We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach
Ranked #16 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Have just returned from 7 night stay here. The hotel is a very close walk to the beach, we had an ocean view room on the 9th floor which was great (there are hotels in front as this hotel is two blocks from the beach, but we could see the sea, beach, boats ans surfers and this is reflected in the good rates offered). It is exceptionally clean, the breakfast is perfectly fine. Good size bathroom, very comfy bed and huge TV, and free wifi in room. The lanai is tiny but at least you can have the door open and sit outside. The staff are all very friendly, professional and helpful, from the lobby staff, breakfast staff, expedia concierges (where we booked a number of trips) to the cleaning ladies. We didn't fly out til evening and they allowed us to store our luggage and have a courtesy room later in the day to freshen up in which was really appreciated. Would stay here again anytime. Thanks and Mahalo from Kelvin and Penny, New Zealand

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Penny R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,992)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,274 - 2,280 of 2,992 reviews

Reviewed May 20, 2013

I spent weeks and weeks amalyzing several options and this one was a solid, safe choice. My boyfriend and I stayed three nights and loved it. Room was very clean and updated with lot of touches like pull out clothes line in the shower, fridge, safe, hair dryer, etc. They also have several things you can borrow like flat irons and baby things. We thought the breakfast was excellent with coffee, toast, cereal, waffles, oatmeal, fruit, pastries, sandwiches and even Asian options. This saved us alot of money and time! Birds were not nearly as bad as i feared from other reviews. No resort fee and free wifi. Parking $15 per day. Elevators require room keys which adds security. Service was great. A sweetheart Allyson checked us in and was especially warm and welcoming and had us laughing after a long flight. Another staff member Christopher we met on the elevator was kind and chatted with us about the local surfing. At breakfast their was a wonderful hostess Maile who was always bustling around and talked to us each morning. We considered her a friend by the time we left. I wish we could have thanked her and all of the staff!! You might find a better screaming deal but if you don't want any risk on your hawaiian vacation this is a very solid value. On Vegas take a gamble, hawaii is too precious to risk to a lower end hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kydia4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We have just spent 1 week at the Hyatt Place Waikiki. We stayed in a huge room on the 16th floor which had wonderful views from a nice little balcony of the beach and city which was also great to see.
The room was very clean and the beds were so comfy. The staff were very pleasant and always there to help. The breakfast was a nice way to start the day especially when we had tours booked early. Also, the free wi-fi was a bonus. Would highly reccommend the Hyatt Place as it was in walking distance to everything. As Waikiki is very noisy it was just back enough from the main drag that when we closed the windows and curtains at night time it just about blocked all the noise out. Thanks to all the staff - we had a lovely time staying with Hyatt Place.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank KazFitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Hyatt Place was an excellent choice. Very close to the beach (less than 5 min), bus station next to the hotel, complimentary breakfast and WiFi, newly renovated and spacious rooms, excellent value for money.
The only downside was that parking was a little pricey, so we decided to not rent a car for the 7 days stay in Waikiki. We used the bus to travel to the airport and to Pearl Harbour. Following the advice from another reviewer from Trip Advisor, we rented a car for one day (pick up in the morning and return late night). To see the rest of the island was definitely worth it!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Rashela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

My wife and I celebrated our babymoon in Oahu (first time in Hawaii), and wanted a place close enough to all the action, yet nestled somewhere more remote so we could relax by day's end. Hyatt Place was just that. 5 min walk to the beach, and another 5 mins to the heart of Kalakaua Ave, it was situated perfectly. For those who don't mind longer treks (25 mins), Leonard's, Ono Hawaiian Foods, and Rainbow Drive are nearby as well. Above all, the staff, esp. Kehaulani were just spectacular - and made my wife and I feel like stars!

Room Tip: The mountain view was nice, but we wandered into our neighbor's ocean view which was MUCH better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SteveFromNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We stayed here for four nights in late February.
We visit Hawaii every year and have usually stayed at Hyatt Regency but got a fabulous deal here so decided to give it a chance....and we were glad we did.
We were upgraded to a large room on the top floor with views to the mountains. It had a wrap around lanai which gave great views.
The room was very nice and very clean.
Breakfast wasn't that great.
Everyone mentions the birds and they are definitely a problem.
But I feel the hot items are a waste of the hotels $$$. They just get thrown in the trash.
But the cereal/fruit/coffee/pastries/juice are good.
All the staff we interacted with were professional and helpful.
One tip - the front desk staff organised our taxi to the airport for a good price. From memory, it was $31.
We will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: If you aren't after 'luxury' but want value for $$$, this is it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Travelbugtoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Aloha Travelbugtoo,
Mahalo for your review and deciding to stay at the Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach! We are thrilled to hear that you were upgraded upon arrival to a deluxe mountain view guest room. Our a.m. Kitchen Skillet is provided as a complimentary amenity to guests, but regret if some of the items did not exceed your expectations. It gives us great pleasure to hear that you have chosen us as your preferred hotel on your future return to Waikiki Beach.
Mahalo nui loa,
Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We enjoyed our week at this hotel and received a complementary upgrade to a mountain view on a higher floor - Necessary because of the street noise. Our room was very clean, our housekeepers did an awesome job refreshing our rooms. The staff is always so helpful with our needs whether directions, notions and almost everything one could ask.

While the eggs seemed 'pre-frozen' the daily breakfast afforded us broad entertainment as well. It seems one has to know not to leave one's breakfast unattended. The local bird menagerie, ever vigilant to unattended treats, perches above. As an architect, I saw the potential for some decorative marine netting with grommets for ease of installation. A very reasonable and decorative solution to the winged predators ... preferable to the chemicals sprayed around the food to deter the birds. Back to the food, great selection ... American egg sandwich varies day to day, fruits, yogurts, cereals, toasts, Asian options include Miso soup, Kimchee et al. All in all, a great way to start the day en route udon noodle place, taco kabana or Matsumoto shaved ice and the shrimp truck on the north shore.

Heads-up to the travelers: this hotel only has valet parking. Luckily, heeding a Trip Advisor's review and the hotel's valet staff, we parked diagonally across the street at the Ashton Waikiki Banyan, which was $15/night. (Also available for $80/week). This came with all in & out privileges...for those runs to the Safeway 6 blocks north...as amazing as the Hyatt Place and a real find.

Room Tip: Higher floor. Away from elevators. Bring breakfast BACK to room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ells W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Aloha Ells W,
Mahalo for your review and choosing to stay at the Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach. We pride ourselves on our highly accommodating staff members, and glad you were able to experience this firsthand. Since we offer an open dining environment, the pigeons our drawn to our location. We continue to work closely with a professional company in order to best assist us in managing the pigeons. Just so you are aware, we now offer self parking for our guests at $15 per night. It would be a pleasure to invite you back here again soon.
Mahalo nui loa,
Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#27 of 84 in Honolulu
4,500 reviews
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4,128 reviews
Park Shore Waikiki
#21 of 84 in Honolulu
1,570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prince Waikiki
#1 of 84 in Honolulu
279 reviews
Waikiki
Alohilani Resort Waikiki Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach

Address: 175 Paoakalani Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3743
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#12 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#17 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#20 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: $200 - $364 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 426
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach is conveniently located on the Diamond Head end of Waikiki and just a 3-minute walk to the golden sands of Waikiki Beach. The 100% smoke-free Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach is a spring board to many activities and attractions for the visitor on the go. Our Complimentary a.M. Kitchen Skillet™ breakfast available in our Guest Kitchen features freshly prepared breakfast sandwiches, waffles, French toast, pancakes, oatmeal, and Asian specialties. Stay refreshed with a selection of specialty beverages made with Starbucks(R) espresso roast and a variety of premium beers, wines & cocktails. During Happy Hour (4 to 7 PM daily), enjoy Long Board and Big Wave draft beers for $6, Stella for $7, and Mai Tais for $7. Open 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, our Gallery Market offers a selection of bottled beverages, perfectly packaged grab 'n go items from salads to sandwiches, while our Bakery Case offers an array of tempting pastries and sweets. Complimentary 24-hour Stay Fit(R) fitness center with Life Fitness(R) cardio equipment located on the third floor. Sliding door access to the pool deck. Valet parking: $32 daily fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Resort Honolulu
Hawaii Ocean Resort
Ocean Resort Hawaii
Ocean Waikiki Hotel
Ocean Resort Hotel Waikiki Oahu
Ocean Resort Hotel Waikiki Honolulu
Ocean Resort Waikiki
Ocean Hotel Waikiki
Ocean Hotel Honolulu
Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing