We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd stay as good as the first!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
Ranked #40 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“2nd stay as good as the first!”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

We love this hotel! Right in the middle of all the action. Very close to the International market Place, restaurants, the beach, and shopping.
Includes free rides on the Pink line trolley line which was a fun way to see Waikiki and for getting to Ala Moana Shopping Centre.
Pool and spa are great. Rooms are clean and not a bad size. Very reasonable price for a great location. Will always be our choice when we visit Hawaii!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SophieT1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FUNin96815, Guest Relations Manager at OHANA Waikiki East Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2016
OHANA® Hotels by Outrigger is our Mid-tier, Off-Beach Leisure Brand where guests will find local hospitality and convenience in paradise.

Aloha Mai. Please like us on face book (Ohana Waikiki East) where you will find us interacting with our past, present and future guests. Sharing our story, our culture and our place. Mahalo for engaging.

Noted: photos by “TripAdvisor Travel Expert” over four years old. All beds replaced in 2014. No bedspreads exist in any rooms. All TV’s are 42” flat screen. Apologies for any misrepresentation crated by their images.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,841 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    534
    832
    341
    84
    50
See reviews for
557
670
133
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (489)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orange County
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed at this hotel because it was cheap and appeared safe (We traveled as three young girls). The hotel was very clean, nice customer service, and we felt very safe and comfortable. Close to the beach (5 minute walk) and was in the center of all the shops at Waikiki. This was a great find, we will be taking alot more trips after we found this cheap hotel!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chelsie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FUNin96815, Guest Relations Manager at OHANA Waikiki East Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2016
OHANA® Hotels by Outrigger is our Mid-tier, Off-Beach Leisure Brand where guests will find local hospitality and convenience in paradise.

Aloha Mai. Please like us on face book (Ohana Waikiki East) where you will find us interacting with our past, present and future guests. Sharing our story, our culture and our place. Mahalo for engaging.

Noted: photos by “TripAdvisor Travel Expert” over four years old. All beds replaced in 2014. No bedspreads exist in any rooms. All TV’s are 42” flat screen. Apologies for any misrepresentation crated by their images.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kona
Level 6 Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

I live in Kona and travel frequently to Honolulu for business, and I almost always stay here, often at less than $90/night. Many travelers have pointed out that the decor is a bit tired and I won't disagree, but it's always clean and has everything one needs. One of the perks - a really important one for me - is that wireless or wired internet is included in the cost of the room. Many places in Waikiki charge big bucks for Internet, so the 'Ohana's policy on that is very much appreciated. It's centrally located in Waikiki - one can zip out and go either Diamond Head or Ewa direction without having to traverse the whole length of Waikiki.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wahineokawaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FUNin96815, Guest Relations Manager at OHANA Waikiki East Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2016
OHANA® Hotels by Outrigger is our Mid-tier, Off-Beach Leisure Brand where guests will find local hospitality and convenience in paradise.

Aloha Mai. Please like us on face book (Ohana Waikiki East) where you will find us interacting with our past, present and future guests. Sharing our story, our culture and our place. Mahalo for engaging.

Noted: photos by “TripAdvisor Travel Expert” over four years old. All beds replaced in 2014. No bedspreads exist in any rooms. All TV’s are 42” flat screen. Apologies for any misrepresentation crated by their images.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC Canada
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Stayed one week here. Brought my parents and sister on their first visits to Honolulu. From arranging the reservations, to our arrival, and throughout our stay - it was a very pleasant experience. The hotel is showing its age, but it is very clean and everything works just fine. I cannot safe enough good things about the staff - very friendly and helpful and always greeted you with a smile. The location is great too - minutes to the beach and close to all amenities. Free trolley bus to take you around Waikiki and Alo Moana as well.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aaa124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Somewhat dated furnishings but clean, comfortable and spacious enough. Walls a bit thin, when anyone was leaving early in the morning all the surrounding rooms were aware! Good location however, close to the beach and free shuttle bus to other end of town.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JillG63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

The room was adequate, clean and comfortable. Decor is getting a bit tired but for the cost we were quite happy. Staff and service was good. Quite close to all the shops and restaurants. Buses past the door every few minutes. You could easily find nicer places to stay but you will pay more.

Room Tip: We were on the 6th floor,no problem with noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for 4 nights and ended up with a bad taste for a few reasons

They lost the note on our room my wife left saying to let me in, then found it 40 mins later, wasting my time. The response was very "we can't let you in", rather than "sorry we can't let you in, would you like to leave your things with the bell boy or use he courtesy room". Had to really demand everything.

Shower was rarely hot. We let the staff know but unfortunately when they checked it was behaving. No offer to change room, no proactive checkup later.

Positive: Room was spacious, location is in the middle of things in Waikiki (not on the beach) so fairly convenient but also a bit noisy.

In short, there are better places to stay, and in particular nicer, more helpful staff.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#57 of 84 in Honolulu
1,888 reviews
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
#64 of 84 in Honolulu
1,646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Hilton Garden Inn Waikiki Beach
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Pagoda Hotel
#69 of 84 in Honolulu
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to OHANA Waikiki East Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about OHANA Waikiki East Hotel

Property: OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
Address: 150 Kaiulani Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3292
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#44 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — OHANA Waikiki East Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 441
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
OHANA(R) Hotels by Outrigger is our mid-tier, off-beach leisure brand where guests will find local hospitality and convenience in paradise. Located in central Waikiki, this Waikiki hotel is just a 7-minute stroll to Waikiki Beach, next door to The International Marketplace and one block from Kalakaua Avenue's shopping and entertainment. OHANA Waikiki East provides safe, clean and well maintained mid-tier accommodation proudly supported by long serving hosts, many who have been with the Outrigger family for over thirty years. OHANA Waikiki East is unlike beachfront resorts where you may choose to spend your time indoors. Rather, it is an enjoyable home base for your Island adventures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, HotelsforEveryone and getaroom.com so you can book your OHANA Waikiki East Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ohana East Hotel Honolulu
Ohana East Honolulu
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing