We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and new”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach
Ranked #19 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Clean and new”
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Booked on a last minute special through Hawaiian Air the night before, this hotel turned out to be a great stay.
Located 2 blocks back from the beach it offers clean rooms and courteous service. Staff are friendly and accommodating. The hotel has a small pool and a laundry room ($3 each per wash/dry). The daily breakfast was fine, although a bit repetitive, offering hot and cold Western style food and Korean options.
There is an in house Lawson store selling Japanese and western style foods/supplies and an ABC store selling everything 20 meters from the entrance.
Although there is no room service available, hotel food can be ordered downstairs and is served either at the bar or in the lobby lounge area.
We were offered late checkout on request free of charge, with the use of a hospitality room to freshen up/shower etc before heading out to the airport for the red-eye back to L.A. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: request/book an upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sydneysider3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,839 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,294
    1,121
    301
    81
    42
See reviews for
1,064
985
138
255
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (526)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

My husband and I spent 8 days here. Hotel was very nice and staff was very nice in different situations. Breakfasts were amazing with plenty to choose from. We would definitely recommend this hotel. Wonderful location with a short walk to Waikiki beach.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Onealk3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Aloha Onealk3,
Mahalo for choosing to stay with us for your second honeymoon for eight days! We sincerely appreciate your recommending our hotel to fellow travelers and look forward to welcoming you back for a third honeymoon one day.
Mahalo nui loa,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

My wife and our best friends spent 5 days on this lovely property and loved it. Kind hospitality and wonderful location stands out the most for this leg of our journey. 3 blocks away from Waikiki beach, walking distance to great shopping and restaurants. Daily hot breakfast and complimentary gym and wifi. We rent a car and visit other favorite places throughout the island, so being located near the freeway is a huge plus. The rooms were renovated and offer a clean, quiet, and modern option to sleep in while being around the action in Waikiki.

Room Tip: We traveled June 2012
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheBigChef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Aloha TheBigChef,
Mahalo for sharing your story with us, and we appreciate you spending some quality time with your friends at the Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach! You can't beat our delicious complimentary a.m. Kitchen Skillet, well-equipped fitness center, and close proximity to the freeway. It would be a pleasure to serve you again soon!
Mahalo nui loa,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Usually stay at Kahala but on a short trip Waikiki is best so chose this hotel for the first time.
Totaly remodeled from an existing long term hotel apartment complex, and an excellant transformation.
Excellent check in, room was huge, no view on tiny lanai but who cares when one block to beach. 42 inch plasma tv, separate sink shower areas. Breakfast included just fair buffet but you are encouraged to bring everything to your room. Trays provided for ease. Pool is small but all the kids are at the beach so its quiet. Excellant gym right near the pool and 24/7 for the gym.. very professional staff and lots of security. Will definitely stay here and save $200 a night.

Room Tip: Choose a high room facing towards the mountains. Very quite. Check out is very fast so don't wa...
See more room tips
Green Features: Excellant. Everything sorted by staff out of site.
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Aloha Sand K,
Mahalo for summing up your recent experience at the Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach. We were never an apartment complex, rather an independent hotel prior to renovation. It gives us great pleasure to read that you enjoyed our 24/7 fitness center and quiet pool. We look forward to serving you again soon.
Mahalo nui loa,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

My family and I recently stayed 7 nights at this hotel, and were pretty impressed. We didn't have a good start - having booked an ocean view room, some 6 mths ago, we arrived to find our room sold. We had to settle for a "city view" room (ie carpark view) for 4 nights, until an ocean view room became available. Gil, the duty manager, agreed to reduce our room rate for the duration of our stay, by way of compensation. This helped to reduce our disappointment.
Compared to other hotels we've stayed in, in Waikiki, the room rate was reasonable. Breakfast was included. The offerings were 'average', but sufficient. There were only two elevators servicing 20 floors, which was frustrating. Aside from this, we were pleased with the hotel, and would recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Aloha Christine B,
Mahalo for taking your family to the Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach for a week! We regret if your stay did not get off on the right foot, but glad our team was able to offer a compromise right away. Our success is based on our affordable rates, super friendly service and complimentary top-notch amenities. We hope to welcome you back again if your travels bring you back to Waikiki Beach.
Mahalo nui loa,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga, California
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013

We spent 7 nights here. We arrived before 11am but got check-in immediately. Free breakfast buffet probably saved us $300. The downside is small pool and no spa, but Waikiki beach is just out there. Nice location to walk everywhere including Safeway, Rainbow Drive-in, Leonard's bakery, Zoo, Aquarium, beach park (you can do snorkeling there) and when we got so tired from walking, we just take the bus back to hotel, the bus stop is right across the hotel!

Room Tip: We had the room on 3rd floor in Diamond tower. I was worried about it because some reviews said it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicky H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Aloha Vicky H,
Mahalo for choosing to stay at the Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach! We are one of the best kept secrets in Honolulu, offering a great value, convenient location, and delicious a.m. Kitchen Skillet. Also, we are just steps away from great dining and fun attractions. We hope to see you again soon!
Mahalo nui loa,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnaby, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2013

Hyatt Place (HP) is located 2 blocks from Waikiki Beach. (Don't mix it up with Hyatt Regency which is across the street from the beach.) There are 2 buildings in Hyatt Place: Pali and Diamond. Other than location, I don't know what the difference is.

Our room was awesome, complete with a little reading nook by the window which was perfect for watching the sunrise. There was free wifi, mini fridge, large screen TV, coffee maker and a mini balcony with chairs. The room was smallish but liveable for our 7-night stay. The room was refreshed daily (Lanie was so thorough!). Other amenities were available upon request (curling iron, baby chair, shaving kit, etc).

The friendly staff were relatively quick with service. The lounge area was huge in the front. Off to the side was the 24/7 Galleria Cafe/Bar with another lounge area. Computers with internet/printer access are behind this area. Expedia reps comprised the Concierge desk. They work daily 0700-1800. Our rep was Chris B who was patient and explained things well. There were also foreign language reps, offered by a different company. There is a small pool and fitness centre.

Breakfast was complimentary daily 0630-0930. We weren't expecting much. But we were surprised: there were 2 different daily hot portions (waffles and sausages or French toast and scrambled eggs) plus a section with miso soup (plus rice and kim chi). There was fresh fruit, breads, toast condiments, oatmeal (with condiments), yogurts, cereals, pastries, granola, juices and coffee. The hotel recommended coming early or bring your tray and eating in your room. Tables were constantly busy. (Watch out for the aggressive pigeons!)

Overall, HP was worth the price especially if you get a deal. We didn't drive but just like any downtown touristy area, parking is expensive. The city bus service is pretty good. But look around for free trolleys. We found out you could book a free trolley from the neighbourly Aston hotel. The access to shopping is ridiculously easy. Check out the smaller independent shops (like Maki shop beside Subway on Kalakaua Avenue). Be prepared for the street sellers (only one wholesale tour salesman was supremely aggressive). I was surprised to see the high numbers of homeless individuals. But the mild weather attracts people who are not financially prepared to live in Hawai'i.

Room Tip: Before you go, look at surrounding buildings. We were on the 8th floor, facing the ocean. But 2 high...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vanc0uverght
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Aloha Vanc0uverght,
Mahalo for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us. We always enjoy reading the ins and outs of a guest experience, and it makes us proud to read that our hotel exceeded your expectations! It sounds like the cozy corner, our efficient service, and complimentary a.m. Kitchen Skillet breakfast really stood out during your recent stay. Fellow travelers will greatly appreciate your sightseeing recommendations, and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Mahalo nui loa,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#27 of 84 in Honolulu
4,393 reviews
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Pacific Beach Hotel
Pacific Beach Hotel
#50 of 84 in Honolulu
3,364 reviews
Park Shore Waikiki
#23 of 84 in Honolulu
1,470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach

Property: Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach
Address: 175 Paoakalani Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3743
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#12 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#17 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#20 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 426
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach is conveniently located on the Diamond Head end of Waikiki and just a 3-minute walk to the golden sands of Waikiki Beach. The 100% smoke-free Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach is a spring board to many activities and attractions for the visitor on the go. Our Complimentary a.M. Kitchen Skillet™ breakfast available in our Guest Kitchen features freshly prepared breakfast sandwiches, waffles, French toast, pancakes, oatmeal, and Asian specialties. Stay refreshed with a selection of specialty beverages made with Starbucks(R) espresso roast and a variety of premium beers, wines & cocktails. During Happy Hour (4 to 7 PM daily), enjoy Long Board and Big Wave draft beers for $6, Stella for $7, and Mai Tais for $7. Open 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, our Gallery Market offers a selection of bottled beverages, perfectly packaged grab 'n go items from salads to sandwiches, while our Bakery Case offers an array of tempting pastries and sweets. Complimentary 24-hour Stay Fit(R) fitness center with Life Fitness(R) cardio equipment located on the third floor. Sliding door access to the pool deck. Valet parking: $32 daily fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Resort Honolulu
Ocean Resort Hotel Waikiki Oahu
Ocean Waikiki Hotel
Ocean Resort Hotel Waikiki Honolulu
Ocean Resort Hawaii
Hawaii Ocean Resort
Ocean Resort Waikiki
Ocean Hotel Waikiki
Ocean Hotel Honolulu
Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing