We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easy, Relaxed, nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach
Ranked #16 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed June 17, 2014

I had a very large room that was clean and comfortable if not particularly stylish. I like the hotels location, very near the beach and strip, but slightly removed from the action—easy to walk everywhere. This hotel struck me as being extremely good value and a great night's sleep.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gandaratravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2014

Aloha Gandaratravels- Mahalo for the great comments! Our hotel offers one of the best values in Waikiki, and glad you had a nice and relaxing getaway with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,090)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,076 - 2,082 of 3,091 reviews

Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

I had read negative reviews about this hotel but was pleasantly surprised. The room was nice, clean and spacious. We didn't wait for elevators but I don't know if this is a busy time if year or not. The free Bree breakfast was great. A big selection and fresh every day. The wind was a bit if a problem hen you were eating breakfast, but a tray was provided to take breakfast to your room. All in all a great hotel. Would stay here again

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kim92956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2014

Dear Kim92956- Mahalo for the great feedback. We are grateful to hear that you enjoyed our complimentary a.m. Kitchen Skillet and spacious guest room. It would be a pleasure to see you again!
-The Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2014

This was a stay-cation and specifically booked this hotel for the fire pit and breakfast. I had room 710 on diamond head tower.
The room was small and not like the photo which showed a pullout sofa. Our room just had a one sitter. The bed was great! Hair dryer and iron in room with mini fridge. One cup coffee maker and in room tray was a plus.
My first night went to the fire pit at night to find ... It's not on! Oh snap! The feature I was looking for and it's not turned on! Please advertise on the website when it's on ... I felt a big letdown.
So my second gripe was the minuscule balcony ... Two chairs facing each other with a table. The view was nice of Leahi but the air unit was behind one chair making it very uncomfortably hot.
As for breakfast, it was okay. Egg croissant and French toast. Hot and cold cereals. Variety of breads and juices. We only drank juice.
I felt the complimentary coffee should be put out earlier in the lobby and at night when guest returns. We weren't able to use this service.
The exercise room was nicely equipped.
We paid an extra $50 per day vs another budget hotel during a stay in May.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank spunky_spud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2014

Aloha spunky_spud,
Mahalo for choosing to stay with us for your stay-cation! We regret to learn if the fire pit was not functioning during your stay, and hope you brought this to the attention of one of our Gallery Hosts. We hope to welcome you back again soon.
-The Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2014

A lot of reviews accurate - elevator wait, some sign of age, rooms that are close to each other are really not quiet, and a room within close proximity from what I had (12th floor, Deluxe Mtn. View) gets loud with the in & out of other guests. Parking is another thing, only 20, or so self-park spots (more on that later though). Although, the hotel did it's best to fulfill my "Quiet room" preference. They did all they can, that's the thing. Those cons didn't outweigh benefits. Very helpful staff upon check in. - literally a slew of 20+ people from a van that offloaded just in front of me but front desk (or, Gallery Host, as they refer to themselves) quickly took next person and expedited my check in. I know why they're referred to Gallery Host because after check in, they show you around, well, the Gallery. The lobby, as most people say, is beautiful. Open air, tropical setting, public computers. Very nice. That's what I mean, elevator wait (c'mon, you're in Hawaii), age of hotel (very clean and updated rooms, what'd you expect for older part of island overrun by tourists all the time), etc. Especially accommodating was the overnight staff. I mean, I had a specific request for a specific time frame and they pulled through - Matt (Gallery Host) and Mark De Guzman (parking attendant), you know what you did! Awesome. I mean parking was either self-park (not usually available) and public parking up until midnight each night for fee as well. But, Mark, he'll take care of you. Trust me, he did for me. All in all, breakfast included, nice location, updated rooms (I mean, walk-in glass door, shower). Great stay!

Room Tip: Higher room but if elevator wait a problem then lower, like 6th floor, or so.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank J D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

Aloha JD,
Mahalo for taking the time to tell us about your great experience at the Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach! You can't beat our location in Waikiki, in addition to the five-star service provided by our enthusiastic team members. We will be sure to share your praises with both Mark's at the hotel, and they will greatly appreciate hearing the nice feedback!
-The Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2014

We stayed at the Hyatt Place on Waikiki Beach for 3 nights. The location is great. It's easy to get to with a car and the hotel is along Waikiki Beach so there are plenty of restaurants, shopping and things to do nearby. There were 2 downsides to the hotel during our stay. In the evenings, one of the two elevators was not working. So, there was a long line for the elevator at night (not something you want to have to deal with after a day out in the sun). The second hiccup was parking. When we arrived, the hotel ran out of self parking so we had to pay extra for valet parking. There is a charge for self parking, but valet is more. Other than those 2 minor complaints, the hotel was great overall. Breakfast is included with the stay and they had a decent selection (eggs, meat, cereal, etc.). We enjoyed our stay and would return in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LuvDebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2014

Aloha LuvDebe,
Mahalo for choosing to stay with us! We are happy that you enjoyed our location, friendly staff and complimentary a.m. Kitchen Skillet. Please pardon the minor delays you experienced while waiting for the elevator in the evenings. We appreciate your patience and understanding while we worked to repair one of the elevators. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back again soon!
-The Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2014

This hotel is good if you have been to Hawaii many times and you are just looking for a place to crash. I would not necessarily stay here if it was my first-time as I would want it to be special. The hotel is very clean and the staff is excellent. It has a nice gym with free breakfast. The hotel is within walking distance to many restaurants and entertainment. Overall no complaints.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WaikikiTdot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014

We stayed here in April as a family of 4. The location was great. It is easy walking distance to the quiet end of Waikiki and the kids beaches. We had a room on the 14th floor which was beautifully quiet and had a nice enough view to Diamond Head if you craned your neck a little! The staff were wonderfully polite and helpful as were the guys working the valet. The room was spacious and clean. Breakfast was served daily and was more than enough to get us going for the day - and we really appreciated the opportunity to take a coffee away too!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AU_Wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#28 of 84 in Honolulu
4,579 reviews
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4,182 reviews
Prince Waikiki
#1 of 84 in Honolulu
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Shore Waikiki
#20 of 84 in Honolulu
1,661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach

Address: 175 Paoakalani Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3743
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#12 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#17 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#20 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: $209 - $403 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 426
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach is conveniently located on the Diamond Head end of Waikiki and just a 3-minute walk to the golden sands of Waikiki Beach. The 100% smoke-free Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach is a spring board to many activities and attractions for the visitor on the go. Our Complimentary a.M. Kitchen Skillet™ breakfast available in our Guest Kitchen features freshly prepared breakfast sandwiches, waffles, French toast, pancakes, oatmeal, and Asian specialties. Stay refreshed with a selection of specialty beverages made with Starbucks(R) espresso roast and a variety of premium beers, wines & cocktails. During Happy Hour (4 to 7 PM daily), enjoy Long Board and Big Wave draft beers for $6, Stella for $7, and Mai Tais for $7. Open 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, our Gallery Market offers a selection of bottled beverages, perfectly packaged grab 'n go items from salads to sandwiches, while our Bakery Case offers an array of tempting pastries and sweets. Complimentary 24-hour Stay Fit(R) fitness center with Life Fitness(R) cardio equipment located on the third floor. Sliding door access to the pool deck. Valet parking: $32 daily fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Resort Honolulu
Ocean Resort Hotel Waikiki Oahu
Ocean Waikiki Hotel
Ocean Resort Hotel Waikiki Honolulu
Ocean Resort Hawaii
Hawaii Ocean Resort
Ocean Resort Waikiki
Ocean Hotel Waikiki
Ocean Hotel Honolulu
Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing