We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our first trip to Hawaii.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach
Ranked #16 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed February 4, 2014

We spent two nights at this wonderful hotel before our recent cruise. Beautiful room, very helpful and friendly staff. Great location just an easy walk to Waikiki beach, the Honolulu zoo, restaurants and shopping. The included breakfast buffet was extensive and delicious. The hotel even mailed some forgotten items to our home in Florida. I would book there again and highly recommend it to everyone.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Wild34228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,994)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,087 - 2,093 of 2,995 reviews

Reviewed February 1, 2014

I emailed the hotel prior to arriving to check they would store luggage as we had an early arrival of around 8 A.M. and check in was 3. The reply back a few days later was no problem. Bags were stored tied together with other bags by a cable cord in the lobby. When we were able to check in we were given a single bed room when I had booked two beds in the room, (and was told this was an upgrade on my booking) so went back down to ask for my original room as I needed two beds, not one. The girl behind the desk said this wasn't possible and that it is a request, not an actual booking that can't be honored on my room type, apparently, even though they advertise city view rooms with two queen beds on their own website for booking. She suggested we sleep on the pull out sofa - not what I'm paying good money for and when I booked the room over 6 months prior. After making us wait over half an hour, and being told we would have to move rooms later in the week from a one bed to a two bed, eventually the situation was rectified and we were in fact given a two bed room like I'd booked (so turns out they existed after all).

Room was huge but on the second floor so was not subject to the key activation security for the elevators, which only works for levels 3 and above. However, I think we were punished for asking for the two bed room we had booked for as our room backed onto the elevator shaft (not too much noise from that, thankfully), and also the driveway by Kuhio Ave where traffic was super loud all night long and we were woken around 6 A.M. each morning by the delightful noise of the dumpster truck arriving to empty the dumpster in the driveway one floor down from our bedroom window. Noise was terrible - I have stayed in hotels by the airport and hotels on Broadway in NYC and never heard a sound so they really do need to soundproof these rooms.

Breakfast was good with a hot food selection on a two day rotation basis. However as it is outdoors by the pool birds are absolutely everywhere, which is not good as I have a huge bird phobia!

Location is good with a block walk to the south end of Waikiki Beach and close to the bus stop and an ABC Store.

A tip for the hotel, as I prefer to book direct through the hotel website where possible/feasible - make your prices on your own website more competitive to third party sites and people will be more likely to book direct with the hotel - first time in a long time I've used a third party site as the hotel site's prices were astronomically high comparatively.

Room Tip: Don't ask for the room you booked or you will be punished with a noisy room by the road and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aquathest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2014

Aloha aquathest,
Mahalo for taking the time to tell us about your recent experience! Unfortunately, we cannot guarantee particular room types prior to a guest's arrival, but do our absolute best to honor the original request. It appears that our team was able to move you to a larger guest room with two queen beds in a timely manner. We hope you communicated the noise disruption to our Gallery Hosts during your stay, so they could offer a resolution. Please be aware that the rates on our website are competitive with other third party websites, and prices change constantly to keep up with demand in Waikiki. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back again soon!
Mahalo nui loa,
The Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach Guest Experience Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

The tower we were in overlooked the canal area and you could see Diamond head from the lanai.
Stayed for 10 nights and never got sick of the breakfast as different choices daily. The breakfast would keep us going all day with just a snack needed till diner. We would go to breakfast before 7am and the birds don't bug you at that time.
Our room had 2 queens and a lounge area with 4 seats.
Best shower/bathroom I have used in a hotel, the room never got steamy or have condensation in it.
Close to the beach, we hired surf boards across the road in the Marriott Hotel.
Close to shops and restaurants.
Even with the lanai door open at night we would sleep really well, the car sounds and other noises would not disturb us.
Very nice area, safe to walk around there at night without worrying.
Always clean, nice foyer and towels for the beach.
You need your room key to access the floors in the lift, so very safe hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie_loveabargain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2014

Aloha JULIESydneyAustralia,
Mahalo for sharing such a wonderful recap of your recent stay at the Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach! We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed the view of Diamond Head from your lanai and the different a.m. Kitchen Skillet options offered on a daily basis. It would be great to welcome you back again whenever your return to Waikiki!
Mahalo nui loa,
The Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach Guest Experience Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Stayed here in October for a night before going to our rental home in Kailua. Was given a great room that was very clean and had a nice view of Princess Kapiolani park and Diamond Head.

Very friendly staff and nice free breakfast buffet. Good location at the end of the Honolulu beach, a block or 2 in however. Will definitely visit again if the price is right and I want to stay in busy Honolulu. Sorry I just prefer the quieter more authentic parts of Hawaii.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the elevator, with a good view, and high up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Piltorious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2014

Aloha Piltorious,
Mahalo for taking time to tell us about your previous experience at the Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach! We are glad you enjoyed the view of Kapiolani park and Diamond Head from your guest room. Our hotel is one of the best kept secrets in Waikiki, offering a delicious and complimentary a.m. Kitchen Skillet, close distance to the beach, and exceptional service. We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Mahalo nui loa,
The Hyatt Place Guest Services Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

The room was spacious with 2 queen beds, work desk and a couch. It It was perfect for our family and the kids loved the hotel room. It is an easy walk to the beach, restaurants, shops and the zoo. The breakfast that was included in the stay had a variety of food options - eggs, protein, pastries, yogurt, juice and even pickles veggies w/rice! We did not experience the bird problems others were complaining about. It is next to the pool and is partially outside. It opens up around 6:30 am. Self parking $18.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank Bacong F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2014

Aloha Bacong F,
Mahalo for taking the time to tell us about your perfect stay at the Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach! We are glad that the layout of our guest room fit the bill for your family. There is always a large variety of a.m. Kitchen Skillet breakfast items to choose from on a daily basis at our hotel. We hope to welcome you back again soon.
--The Hyatt Place Guest Services Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Only a one night stop over on our way home.....after 4 weeks of hotels room, I loved this room. Everything was new and the room was huge, beds and pillows were great. Air con was quite, breakfast was really great with a good variety of food, which you can take back to your room if you wish as a breakfast tray is provided in your room. Hotel is down the Zoo end of Waikiki, but nothing is too far away in Waikiki to walk too. Plan to visit again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank sneece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights before heading to the Andaz in Maui. Glad we started our trip here instead of ending it. Mostly because Waikiki is just so crowded (expected) and full of loitering and drugged hobos (not expected) begging for weed money. Plus the Andaz in Maui is awesome.

Back to the hotel... only 4 stars because the pool isn't worth getting into since its so small and no hot tub. However everything else about it was just what we needed... free breakfast that has lots of options and slightly changes each day (watch out for birds), close proximity to beach and main Waikiki restaurants, complimentary ocean view room upgrade, nice updated rooms and nice tv.

At only 12000 hyatt points, I would definitely look to stay here first IF we go back to Waikiki in the future.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Dan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Aloha Dan B,
Mahalo for your review and choosing to stay at the Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach before your trip to Maui. Our hotel offers a great value proposition, and the complimentary a.m. Kitchen Skillet is just icing on the cake! Our pool is a great retreat after a long day at the beach and offers a quiet place to relax and catch up. It gives us great pleasure to read that you would return to us again on your next trip to Waikiki Beach!
Mahalo nui loa,
Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#27 of 84 in Honolulu
4,503 reviews
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4,130 reviews
Park Shore Waikiki
#20 of 84 in Honolulu
1,574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prince Waikiki
#1 of 84 in Honolulu
281 reviews
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach

Address: 175 Paoakalani Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3743
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#12 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#17 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#20 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: $199 - $366 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 426
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach is conveniently located on the Diamond Head end of Waikiki and just a 3-minute walk to the golden sands of Waikiki Beach. The 100% smoke-free Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach is a spring board to many activities and attractions for the visitor on the go. Our Complimentary a.M. Kitchen Skillet™ breakfast available in our Guest Kitchen features freshly prepared breakfast sandwiches, waffles, French toast, pancakes, oatmeal, and Asian specialties. Stay refreshed with a selection of specialty beverages made with Starbucks(R) espresso roast and a variety of premium beers, wines & cocktails. During Happy Hour (4 to 7 PM daily), enjoy Long Board and Big Wave draft beers for $6, Stella for $7, and Mai Tais for $7. Open 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, our Gallery Market offers a selection of bottled beverages, perfectly packaged grab 'n go items from salads to sandwiches, while our Bakery Case offers an array of tempting pastries and sweets. Complimentary 24-hour Stay Fit(R) fitness center with Life Fitness(R) cardio equipment located on the third floor. Sliding door access to the pool deck. Valet parking: $32 daily fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Resort Honolulu
Hawaii Ocean Resort
Ocean Waikiki Hotel
Ocean Resort Hawaii
Ocean Resort Hotel Waikiki Oahu
Ocean Resort Hotel Waikiki Honolulu
Ocean Resort Waikiki
Ocean Hotel Waikiki
Ocean Hotel Honolulu
Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing