We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel, close to the beach.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach
Ranked #19 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We had a room on the 19th floor with beach view.
Great view. Short distance to the beach.

Only annoying thing was all the birds/pigeons that jumped on to your plate as soon as you turned you back to during breakfast.

Great value for money on Waikiki beach.

Room Tip: Pick a room with sea view. Definately worth the extra money!
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ratata05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,929)
There are newer reviews for Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,177 - 2,183 of 2,929 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2013

It is a good hotel, but nothing really fancy, the breakfast was good not great, it was really crowded! If you want a fancy vacation, it is not the place. The fact it is not right on the beach made it so difficult to swim, to enjoy the restaurants on the beach!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yaling S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We are currently staying here and are seriously thinking of cutting our vacation short. We first of all requested 2 queen beds and ended up with 1 queen and a hide a bed with a uncomfortable bar in the middle. They are unable to move us because "they don't have any. The room has no hotel room information in it ex: tv channels, pool location etc. air conditioning doesn't work well, fridge doesn't get cold and pool is super small. I feel most sorry for my daughters and even they just want to go home.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Skiwi86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Aloha Skiwi86,
Mahalo for your review. We sincerely regret to learn if our accommodations failed to exceed expectations during your recent stay. It seems we were unable to change your guest room during your stay, and regret to learn of the inconvenience this caused you. Please be assured of our best efforts to regain your confidence and trust in us.
Mahalo nui loa,
Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

I've stayed at a Hyatt Place in many different cities including San Antonio and Las Vegas. Now add Waikiki to that list. This hotel brand remains consistent in delivering great service and great accommodations. The hotel staff was courteous, knowledgeable and professional. The room is modernly appointed and decorated. Everything in the room functioned well, as they should, from high speed wi-fi to good water pressure in the shower. I liked the location of the hotel. It is just a few blocks from the beach. And going in the other direction, you get away from the tourist center and experience more of local flavor, which I say is the better way to experience Oahu. I loved their breakfast because it was truly a breakfast from an array of cold and hot selections. The breakfast alone is enough to make me come back. Now onto my two big criteria, cleanliness and sleep quality. This hotel passes on both with high marks. Hyatt Place - I'm certain you'll continue the quality that separates your from your peer hotels.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank alan4travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Aloha Guest,
Mahalo for your review and choosing to stay at the Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach. It gives us great pleasure to hear that our staff exceeded your expectations during your recent stay. Also, we are glad you enjoyed our a.m. kitchen skillet and pristine accommodations. We look forward to welcoming you back again.
Mahalo nui loa,
Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Our family vacation took us to Oahu this year and we enjoyed our stay. We came with a group of 15 and enjoyed the many meeting areas the hotel had to offer. Some of our group had problems with the ac's in their rooms, but they said a call to the front desk had fixed them, and in one case a room change. Breakfast was wonderful, different each morning, and had plenty of options with juices, cereals, waffles, french toast, ect. We were within walking distance of many shops, the beach, and the international market. One morning we hiked from the hotel to Diamond Head about 2.5 miles. My only complaint about our entire stay would be the birds in their breakfast area which is outdoors next to the pool. I kept waiting for them to leave droppings in my food while trying to enjoy breakfast. Other than that we greatly enjoyed our stay and are planning on enjoying another Hyatt Place in FL before our cruise in August.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sadiesnose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Aloha sadiesnose,
Mahalo for your review. It gives us great pleasure to read that you chose the Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach for your family vacation! We pride ourselves on our complimentary a.m. Kitchen Skillet and close proximity to many local attractions.
Mahalo nui loa,
Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

This Hyatt Place was the perfect place for my family stay in Honolulu for 3 nights before our cruise. We were not looking for a hotel to spend our entire week vacation at in Hononlu, just a smaller place to spend 3 nights while we toured Pearl Harbor and the Polynisian Cultural Center, so the price was better than a fancier resort hotel.

The hotel had a bar and Starbucks coffee in lobby. There is a complimentary breakfast bar and small convenience store in the lobby. The rooms are clean and updated. We obvserved that local tour operators pick you up at this hotel or ar the Marriott acorss the street, so we did not rent a car.

The hotel is located one block form a public beach. We attempted to walk to Diamond Head state park, but found it was over two miles away and never got there.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank troopermike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Aloha troopermike,
Mahalo for your review. It gives us great pleasure to hear that the Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach was the perfect place to accommodate your family. Glad you enjoyed our Starbucks coffee and complimentary a.m. Kitchen Skillet available at our hotel. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back again soon.
Mahalo nui loa,
Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Booked a room with an ocean view but found ourselves on 9th floor looking into an old apartment building with a tiny view of the ocean at one end of balcony. Room was also very small for 3 of us. I spoke with front desk who were very helpful and showed us another 2 rooms one of which was an upgraded (larger room with better views) on 19th floor. We ended up taking this one. The hotel did not charge us any extra, they were very good about it. The breakfast was ok, cereal, toast, fruit etc. Served outside near pool and yes birds are an issue if you leave your table unattended but didn't bother us. Didn't much like the breakfast buns with egg etc. On the weekend scrambled eggs and sausages which was good. Location was good being a block back from the lagoon beach at Diamond Head end. If you are more of a pool person then pool facility would probably not appeal as very small but didn't bother us as we preferred the beach. Staff all very helpful. We'd stay there again.

Room Tip: Higher floors most likely to have better views. Lifts are a bit slow at times as only 2 servicing 2...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frodo65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#27 of 84 in Honolulu
4,452 reviews
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#6 of 84 in Honolulu
4,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Shore Waikiki
#21 of 84 in Honolulu
1,525 reviews
Waikiki
Pacific Beach Hotel
Pacific Beach Hotel
#51 of 84 in Honolulu
3,411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach

Address: 175 Paoakalani Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3743
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#12 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#17 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#20 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: $207 - $340 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 426
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach is conveniently located on the Diamond Head end of Waikiki and just a 3-minute walk to the golden sands of Waikiki Beach. The 100% smoke-free Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach is a spring board to many activities and attractions for the visitor on the go. Our Complimentary a.M. Kitchen Skillet™ breakfast available in our Guest Kitchen features freshly prepared breakfast sandwiches, waffles, French toast, pancakes, oatmeal, and Asian specialties. Stay refreshed with a selection of specialty beverages made with Starbucks(R) espresso roast and a variety of premium beers, wines & cocktails. During Happy Hour (4 to 7 PM daily), enjoy Long Board and Big Wave draft beers for $6, Stella for $7, and Mai Tais for $7. Open 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, our Gallery Market offers a selection of bottled beverages, perfectly packaged grab 'n go items from salads to sandwiches, while our Bakery Case offers an array of tempting pastries and sweets. Complimentary 24-hour Stay Fit(R) fitness center with Life Fitness(R) cardio equipment located on the third floor. Sliding door access to the pool deck. Valet parking: $32 daily fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Resort Honolulu
Ocean Resort Hotel Waikiki Oahu
Ocean Waikiki Hotel
Ocean Resort Hotel Waikiki Honolulu
Ocean Resort Hawaii
Hawaii Ocean Resort
Ocean Resort Waikiki
Ocean Hotel Waikiki
Ocean Hotel Honolulu
Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing