We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not quite what I expected”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
Ranked #45 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 22, 2012

I checked the website before we left and the way it reads I expected a kitchenette with a microwave, toaster, kettle, fridge, cutlery, crockery and a sink. All we got was a coffee machine and a bar fridge, no power point for the coffee machine which meant you plug it in near the toilet or in the lounge room and fill it from the bathroom sink. I found it very misleading and was a bit peed off as we really wanted to do our own thing and not have to eat out all the time. The coffee cups provided were poly styrene (pretty awful)

Having said all that the room was clean (very dated) and the proximity was great and that is why we give it 3 stars.

The pool area is enclosed by buildings and gets about 2 hours of sun per day.

The lobby staff could use some customer service skills

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FUNin96815, Guest Relations Manager at OHANA Waikiki East Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2016

OHANA® Hotels by Outrigger is our Mid-tier, Off-Beach Leisure Brand where guests will find local hospitality and convenience in paradise.

Aloha Mai. Please like us on face book (Ohana Waikiki East) where you will find us interacting with our past, present and future guests. Sharing our story, our culture and our place. Mahalo for engaging.

Noted: photos by “TripAdvisor Travel Expert” over four years old. All beds replaced in 2014. No bedspreads exist in any rooms. All TV’s are 42” flat screen. Apologies for any misrepresentation crated by their images.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,956)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,214 - 1,220 of 1,958 reviews

Reviewed October 21, 2012

This was my 3rd visit to the Ohana East, we stayed on both our honeymoon and 1st wedding anniversary and as we have a bit of a soft spot for the place we stayed again on our 2nd anniversary!

I asked for a quieter room this time as the last time we stayed I found it noisy but this request was not granted as we were put in the same room as the previous year! That was a little disappointing - what was even more disappointing is that they'd not sorted the shower out in this room! We complained last year that it took about 20-25 mins to get the shower anywhere near warm and it actually seemed to take even longer this year.

Anyhow, as we travel to Hawaii from the UK, the flight costs a lot which means we have to choose from the budget accomodation selection! Lots of reviewers have pointed out that the decor is old and shabby and I'd agree but I find it strangely charming! Realistically for the price paid you are not going to get the four seasons hotel! The room's are clean and roomy and the maid service good. The location is fab, just a minute or so from Waikiki beach and international marketplace, there is also a good mini supermarket - the food pantry over the road which also houses a 'coffee and bean and tea leaf' , bakery and takeaway.

The downsides are that it is noisy at night because of traffic and nearby bars and clubs (there is also a man who sits opposite the hotel carving wood statues and all evening all you hear is 'tap tap tap' - after a while this COULD drive someone mad!) I would strongly advise you keep away from Kuhio Drive at night as it's pretty gross. Lots of hookers and drug dealers, we always stuck to approaching the hotel from the kaulani avenue side so we didn't have to see the seedy side of waikiki! I've read reviews that have said people entertain hookers at the Ohana East and one night we were woken up by some very LOUD bedroom antics from next door, some woman screaming and moaning which was really disgusting! Not the Ohana East's fault but the soundproofing is really poor and you can hear nearly everything that goes on in the neighbouring rooms. This did traumatise me a bit and I spent the rest of the trip hoping it didn't happen again and wore ear plugs to bed! If you were thinking about bringin children here then you might want to take this into account!

The staff on the front desk are not particularly friendly when you check in either which I don't think gives that good a first impression. However they are efficient and usually deal with your queries immediately. I did drop my t-shirt from our balcony and after calling the front desk they retrieved it and bought it up immediately which I thought was really good.

Other perks of the ohana east are that you get to ride the pink trolley to ala moana for free with your room card, you get a small free beach bag, free local newspaper on weekdays and there is free wifi. The wifi is good in the lobby but dreadful in the rooms, it was nigh on impossible to upload anything to facebook from my room! There is a Kimono bean coffee shop where they have pcs with printers and it is $5 to use the internet for 30 mins (I think!) There is a pizza place downstairs (Round table pizza) - they do darn good pizza but the actual bar (sports bar) does lack charm!

I've always given the Ohana east glowing reviews but this time my eyes were opened a bit more to the negatives as well as the positives. I woud definitely consider staying here again but only if it was a lot cheaper than the other hotels - ideally I'd like to find somewhere with better soundproofing in the same price range.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mrs_Ramjam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FUNin96815, Guest Relations Manager at OHANA Waikiki East Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2016

OHANA® Hotels by Outrigger is our Mid-tier, Off-Beach Leisure Brand where guests will find local hospitality and convenience in paradise.

Aloha Mai. Please like us on face book (Ohana Waikiki East) where you will find us interacting with our past, present and future guests. Sharing our story, our culture and our place. Mahalo for engaging.

Noted: photos by “TripAdvisor Travel Expert” over four years old. All beds replaced in 2014. No bedspreads exist in any rooms. All TV’s are 42” flat screen. Apologies for any misrepresentation crated by their images.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

The hotel is located near major entertainment venues, shopping centers and the beach--5 minutes away. Our rooms were clean as were the common areas and the bed was firm. Furnishings were somewhat dated. Customer service was polite and informative. Restaurants were located at street level and in the nearby neighborhood. Ohana East is a good choice for a short stay in Honolulu.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank max508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FUNin96815, Guest Relations Manager at OHANA Waikiki East Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2016

OHANA® Hotels by Outrigger is our Mid-tier, Off-Beach Leisure Brand where guests will find local hospitality and convenience in paradise.

Aloha Mai. Please like us on face book (Ohana Waikiki East) where you will find us interacting with our past, present and future guests. Sharing our story, our culture and our place. Mahalo for engaging.

Noted: photos by “TripAdvisor Travel Expert” over four years old. All beds replaced in 2014. No bedspreads exist in any rooms. All TV’s are 42” flat screen. Apologies for any misrepresentation crated by their images.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

We love this hotel! Right in the middle of all the action. Very close to the International market Place, restaurants, the beach, and shopping.
Includes free rides on the Pink line trolley line which was a fun way to see Waikiki and for getting to Ala Moana Shopping Centre.
Pool and spa are great. Rooms are clean and not a bad size. Very reasonable price for a great location. Will always be our choice when we visit Hawaii!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SophieT1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FUNin96815, Guest Relations Manager at OHANA Waikiki East Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2016

OHANA® Hotels by Outrigger is our Mid-tier, Off-Beach Leisure Brand where guests will find local hospitality and convenience in paradise.

Aloha Mai. Please like us on face book (Ohana Waikiki East) where you will find us interacting with our past, present and future guests. Sharing our story, our culture and our place. Mahalo for engaging.

Noted: photos by “TripAdvisor Travel Expert” over four years old. All beds replaced in 2014. No bedspreads exist in any rooms. All TV’s are 42” flat screen. Apologies for any misrepresentation crated by their images.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed at this hotel because it was cheap and appeared safe (We traveled as three young girls). The hotel was very clean, nice customer service, and we felt very safe and comfortable. Close to the beach (5 minute walk) and was in the center of all the shops at Waikiki. This was a great find, we will be taking alot more trips after we found this cheap hotel!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chelsie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FUNin96815, Guest Relations Manager at OHANA Waikiki East Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2016

OHANA® Hotels by Outrigger is our Mid-tier, Off-Beach Leisure Brand where guests will find local hospitality and convenience in paradise.

Aloha Mai. Please like us on face book (Ohana Waikiki East) where you will find us interacting with our past, present and future guests. Sharing our story, our culture and our place. Mahalo for engaging.

Noted: photos by “TripAdvisor Travel Expert” over four years old. All beds replaced in 2014. No bedspreads exist in any rooms. All TV’s are 42” flat screen. Apologies for any misrepresentation crated by their images.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

I live in Kona and travel frequently to Honolulu for business, and I almost always stay here, often at less than $90/night. Many travelers have pointed out that the decor is a bit tired and I won't disagree, but it's always clean and has everything one needs. One of the perks - a really important one for me - is that wireless or wired internet is included in the cost of the room. Many places in Waikiki charge big bucks for Internet, so the 'Ohana's policy on that is very much appreciated. It's centrally located in Waikiki - one can zip out and go either Diamond Head or Ewa direction without having to traverse the whole length of Waikiki.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wahineokawaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FUNin96815, Guest Relations Manager at OHANA Waikiki East Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2016

OHANA® Hotels by Outrigger is our Mid-tier, Off-Beach Leisure Brand where guests will find local hospitality and convenience in paradise.

Aloha Mai. Please like us on face book (Ohana Waikiki East) where you will find us interacting with our past, present and future guests. Sharing our story, our culture and our place. Mahalo for engaging.

Noted: photos by “TripAdvisor Travel Expert” over four years old. All beds replaced in 2014. No bedspreads exist in any rooms. All TV’s are 42” flat screen. Apologies for any misrepresentation crated by their images.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Stayed one week here. Brought my parents and sister on their first visits to Honolulu. From arranging the reservations, to our arrival, and throughout our stay - it was a very pleasant experience. The hotel is showing its age, but it is very clean and everything works just fine. I cannot safe enough good things about the staff - very friendly and helpful and always greeted you with a smile. The location is great too - minutes to the beach and close to all amenities. Free trolley bus to take you around Waikiki and Alo Moana as well.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aaa124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#57 of 84 in Honolulu
1,926 reviews
Aqua Oasis
#27 of 84 in Honolulu
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Vive Hotel Waikiki
Vive Hotel Waikiki
#12 of 84 in Honolulu
2,612 reviews
Shoreline Hotel Waikiki
#19 of 84 in Honolulu
1,722 reviews
Waikiki
Waikiki Resort Hotel
Waikiki Resort Hotel
#42 of 84 in Honolulu
1,676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to OHANA Waikiki East Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about OHANA Waikiki East Hotel

Address: 150 Kaiulani Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3292
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#44 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: $144 - $255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — OHANA Waikiki East Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 441
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
OHANA(R) Hotels by Outrigger is our mid-tier, off-beach leisure brand where guests will find local hospitality and convenience in paradise. Located in central Waikiki, this Waikiki hotel is just a 7-minute stroll to Waikiki Beach, next door to The International Marketplace and one block from Kalakaua Avenue's shopping and entertainment. OHANA Waikiki East provides safe, clean and well maintained mid-tier accommodation proudly supported by long serving hosts, many who have been with the Outrigger family for over thirty years. OHANA Waikiki East is unlike beachfront resorts where you may choose to spend your time indoors. Rather, it is an enjoyable home base for your Island adventures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelPower, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your OHANA Waikiki East Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ohana East Hotel Honolulu
Ohana East Honolulu
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing