We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Breakfast was excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach
Ranked #20 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
vancouver
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Breakfast was excellent”
Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at Hyatt place for ten days in November. The checkin was painless and welcoming staff. We checked in late and had inform the hotel about our late flight.

After checkin there seems to be minimal staff to help load in trolley so I did it myself with a half asleep child and a hubby who tries to find parking.

As I cart the 4 luggage that we have I didn't realize that there's two wing and ended up in the wrong one. All the way to the high floor I called reception and they told me that my room was the other building. Was not excited to roll this cartful of luggage and push. I passed thru the reception and 2 staff saw me and didn't even acknowledged to help. :( finally I got to our room

It was small than what I'm used to and we requested a King size bed. With a sofa three feet away from the bed so there's much room to really. The balcony has ample space and a partial of
Of Waikiki beach.
Cleanliness of the room I question. Few times I had to pick up a piece of paper or a crumb from the night before. And I don't think they
Vacuum the rooms on a daily basis. That really erks me because we are on the beach all day and sand is bound to collect so not happy about the carpet how it's not being cleaned.

The daily breakfast was plenty and busy but you can always find a seat. Just make sure you don't leave your food unattended . This was a daily morning entertainment when people don't realize those birds are so notorious! They want your food! The cleaning staff and kitchen crew for breakfast are pleasant :)

The cafe by the reception tho was a different story. We had a late snack night and a waiter seemed like he didn't wanna be there a simple mushroom soup order and milk for the lil guy. Waiter didn't make eye contact and just not engaging. So we never went back and decided to not eat there anytime :(

Really nothing of a WOW factor just a stay :)


  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VancouverRho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Aloha VancouverRho,
Mahalo for your review. We would like to reassure you that, while your stay certainly did not meet the highest level of service that we are capable of, your experience is a rare one. It is never our intention to ignore a guest or act uninterested in assisting guests. Please be assured that we value everyone one of our customers, and do everything to make sure their stay is as enjoyable as possible. We would like to find a resolution for your disappointing experience, and welcome you to contact our Assistant General Manager, Imre Gonczy at: 808.931.4387 or via email at: imre.gonczy@hyattplacewaikikibeach.com.
Mahalo nui loa,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,674 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,196
    1,071
    291
    76
    40
See reviews for
982
938
128
247
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (504)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

We loved the location of the hotel, of course we don't mind walking that is major part of any vacation experience. It was about 2-3 short blocks to the beach and a block from the ABC store. We didn't have any problem with noise but we didn't face he street. The staff was very accommodating and we set up many of our expeditions with Expedia expert near the lobby. Most tour companies would pick you up at the curb or on the other side of the street. We made leis down in the lobby which was a wonderful experience and it felt like genuinely Hawaiian experience, many other people joined in with us after they saw how much fun we were having. The young man down at the bar named Nick was very friendly and explained to us how to get to several locations we asked about. The rooms were nice and more than what I expected when room is a commodity there. The free breakfast gave plenty of options and of course the pineapple was out of this world I ate it everyday we were there and have tried it since hoping to have such a beatific reminder of our time there, with no luck. We stayed in November 2013 for 8 nights. Since leaving I thought about nothing but returning to Hawaii and I would stay at Hyatt Place. I recommended this hotel to friends that were going the following month and they stayed there a week as well. Thank you for your hospitality and we ( my boyfriend, aunt and mom) will be back as soon as possible!!!

Green Features: It was nice that they gave you to option to reuse your towels or get cleans ones daily most hotels just scoop them all up and replace them even when they have. It been used.
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Aloha Kim B,
Mahalo for your review. It is great to read that you made the most of your stay with us and took advantage of all our on-site amenities, Expedia tour desk, and lei making class! We appreciate you recommending our hotel to your friends, and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Mahalo nui loa,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kearney, Nebraska
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

My husband and I stayed there 7 nights and were very happy with the overall experience. The rooms are very small, but the shower is huge and the bed was big and comfortable. Staff were very helpful and kind, rooms were clean and fresh, location was fantastic. Your only a couple of blocks from the beach and tons of restaurants and entertainment. Breakfast was AMAZING. Plenty of protein and fresh fruits to start the day healthy, or waffles and pastries if your wanting a treat. Be sure to bring your own bottled water though, they charge $3 for the ones stocked in the mini fridge.
I left my very nice, expensive jacket in the closet, and only noticed when we arrived back home. When I called, they had found it and were happy to mail it back to me promptly, Very impressed. Would stay there again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Rooms on the North side don't have a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HawaiiRamsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Aloha HawaiiRamsey,
Mahalo for your review and choosing to stay at the Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach with your husband! We are glad you found our a.m. Kitchen Skillet breakfast to be amazing. It gives us great pleasure to read that you would return to us in a heartbeat!
Mahalo nui loa,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adelaide, australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

Family of 5 with three teenagers we loved this hotel .. Managed to get us all in one room on the 19th floor with beach views - beautiful. We arrived at 7am after a very long flight and the desk staff made our room available by 9am it was brilliant. We loved the location right near the beach and walking distance to the shopping/ restaurants. Breakfast was fantastic we looked forward to this every day. The staff always had a smile and a friendly aloha ... Would we book again - absolutely !!!!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Aloha Jenny H,
We are very happy to read that your family of five loved staying at the Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach! Our staff has a great aloha spirit here, which leaves our guests with unforgettable experiences. It gives us great pleasure to hear that you will return to us again in the future.
Mahalo,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Booked on a last minute special through Hawaiian Air the night before, this hotel turned out to be a great stay.
Located 2 blocks back from the beach it offers clean rooms and courteous service. Staff are friendly and accommodating. The hotel has a small pool and a laundry room ($3 each per wash/dry). The daily breakfast was fine, although a bit repetitive, offering hot and cold Western style food and Korean options.
There is an in house Lawson store selling Japanese and western style foods/supplies and an ABC store selling everything 20 meters from the entrance.
Although there is no room service available, hotel food can be ordered downstairs and is served either at the bar or in the lobby lounge area.
We were offered late checkout on request free of charge, with the use of a hospitality room to freshen up/shower etc before heading out to the airport for the red-eye back to L.A. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: request/book an upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sydneysider3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

My husband and I spent 8 days here. Hotel was very nice and staff was very nice in different situations. Breakfasts were amazing with plenty to choose from. We would definitely recommend this hotel. Wonderful location with a short walk to Waikiki beach.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Onealk3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Aloha Onealk3,
Mahalo for choosing to stay with us for your second honeymoon for eight days! We sincerely appreciate your recommending our hotel to fellow travelers and look forward to welcoming you back for a third honeymoon one day.
Mahalo nui loa,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

My wife and our best friends spent 5 days on this lovely property and loved it. Kind hospitality and wonderful location stands out the most for this leg of our journey. 3 blocks away from Waikiki beach, walking distance to great shopping and restaurants. Daily hot breakfast and complimentary gym and wifi. We rent a car and visit other favorite places throughout the island, so being located near the freeway is a huge plus. The rooms were renovated and offer a clean, quiet, and modern option to sleep in while being around the action in Waikiki.

Room Tip: We traveled June 2012
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheBigChef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Aloha TheBigChef,
Mahalo for sharing your story with us, and we appreciate you spending some quality time with your friends at the Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach! You can't beat our delicious complimentary a.m. Kitchen Skillet, well-equipped fitness center, and close proximity to the freeway. It would be a pleasure to serve you again soon!
Mahalo nui loa,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#26 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,242 reviews
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#6 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Park Shore Waikiki
#24 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach

Property: Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach
Address: 175 Paoakalani Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3743
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#12 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#17 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#20 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 426
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach is conveniently located on the Diamond Head end of Waikiki and just a 3-minute walk to the golden sands of Waikiki Beach. The 100% smoke-free Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach is a spring board to many activities and attractions for the visitor on the go. Our Complimentary a.M. Kitchen Skillet™ breakfast available in our Guest Kitchen features freshly prepared breakfast sandwiches, waffles, French toast, pancakes, oatmeal, and Asian specialties. Stay refreshed with a selection of specialty beverages made with Starbucks(R) espresso roast and a variety of premium beers, wines & cocktails. During Happy Hour (4 to 7 PM daily), enjoy Long Board and Big Wave draft beers for $6, Stella for $7, and Mai Tais for $7. Open 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, our Gallery Market offers a selection of bottled beverages, perfectly packaged grab 'n go items from salads to sandwiches, while our Bakery Case offers an array of tempting pastries and sweets. Complimentary 24-hour Stay Fit(R) fitness center with Life Fitness(R) cardio equipment located on the third floor. Sliding door access to the pool deck. Valet parking: $32 daily fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Resort Honolulu
Ocean Resort Hotel Waikiki Oahu
Ocean Waikiki Hotel
Ocean Resort Hotel Waikiki Honolulu
Ocean Resort Hawaii
Hawaii Ocean Resort
Ocean Resort Waikiki
Ocean Hotel Waikiki
Ocean Hotel Honolulu
Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing