We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach
Ranked #19 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Just five minutes walk to the beach and zoo. Fee includes breakfast which has a limited selection but good enough. There are a couple of stores around even during late nights. Bus stop on the corner and most tour buses can stop out front of the hotel. All in all, this hotel gives you value for money and I would go here versus other unreasonably priced hotel around it.

Room Tip: Doesn't really matter which side you choose, you won't get a good view of the ocean. 3rd flo...
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lancelot78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2014

Aloha Lancelot78,
We are happy that you enjoyed our close proximity to the beach and Honolulu Zoo during your time here! Many of our previous guests rave about our wide selection of a.m. Kitchen Skillet options, and regret if it felt somewhat limited. The Hyatt Place does offer one of the best values in Waikiki, and we are glad you appreciated this aspect that differentiates us from other nearby hotels. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
-The Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,933)
There are newer reviews for Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,968 - 1,974 of 2,935 reviews

Reviewed May 12, 2014

I am really glad I found this hotel for our Hawaiian vacation. My boyfriend and I were just looking for a nice room to book while in Waikiki because we knew we weren't spending much time in the hotel... since there are so many trails and beaches for us to visit. So, we didn't have the need to spend tons of money on a resort. But I really needed a nice, clean and updated hotel! I try not to just hotels by the pictures, but I do! A lot of the hotels in our price ranges were very old-looking. I was very happy when I stumbled upon Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach. It looked very clean and modern and reasonably priced!

We stayed for 9 nights and it was affordable to us. The big pros for this hotel was the price, free breakfast and NO RESORT FEES!!! I couldn't believe how other places had resort fees that made their price jump so much! So I was excited to find this hotel did not have resort fees!!!

The walk to the beach is only 2 short blocks. And the rooms are nice, clean and spacious. The beds are very soft and comfortable. Out of all the hotels/resorts I've stayed in, this is my 2nd favorite bed! The bathroom is also very clean. Old and dirty bathrooms always give me the heebie jeebies and would need flip flops to take a shower in, but these were great! Sure, there's no bathtub, but why would you even need one in Hawaii?? The tv is large and there is a mini fridge. We had a small balcony, but it didn't matter to us. The room was nice and clean and that's all that matters.

Breakfast was good... we didn't get to go every day but when I did I was always able to grab food to bring to our room. There was always enough food and it wasn't so crowded.

There is a 24-hour fitness gym... the free weights only went up to 50lbs dumbbell if it matters. I'm a tiny girl so it was good enough for me!

There is also free wifi. If you need to use the computer and print out vouchers for your day trips and such, you are able to do so in the lobby!

There is only one con that could not be helped since every hotel probably charges for it... the parking! it was $30 per night if we did valet parking. There is self paring but it's first come, first served. If you are always out because of activities, then you have to resort to valet. FYI, they start charging if you keep your car there after midnight. Before midnight, we were told you weren't charged. At first, it was hard to get a straight answer about parking cost but eventually a nice valet named Pablo? informed us. We found a way about our parking dilemma after 2 nights of parking there... we parked ~2 blocks away at the 24-hour parking for Honolulu Zoo. $1/hour!

The pool wasn't anything special in the hotel. It looked small... but I rarely saw anyone in it because why would you need to use the pool when the gorgeous beach is right there!

All in all, I would definitely stay here again! We can't wait to go back to Hawaii!!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank QueenOfShiba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2014

Aloha QueenOfShiba,
Mahalo for taking the time to share your wonderful recap with us! We appreciate you choosing to stay with us for nine nights and explore the Waikiki area. It sounds like you and your boyfriend greatly appreciated the fact that we do not have resort fees. We are excited to learn that our hotel topped your list of best hotel beds! Many guests expect there to be lots of parking available, but are often surprised to realize that parking is a hot commodity in our area. Please know that our valet parking rates are very competitive with other nearby facilities, and regret if this caused any inconvenience. It gives us great pleasure to see that you've selected us as your hotel of choice when returning to Waikiki!
-The Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2014

Stayed at the Hyatt Place for 6 nights at the end of April for the remainder of our honeymoon.
Having stayed in Waikiki before(at the Holiday Inn) we knew that the Hyatt was towards the end of the strip and that we would have to walk to get into the "action." That side of it didn't bother us much except at the end of the day when we really felt that extra block to walk. However, because of the location it is very quiet. Another positive was that it was only a 2 minute walk to the beach.
We liked how clean the room was and how new it felt. The room felt very small. It was simply the bed, a chair and the tv and desk. We had to put one suitcase on the desk and the other on the floor in front of the chair which meant the doorway to the balcony was blocked. There was very little room to move around.
The free breakfast was an added bonus with the usual continential breakfast available and a rotation of differnt types of hot food every few days.
The negative for us was that for our final day and a half, we had no wifi connection. Apparently a part had broken and there was no internet from the 7th floor up. That was annoying as there was no sign informing people of this. Also on our last night, a water main burst on the street so the hotel had no water. The next morning they provided a free bottle of water to guests however we were flying back to Australia that day so it didn't really help us with wanting a shower before our 10 hour flight home.
While the hotel was lovely, if we were to return to Waikiki we would stay in a more central location.

Room Tip: We paid extra for an ocean view room and would recommend as this was a higher up room.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank boots22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2014

Aloha boots22,
Mahalo for choosing to stay with us during your recent honeymoon. Congratulations on your nuptials, and we hope you had an unforgettable experience in Waikiki! We are happy that you enjoyed our close proximity to the beach and vast selection of breakfast items available in our Gallery Kitchen. It disappoints us to learn about the challenges you encountered with the WiFi and water during your stay, and can assure you this was a rare occurrence. We can't control when these things happen, but we are prepared to find a way to make it right with our guests in any way possible. It seems we fell short in exceeding expectations prior to your departure, and wish that you could have taken a shower before flying back to Australia. We completely empathize with your concern, and hope you will give us another opportunity to welcome you back for a much improved experience!
-The Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2014

Stayed here with my wife for three nights in May. This hotel is a great value compared to adjacent hotels and the walk to Waikiki beach is a short two blocks. The rooms are clean and nice. The breakfast had good variety and tasted great. Be aware that the breakfast area will be crowded, especially on a weekend. The customer service was very accommodating and helpful. I recommend requesting a room on a higher floor to get above the street noise. Partial ocean views are available, even being a few blocks from the beach. I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank joshb416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

Aloha joshb416,
Mahalo for deciding to stay with your wife here! We offer a great value proposition to those looking for an affordable and immaculate hotel just steps away from the beach. Our team does an incredible job of accommodating each of our guests with any question or request. It gives us great pleasure to hear that you would return to us again in the near future!
The Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2014

I have three rooms at the hotel for 4/23-4/30/14. This hotel beats my expectation in many ways, the rooms are very new, comfortable and clean, location is great in central Waikiki and the hotel offers free breakfast buffet and WIFI. The hotel is very new like two years old, unlike the other hotels in Waikiki, good hotel but OLD inside. Service is great. My family had a great time there and we miss the breakfast buffet, there are lots of selection and fresh cut fruits. Would definitely go back to this hotel again and recommend it to anyone! I have been to Hawaii 14 times and I finally found the hotel that I truly like!

Room Tip: There are few types of rooms with different views, we had both ocean view and city view, both are ni...
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tw0fish1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

Aloha Tw0fish1,
Thank you many times over for your energetic and glowing endorsement! We enjoyed hosting your family in April, and glad you appreciated our refreshed guest rooms and great sense of aloha spirit throughout the hotel.
Mahalo for recommending our hotel to fellow readers, and we look forward to welcoming you back for your 15th visit to Hawaii!
-The Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2014

We stayed here for one night after our cruise. We arrived at the hotel in the morning and were able to check in immediately. The room we were in was a corner room so the balcony was big. The room was spacious and clean and equipped with a large flat screen TV and mini fridge. The sofa is also a pullout bed but we did not use it.

The location of the hotel was excellent because it was only 5 minutes away from the beach by walking. There were plenty of shops and restaurants within a 15-minute walking distance.

The breakfast came with the room and we had breakfast before heading to the airport. The food was average. Beware of birds in the breakfast area. They would come eat your food if unattended.

It was a good stay overall and would consider staying here again if we could get a good rate.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

Aloha aggiegurl,
Mahalo for choosing to stay with us after your cruise! We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay in a spacious corner room and large private lanai. Our location is second to none, just steps away from one of the world's most beautiful beaches, and world-class shopping and dining. The Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach is an oasis of tranquility, a calming contract to the vibrant energy of Waikiki. We regret if our a.m. Kitchen Skillet options fell short of exceeding expectations during your stay, but Hyatt Place strives to offer more variety beyond just your typical scrambled eggs for no additional charge. If given another opportunity, we look forward to welcoming you back on your next return to Waikiki.
Mahalo,
-The Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2014

Spent 4 nights here from April 22nd to 26th, 2014.

Good things:
- Free breakfast with plenty of selection. That is a nice touch considering in Waikiki meals can be pricey. Fruits, pastries, hot and cold cereal, bacon and eggs etc etc. It was very busy as to be expected, but we felt it was run quite efficiently and the food didn't run empty.
- Rooms were nice and clean as was the rest of the hotel.
- Comfortable beds
- Good location. We didn't find it too noisy (Waikiki can be very loud) because we were facing a side street. The hotel was just a couple of minutes walk to the beach. Most of the beach front hotels are very pricey compared to being a block or two away.
- Free wi-fi (the other hotel we stayed at in Waikiki charged $10.00 per day)


OK things:
- Front desk staff were just ok. Not overly friendly, but not rude. Just doing their job...nothing more, nothing less. The bar staff were a little more in tune with customer service I think. They have a happy hour in the afternoon and make good tropical drinks.

Things we didn't like:
- If you want a decent size balcony with a view, you may want to give this place a miss. We were on the 5th floor (I asked for the highest floor possible and that was it - hotel was apparently very full). The balcony was so small that you couldn't even face forward in your chair. You had to sit sideways because it was only about 2 feet deep and maybe 8 feet long. We gazed over a rather ugly apartment building. Needless to stay, we didn't spend any time on it. Maybe you get a bigger balcony with a room upgrade??
- The room was tiny.


You get what you pay for. Overall no big complaints about this property. We were satisfied. We paid about $170.00 per night here. We stayed at another nearby Hilton property when we returned to Waikiki after the cruise we took. The Hilton was about $50.00 more per night and you paid for wifi and no breakfast included. It was worth paying the extra though to have a larger balcony with a fabulous view from the 30th floor, not to mention a much larger room.

Room Tip: higher floor if you can get one.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

Aloha David S,
We greatly appreciate you commentary on the highlights of your stay with us! Guests continually praise us on our hotel-wide Wi-Fi and a.m. Kitchen Skillet™ breakfast featuring freshly prepared breakfast sandwiches, oatmeal, fresh cut fruit, and Asian specialties available daily in our Gallery Kitchen. We regret to learn if our strong sense of aloha spirit was missing during your recent stay, and can guarantee you this is a rare occurrence. Please be aware that the Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach is one of the very few hotels in Waikiki that offers guests a private lanai. We understand that everyone has different preferences in a hotel, however, we are happy to find ways to custom tailor a guests' experience to make sure their stay is exceptional!
Mahalo,
-The Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#27 of 84 in Honolulu
4,457 reviews
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Shore Waikiki
#21 of 84 in Honolulu
1,526 reviews
Waikiki
Pacific Beach Hotel
Pacific Beach Hotel
#51 of 84 in Honolulu
3,412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach

Address: 175 Paoakalani Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3743
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#12 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#17 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#20 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: $206 - $344 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 426
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach is conveniently located on the Diamond Head end of Waikiki and just a 3-minute walk to the golden sands of Waikiki Beach. The 100% smoke-free Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach is a spring board to many activities and attractions for the visitor on the go. Our Complimentary a.M. Kitchen Skillet™ breakfast available in our Guest Kitchen features freshly prepared breakfast sandwiches, waffles, French toast, pancakes, oatmeal, and Asian specialties. Stay refreshed with a selection of specialty beverages made with Starbucks(R) espresso roast and a variety of premium beers, wines & cocktails. During Happy Hour (4 to 7 PM daily), enjoy Long Board and Big Wave draft beers for $6, Stella for $7, and Mai Tais for $7. Open 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, our Gallery Market offers a selection of bottled beverages, perfectly packaged grab 'n go items from salads to sandwiches, while our Bakery Case offers an array of tempting pastries and sweets. Complimentary 24-hour Stay Fit(R) fitness center with Life Fitness(R) cardio equipment located on the third floor. Sliding door access to the pool deck. Valet parking: $32 daily fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Resort Honolulu
Ocean Resort Hotel Waikiki Oahu
Ocean Waikiki Hotel
Ocean Resort Hotel Waikiki Honolulu
Ocean Resort Hawaii
Hawaii Ocean Resort
Ocean Resort Waikiki
Ocean Hotel Waikiki
Ocean Hotel Honolulu
Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing