayed at the Ohana in Dec 2012 -- our 3rd stay in the past four years. In the previous two visits I have always been satisfied--not thrilled, but satisfied with the experience. This time my reaction is a little more critical because, prior to moving to the Ohana, we stayed at the Holiday Inn Beachcomber on Kalakakua for two weeks. Therefore we had the chance to directly compare the two hotels. (We booked into the Beachcomber simply because there was no room available at the Ohana save for the last four days of our vacation.) To sum up, the Beachcomber wins hands down for service, location and, especially, standard. Rather surprisingly, it also offered marginally better value for money ---except for the days immediately following Christmas at which time the room price shot up astronomically. The thing that struck me the most in the comparison was how shabby the Ohana looked in contrast to the, admittedly newer, Holiday Inn. The carpets were particularly worn and drab-looking. The shower was miniscule (everything had to be placed on the floor due to absence of shelving), and the television (and choice of channels) was terrible. This latter is a particular sore point since I remarked on it to staff during my last stay one year ago. At that time I was assured that the old, vacuum tube sets were being replaced with flat-screen tvs and that I would see the difference on my next visit. Not! The tv set-up also seems determined to steer the viewer away from free-to-air and into pay tv options. You might say 'Who cares about the tv when on vacation in Waikiki?' I do. So do other people who are active during the day but prefer to stay in their room at night. However, I don't wish to be harsh or unfair to the Ohana. The rates are good, the staff are pleasant, the laundry is handy, the parking is good value ($25 per night) and the rooms....adequate. But the hotel itself is badly in need of refurbishment. Also, the breakfast 'choices' on offer at the Kombean are quite awful. Who wants a sugary muffin for breakfast? How about turning it into a decent cafe? (Also, there is nothing welcoming about the service) In conclusion, I think young people would enjoy the Ohana most. Older travellers and families might wish for a degree more comfort and a greater range of ammenities. I won't be returning on my next visit to because I am willing to pay additional for superior accomodation. But I would still recommend the hotel to young/budget or first-time travellers to Waikiki.

Room Tip: The higher floors are less noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank b f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHANAEastManager, Manager at OHANA Waikiki East Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Aloha B.F from Melbourne,

First of all we'd like to thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. We'd also like to apologize for your not being satisfied with your recent stay at the OHANA Waikiki East Hotel as we strive to give all our guest a satisfactory experience from check in to check out and every day in between. We are in the process of changing out the televions to flat screens and I am not sure which room you were in, but if you decided to return to the OHANA East I would be more than happy to help you get the room you would be most comfortable in.
Mahalo for your compliments on the staff our rates and for letting us know you would still recommend us. We are appreciative of your past stays with OHANA Waikiki East and would like to have the opportunity to welcome you back. Please call us directly and ask for the Manager on Duty so we may assist you further.

Mahalo,
OHANA Waikiki East Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

This hotel is in a central location. The rooms have views of the golf course, river and or beach. Our room on the top floor had views of everything. This was fantastic to see. Along with a generously sized balcony. The room was kept clean and comfortable throughout our stay. We had a kitchenette room which was very useful for preparing our own meals when we did not feel like eating in restaurants.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHANAEastManager, Manager at OHANA Waikiki East Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Aloha Sarah D,

Thank you for your recent TripAdvisor review, your kind comments about the hotel and your stay are most appreciated.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Island Regards,
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

Our large family of 16 booked the Ohana East hotel at the last minute. We want to thank Pono, from Guest Services, who worked hard to make our stay extra enjoyable. Our family arrived on 5 different days, and the rooms were always ready for us, and they were all on the same floor. The hotel is in a great location. It is only a block to the food pantry (grocery store), a couple blocks from the International Market Place, couple of blocks from the beach, and across the street from Kings Village. Lots of great places to eat close by too. There is a special breakfast for scramble eggs, toast or pancakes, and bacon on the main floor of the hotel that costs only about $4.The hotel is secure and safe, and requires a card key to go up the elevator. Our room had lots of storage space (2 closets) and a wonderful view. The Wifi also worked great, and our college-aged kids used the internet a lot. We asked for a room for the 16 of us to meet on Christmas Day to open presents, and the hotel gave us a complimentary large meeting room. What a nice surprise and it made our Christmas special. On the last day, our flight didn't leave until the evening, so we were given a place to shower and store our luggage. For the price, we received more than we expected. Thank you Pono and all the Ohana Waikiki East Hotel staff!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MichCalgary1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHANAEastManager, Manager at OHANA Waikiki East Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Aloha MichCalgary1,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay at the OHANA Waikiki East Hotel. I will make sure and pass yoru thank you's on to Pono and the rest of the staff your compliments are greatly appreciated.

Glad to hear your rooms were ready upon arrival and we were able to accomodate you all on the same floor as well as being able to give you the conference room on Christmas day so your entire family could be together to open presents.

Your description of the location was right on point in that yes we are centrally located to lots of restaurants and grocery stores and 5 minutes away from the beach.

Mahalo once again for staying at the OHANA Waikiki East Hotel.

Island Regards,
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

This was our 1st trip to Hawaii and we stayed at the ohana east hotel, we were not disappointed at all. The check in was friendly and quick, our room was great, exactly what we had asked for. The location is excellent for exploring waikiki and the activities desk in the lobby was very helpful and all the pick up locations for the trips were within a 5 min walk. If we were to come back to waikiki I would definitely choose to stay here again and will be recommending it to friends and family.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Jly30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHANAEastManager, Manager at OHANA Waikiki East Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Aloha Jly30,

Mahalo for your review on TripAdvisor it is greatly appreciated. We are happy this was your frist trip to Hawaii and you chose the OHANA Waikiki East Hotel.

Thank you for your comments on your check in with our staff and for recommending the OHANA Waikiki East Hotel to family and friends.

Your description of the location is right on point we are centrally located to everything.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Island Regards,
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
#58 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,434 reviews
Courtyard Waikiki Beach
#71 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Pagoda Hotel
#66 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
#63 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to OHANA Waikiki East Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about OHANA Waikiki East Hotel

Property: OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
Address: 150 Kaiulani Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3292
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#44 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — OHANA Waikiki East Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 441
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
OHANA(R) Hotels by Outrigger is our mid-tier, off-beach leisure brand where guests will find local hospitality and convenience in paradise. Located in central Waikiki, this Waikiki hotel is just a 7-minute stroll to Waikiki Beach, next door to The International Marketplace and one block from Kalakaua Avenue's shopping and entertainment. OHANA Waikiki East provides safe, clean and well maintained mid-tier accommodation proudly supported by long serving hosts, many who have been with the Outrigger family for over thirty years. OHANA Waikiki East is unlike beachfront resorts where you may choose to spend your time indoors. Rather, it is an enjoyable home base for your Island adventures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your OHANA Waikiki East Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ohana East Hotel Honolulu
Ohana East Honolulu
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing