We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location Location Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach
Ranked #18 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Location Location Location”
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Located in a great spot right across the road from the beach. The buffet breakfast was amazing the quality of food and the selection was top notch. The service pool side was great. checking in and out was breeze.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZeloBP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,794 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,271
    1,107
    296
    78
    42
See reviews for
1,036
975
136
254
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (516)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York, United States
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Lots to like about this hotel just a 5 minute walk from Waikiki beach: big, very clean rooms that look brand new; super comfortable beds and blackout curtains (helps w/the jet lag); free and fast wifi; free and surprisingly tasty breakfast w/quality coffee; a very clean and uncrowded gym; helpful, pleasant staff; and a good location only a 5 minute walk from Waikiki beach. There is also a decent pool, but with the beach that close, you'd have to be kind of crazy to use it. Getting all of this at the prices we were paying was a GREAT value compared to other places in Waikiki beach - can't emphasize that enough.
Only (nitpicking) negatives are the lack of on-site parking (which, to be fair, is something you'd probably encounter at a bunch of hotels in the area; there is a large, separate parking garage a half block away that you can also use) and the pigeons that hover nearby at breakfast (which, to be fair, is probably the fault of people who don't bus their trays and instead leave partially eaten food out, which the pigeons pounce on).
If I could give half stars, I would probably give this a 4.5. Overall, this is a very good hotel and you will not be disappointed if you stay here.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robb F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Aloha Robb F,
Mahalo for taking the time to share your comments with us. We are glad you enjoyed our comfortable bedding, fast WiFi connectivity, and complimentary a.m. Kitchen Skillet offerings. Please be aware that parking is very hard to find in Waikiki Beach, but we are lucky to offer this amenity to our guests. It would be a pleasure to serve you again soon.
Mahalo nui loa,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

We were very pleased with Hyatt Place Waikiki. The rooms have been updated and comfortable, decent wifi...

They have a Free Breakfast. It is a decent spread. This is a big plus especially when you are travelling with kids. Only downside are the birds. Not sure why the hotel hasn't done something about this. Do not leave your plate unattended. They can get pretty aggressive.

The location is very good. It is close to everything and in a way better that you are not right in the middle of the hotel strip. You can park in the garage across the street for $15 day.

If you keep your expectations realistic, this is good hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seetheworld2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Aloha seetheworld2010,
Mahalo for your review. We are happy to hear how pleased you were with our accommodations, a.m. Kitchen Skillet, and convenient location. It would be a pleasure to serve you again soon.
Mahalo nui loa,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 19, 2013

Newly renovated, this is a great addition to the Hyatt chain. From the time of check-in through to the end of our 8 night stay, the staff in all areas were fantastic and always on hand to assist - In particular Troy and Danielle at the Reception area. One of the perks of staying at a smaller property compared to some of the larger hotels at Waikiki is that you are a person and not a number - the staff soon knew our names and coffee orders, always greeting us with a friendly welcome as we walked through the lobby. Our deluxe room on the 18th floor was huge, modern fittings and decor and had direct ocean views and partial views of Diamond Head. The free breakfast included in the rate offers a great selection of continental items with changing hot items daily - set amongst the pool area on level 3 it is comfortable however there are birds which can annoy some people. Situated one block back from the beach, the hotel is approximately 10 minutes walk from the main strip of hotels and shops, central enough without being in the midst of the busy area. There was some traffic noise mainly from the hotel across the road having a bus pick up point located there but nothing too major to disturb sleep. WiFi was inclusive - fast in speed and strong in signal. The Expedia Concierge (Cameron) was extremely efficient and friendly and has a broad range of contacts - he was able to book us a particular rental car we wanted when our friends staying at a competing hotel were unable to do so using their hotel concierge. It was a fantastic stay - we will be sure to return in the future

Room Tip: Higher floors have less street noise and deluxe ocean rooms are worth it to wake up and see the beac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PJ_AUST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Aloha PJ_AUST,
Mahalo for your review and choosing to stay at the Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach. We are very pleased to hear that you felt a human connection with our staff members here. Also, it sounds like Cameron, our Expedia Concierge, and our a.m. Kitchen Skillet breakfast offerings exceeded expectations during your stay. It gives us great pleasure to read that you will be returning to us again in the future.
Mahalo nui loa,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013 via mobile

I was really impressed with my stay in the Hyatt Place in Waikiki. Everything was great if not perfect. My young family (2 adults with 2 kids) spent 12 beautiful nights during November 2013. The hotel & the room exceeded my expectation. Staff in the hotel were decent, welcoming & polite. Special thanks to Kimberly who allowed us to early check in as our flight arrived very early in the morning and the kids & us were tired. There was a room available, and she thankfully provided it to us.

Breakfast was a big advantage, specially when you have kids, considering that food price is not cheap in Hawaii. We really like the offered hot food & the fresh fruits, plenty of food, they are very generous. But the birds were annoying though.
WiFi access was easy in the room & the whole hotel, signal & speed was strong & satisfactory.
Our room (Deluxe room) in level 19 was very spacious (biggest hotel room I've ever seen), modern furniture in a very good condition, clean, big TV screen, overlooking Diamond Head & partial ocean view. Our booking was supposed to be ocean view room, and when I spoke to reception they confirmed it's an ocean view room & one of the best rooms in the hotel. I was not convinced by the response, but I did not request a room change as I liked the room given to us, I was just making sure that we were not given wrong room.
The hotel during our stay was pretty much 100% full, but we did not feel that issue about slow lifts or so, probably little busy during breakfast time but that was not an issue to us.
Gym is well equipped with new & modern equipments.
The hotel is about 10-15 min walk to the heart of Waikiki, but I see this as an advantage, so it's away from city noise, however street traffic itself can still be very noisy. I was lucky to be in level 19.
The hotel was 4 min walk to the beach.

We enjoyed our stay to the most in this hotel, we'll definitely come again & we'll recommend it to all our friends.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank JMMJSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Aloha JMMJSydney,
Mahalo for your review and choosing to bring your family to the Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach for 12 nights! We are very pleased to read how much our a.m. Kitchen Skillet breakfast offerings came in handy for you and your family. Glad you enjoyed the Deluxe ocean view guest room during your stay! It would be a pleasure to welcome you all back again soon.
Mahalo nui loa,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013

I've stayed at this hotel several times and each stay has been consistent with the rest. The best experience a hotel can offer you is an uneventful one. No one wants memories of hassles, frustrations, or bad service. Luckily this hotel offers none of those. The staff are very helpful. They are fair and accommodating where they can. This hotel is in a great location and is one of the newer properties on the island. It's also one of the few hotels on the island that has contemporary styled rooms. Internet is stable. Hot water is abundant. Beds are comfortable. You really can't go wrong with this hotel. It's less than a block from the beach. It's next to the zoo which gives you good views of Diamond Head plus the beach. It's an easy stroll down the beach to a multitude of restaurants. My only con for this property, which is really a con for almost every property in Waikiki, is parking. This property only has about 18 self-park parking spaces. They do also offer valet but they have even less. So make sure you confirm that they actually have a space for you. This property uses a third party vendor to manage parking. They dress in the same shirts as the hotel but they operate completely separate and there is little communication between the two. So even though you've purchased parking as part of your room rate, doesn't mean you will actually have a parking space. This has happened to me more than once. Therefore always a good idea to confirm with the hotel they actually have room for your car when booking a rate that includes parking. Otherwise you could be left in the cold. Parking in Waikiki is a pain. There are very limited parking spaces on the island in general. The closest public parking to hotel is the zoo parking lot. It's meter parking, but you can use a credit card. You just have to keep feeding it. These meters don't have an off period. So you're billed 24/7. It's approximately a $1.00 an hour which is the going rate in Waikiki in general. If you have to park there it's approximately $24.00 a day versus approximately $15.00 a day at the hotel.

Room Tip: This property has two towers. One will overlook Diamond Head and the other the beach. If you can op...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BizTravelFR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J House Greenwi... H, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Aloha BizTravelFR,
Mahalo for your review. We pride ourselves on our consistent service efforts and "value" proposition. Our modern amenities, convenient location, and friendly staff are what makes our hotel stand out among the rest! We regret if you encountered any frustration with the parking, but hope this did not diminish your overall experience. If you did purchase your parking prior to your stay, there is no reason why you should not have had a space available upon arrival. Rest assured, this will be addressed with our operations team to ensure that our pre-paid guests will be guaranteed a parking spot. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Mahalo nui loa,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2013

We knew we had made the right choice the minute we set foot on the property. It is beautiful and open, very tastefully decorated. The staff are so friendly and informative. The rooms are large for 3 adults, but there is also a sofa bed and chair that makes a bed. I understand its a newly acquired hotal for Hyatt and has been completely remodeled. There are shops downstairs, bar and food area where you can sit on the open lanai. There are 4 computers and a printer downstairs for use, which is great to print out boarding passes. The free breakfast is fantastic with something different everyday. You can get eggs, sausages, breakfast sandwiches, fruits, yogurts, cereals, several bread choices. They even have an Asian breakfast section with rice, miso, kimchee etc. Unlike most breakfast where your choices are cereal, toast and muffins. This accommodation really helps stretch your travel budget. The only flaw to the breakfast would be the location which is out by the pool. The birds can be annoying and the second you leave to get something, they swoop in and starting eating your food. I would think someone would've thought to put a net or screening up . They also have an onsite Expedia Concierge. That is a fantastic bonus for us, the new travelers. This is our first time in a Hyatt hotel and will definitely try them again..

Room Tip: Read all reviews then decide..
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J House Greenwi... H, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Aloha Christa M,
Mahalo for your review and choosing to stay at the Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach. We are glad you enjoyed our open lobby, spacious guest rooms, on-site shops, e-room and complimentary a.m. Kitchen Skillet. Also, we regret to learn if the birds caused any inconvenience during your stay, but we are working with a professional company to assist us in managing the pigeons. We look forward to being your hotel of choice when returning to Waikiki Beach!
Mahalo nui loa,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#28 of 84 in Honolulu
4,359 reviews
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
3,964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach

Property: Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach
Address: 175 Paoakalani Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3743
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#12 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#17 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#20 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 426
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach is conveniently located on the Diamond Head end of Waikiki and just a 3-minute walk to the golden sands of Waikiki Beach. The 100% smoke-free Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach is a spring board to many activities and attractions for the visitor on the go. Our Complimentary a.M. Kitchen Skillet™ breakfast available in our Guest Kitchen features freshly prepared breakfast sandwiches, waffles, French toast, pancakes, oatmeal, and Asian specialties. Stay refreshed with a selection of specialty beverages made with Starbucks(R) espresso roast and a variety of premium beers, wines & cocktails. During Happy Hour (4 to 7 PM daily), enjoy Long Board and Big Wave draft beers for $6, Stella for $7, and Mai Tais for $7. Open 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, our Gallery Market offers a selection of bottled beverages, perfectly packaged grab 'n go items from salads to sandwiches, while our Bakery Case offers an array of tempting pastries and sweets. Complimentary 24-hour Stay Fit(R) fitness center with Life Fitness(R) cardio equipment located on the third floor. Sliding door access to the pool deck. Valet parking: $32 daily fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Resort Honolulu
Ocean Resort Hotel Waikiki Oahu
Ocean Waikiki Hotel
Ocean Resort Hotel Waikiki Honolulu
Ocean Resort Hawaii
Hawaii Ocean Resort
Ocean Resort Waikiki
Ocean Hotel Waikiki
Ocean Hotel Honolulu
Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing