We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach
Ranked #20 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Only a one night stop over on our way home.....after 4 weeks of hotels room, I loved this room. Everything was new and the room was huge, beds and pillows were great. Air con was quite, breakfast was really great with a good variety of food, which you can take back to your room if you wish as a breakfast tray is provided in your room. Hotel is down the Zoo end of Waikiki, but nothing is too far away in Waikiki to walk too. Plan to visit again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank sneece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,674 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,196
    1,071
    291
    76
    40
See reviews for
982
938
128
247
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (504)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
2 reviews
Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights before heading to the Andaz in Maui. Glad we started our trip here instead of ending it. Mostly because Waikiki is just so crowded (expected) and full of loitering and drugged hobos (not expected) begging for weed money. Plus the Andaz in Maui is awesome.

Back to the hotel... only 4 stars because the pool isn't worth getting into since its so small and no hot tub. However everything else about it was just what we needed... free breakfast that has lots of options and slightly changes each day (watch out for birds), close proximity to beach and main Waikiki restaurants, complimentary ocean view room upgrade, nice updated rooms and nice tv.

At only 12000 hyatt points, I would definitely look to stay here first IF we go back to Waikiki in the future.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Aloha Dan B,
Mahalo for your review and choosing to stay at the Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach before your trip to Maui. Our hotel offers a great value proposition, and the complimentary a.m. Kitchen Skillet is just icing on the cake! Our pool is a great retreat after a long day at the beach and offers a quiet place to relax and catch up. It gives us great pleasure to read that you would return to us again on your next trip to Waikiki Beach!
Mahalo nui loa,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Falls, Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 24, 2014

Wow where do I begin! The staff was so friendly, helpful and genuine everyone from the front desk to our awesome housekeeper. Our room was beautiful and recently remodeled we loved the layout with the sofa sitting area. I have to comment on how quiet the hotel was; we never heard any noise from others on our floor. We had a gorgeous view of the ocean from the eleventh floor. The breakfast in the morning was terrific and the choices and options changed daily. This was our first time coming to Oahu and because the experience was so great we will definitely be coming back next year and we will be staying at the Hyatt Place!!

Room Tip: Would recommend the ocean view...you will never get tired of it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 835ShelleyM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Aloha 835ShelleyM,
Mahalo for taking the time to highly recommend our hotel to the TripAdvisor community. We are happy that you found our hotel to be peaceful getaway. The success of our hotel depends on our comfortable guest rooms, gorgeous Waikiki views, enthusiastic team members, and exceptional a.m. Kitchen Skillet offerings. It gives us great pleasure to read that you will be returning to us again next year!
Mahalo nui loa,
--The Hyatt Place Guest Services Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burbank, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2014

There is NO RESORT FEE and that in and off itself makes this a place that should be rewarded with a great review. I'm sick and tired of hidden resort fees for stuff you should be getting as part of your hotel stay.
The Hyatt Place was a surprise. I wasn't expecting all that much, but it was far and away a nice surprise. We loved the location as it was close to everything. The valet crew was on top of it totally. The front desk staff was always so kind. The morning breakfast was better than most hotels that offer complimentary food. There was plenty of fresh fruit and oatmeal. Sitting around the outside fire is a nice way to start the morning.
We were on the 9th floor and our room was huge. I was surprised that this place had such a large bedroom.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lidya D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Aloha Lidya D,
Mahalo for your review. There are no resort fees here and we offer amenities that include breakfast, in room coffee and internet service among other things. Our location and friendly service and comfortable atmosphere are tough to beat here in Waikiki. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back again soon!
Mahalo nui loa,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamiruru
Level Contributor
320 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2014

Not a lot of sleep in this hotel which needs a good renovation. Our room was located in the Diamond Tower over the lobby and on a street. We heard loud street noise all night long, motorcycles, etc. We room decor needs updating as well as the baths which are probably from the 70's. I don't plan on staying here again until after the renovation.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamiruru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Aloha Pamiruru,
Mahalo for your review. Please be aware that we completed extensive renovations in 2012. We believe that you may have wrote your review on behalf of another hotel as opposed to ours. Safe travels!
Mahalo,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

Me and my husband stayed here for our honeymoon (delayed by 13 years lol) and also celebrating our joint 40th birthdays. We got a free upgrade to a deluxe ocean view (booked a regular ocean view) without asking.

The room was on the 11th floor, which was not high enough to see the ocean without other buildings blocking it, so I would say it was more of a partial ocean view. The room itself was spacious and very clean. Bed was comfortable. Rooms cleaned daily but they left our food tray behind one day.

Hotel is very close to beach - probably a 5 minute walk. Located close to the zoo/aquarium. We walked down the strip (amazing shopping, we couldn't believe it!).

Tour buses often parked across the street at the Marriott. Be careful when booking tours as they confused us with the Hyatt Regency and one tour didn't pick us up because of it, others made us go to the Mariott. So somewhat of an inconvenient location for the tours but just make sure you double and triple check when booking.

The concierge desk is not visible when you walk in so be sure to ask.

Breakfast was ok - they don't provide trays, you must remember to bring your tray from your room. Coffee is quite strong - selection ok regarding food, pretty typical. Big money saver.

Pool is a small rectangle. Not great but I recommend spending your time at the beach anyway. Wouldn't have been a deal breaker unless we brought our kids.

Cafe around the corner from the front desk offers some Starbucks items but we never got served - stood there without being acknowledged so we went elsewhere. Not the hotel's fault though.

On our last day we had an early check out but a late flight. They will hold your luggage and give you a courtesy room to shower in but you must book in advance to get the time you want and you only get 30 min.

We opted to pay a day rate and we were moved to a room in the other tower, it was way smaller (not a deluxe) and just had a shower. It would have been ok for a couple but that's it.

All in all I would say that this hotel is better for couples or people with older kids. It's clean, economical, friendly staff, and it smells heavenly! It is a no-frills place, so if you are looking for fancy resort style, this isn't for you. However, Hawaii is expensive so I would say save your money, stay here, and spend what you saved on the tours.

Thanks for a great stay and memorable vacation. We will recommend to others for sure!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank beli32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Aloha beli32,
Mahalo for your review. We hope you had an unforgettable honeymoon and joint birthday experience with your husband! It seems you experienced some hiccups with the tours during your stay, but this will be addressed with our Expedia Tour agents so that no other guests feel confused or inconvenienced moving forward. We are glad that you enjoyed our great value proposition, friendly staff, and comfortable guest room during your stay. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back again for another lifetime milestone!
Mahalo nui loa,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinehurst
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

We were in a deluxe city view room on the 4th floor that was spacious with a king size bed, couch, and a small balcony overlooking the very busy Kuhio St. The negatives of the room were the extremely small bathroom and the street noise. The complementary breakfast was OK and typical of many chain hotels such as Holiday Inn Express or Marriott Fairfield Inns. The coffee is Starbucks and outstanding. If you don't think the breakfast is adequate they will not MAKE you eat it and you are free to go anywhere else. The breakfast crew does a nice job handling the morning crowd. The pigeons in the breakfast area are not as bad as I was led to believe by other reviews. It is not exactly a scene from Alfred Hitchcock's
Movie "The Birds". However don't leave your food unattended for very long. It is a short walk to the beach and many restaurants.The hotel staff was friendly and accommodating. One piece of advice is to let the hotel get your cab to the airport for $29 and save some money. Overall it was a nice stay.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Aloha Tom M,
Mahalo for taking the time to share your feedback with us! We are glad that you enjoyed our Deluxe City View guest room and private lanai. It seems the external street noise caused you some disruption, but glad this did not diminish your overall impression of us. We are glad the Starbucks coffee exceeded your expectations! It would be a pleasure to welcome you back again soon.
Mahalo nui loa,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#26 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,242 reviews
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#6 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Park Shore Waikiki
#24 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach

Property: Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach
Address: 175 Paoakalani Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3743
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#12 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#17 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#20 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 426
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach is conveniently located on the Diamond Head end of Waikiki and just a 3-minute walk to the golden sands of Waikiki Beach. The 100% smoke-free Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach is a spring board to many activities and attractions for the visitor on the go. Our Complimentary a.M. Kitchen Skillet™ breakfast available in our Guest Kitchen features freshly prepared breakfast sandwiches, waffles, French toast, pancakes, oatmeal, and Asian specialties. Stay refreshed with a selection of specialty beverages made with Starbucks(R) espresso roast and a variety of premium beers, wines & cocktails. During Happy Hour (4 to 7 PM daily), enjoy Long Board and Big Wave draft beers for $6, Stella for $7, and Mai Tais for $7. Open 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, our Gallery Market offers a selection of bottled beverages, perfectly packaged grab 'n go items from salads to sandwiches, while our Bakery Case offers an array of tempting pastries and sweets. Complimentary 24-hour Stay Fit(R) fitness center with Life Fitness(R) cardio equipment located on the third floor. Sliding door access to the pool deck. Valet parking: $32 daily fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Resort Honolulu
Ocean Resort Hotel Waikiki Oahu
Ocean Waikiki Hotel
Ocean Resort Hotel Waikiki Honolulu
Ocean Resort Hawaii
Hawaii Ocean Resort
Ocean Resort Waikiki
Ocean Hotel Waikiki
Ocean Hotel Honolulu
Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing